We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queens Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Certificate of Excellence
bolton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“exellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and found it just as good as the first time .have no hesitation in recommending it for groups

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metamick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    53
    12
    3
    8
See reviews for
25
60
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

My husband & I have just returned from a weekend away, we've stayed in Kelso before but chose the Queens Head Hotel this time as some locals recommended it to us, we'd had a drink in the bar before and the website was impressive so booked in for one night.
Check in was smooth and we were quickly guided to our room which sadly looked nothing like any of the pictures on the website, it was just ok, (quite old fashioned apart from the bathroom). Our room faced out onto the main road which is all cobbled so when the cars drove past it was like being next to a motorway, the secondary glazing had little effect in keeping any noise (and spiders) out., including the high spirits when the bar downstairs emptied.
We had a problem with the loo, it wouldn't flush properly but when I went to reception to get some help there was no one around, I rang the bell and waited but no one responded.
When we wanted to have a coffee in the room from the tray provided, one of the cups was chipped and the kettle stand hadn't been cleaned properly.
We ate out on the evening (Oscar's which was lovely) so can't comment on the hotel restaurant but breakfast was good.
Overall impression of the hotel.....there are nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthumberlandTopCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markhay, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Hi thankyou for your comments we took them all on board,we have now completed the room,and very happy with the outcome.
Windows are still in the process as we have a grade 1 listed building and planning isnt forthcoming but we will get there hopefully this year,we are town centre and do get some traffic noise and possibly always will,but fingers crossed.
hope your well and will look forward to showing you around if your in our area in the future.

best wishes Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

Stayed at Queenshead with three friends after a day at the races, very nice hotel, staff very friendly could find no fault with anything - will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie58P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

The hotel itself was inviting, very clean and warm. All the staff were very welcoming and happy. Our room was well presented and equipped. Good menu and good food, meals were available throughout the day. The parking was adequate; the hotel is conveniently situated in the town so access by foot, to all the local amenities is very easy. The front of the hotel overlooks the main street, however the road was not busy, the rear overlooks a church yard with a lovely view of the Abbey. Kelso is a lovely town with many beautiful buildings and lots of heritage

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eabberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

The Queenshead Hotel is in a perfect location in town. The staff at the front office, servers at breakfast, and bar staff are all super friendly and helpful. We stayed here for two weeks. We spent one week in room 1 and one week in room 14. The reason we changed rooms was the internet. For my job I had to be connected to the internet all day. They have wireless but it's very spotty, room 14 has an ethernet port so we changed rooms and I had no problems connecting to the internet for the entire week.

This is an old building, but the rooms are spacious and clean. Room 1 was very close to the stairwell and breakfast room. Sometimes I could hear people going down to breakfast but I was up early and it didn't bother me. The decor was modern, there was a closet, a desk with a big mirror ( I used it to get ready), and the bathroom had a seperate bath and shower which was very nice. The bed was a king sized bed, we had no idea how much of a luxury that was around Scotland! The view for this room was along a main town road.

We moved into room 14 which was located through the breakfast room and up the stairs. It was quiet, and so spacious. We felt like we had such a luxurious room because of the high ceilings, the couch and coffee table, big bed and nice bathroom. This room looked out the back of the hotel into the cemetary, which was actually quiet lovely and serene.

Breakfast was great, there were cereals, breads, breakfast bars, sometimes pastries, canned fruit in juice, apple and orange juice, yogurt for a breakfast starter. There was a menu you can order from while you eat your starter! It wasn't on the menu but I always just ordered scrambled eggs and toast. My husband ordered, the traditional breakfast, poached eggs, toast, and bacon. Fresh coffee every morning was so great after all the instant coffee available around here!

For us, it was nice having a bar/restaurant just downstairs from our rooms, we liked interacting with the staff, the steak & ale pie was my husband's favorite out of every place we ate throughout Scotland, and their sticky toffee pudding was amazing!

The location is great, Kelso isn't a huge town but it's fun to be located inside of town so you can walk all around whenever you want.

We walked into a neighboring hotel for dinner and were both so thankful for the intimate customer service we received while staying at the Queenshead. There aren't many rooms, and the staff know who you are. Once I was lingering a long time over breakfast one of the cleaning staff came straight up to me and asked if it would be okay if they cleaned my room while I was not in it, my first reaction was how did you know who I was? My second reaction was so appreciative they actually asked!

I wouldn't say this is a 5 star place, but for Kelso, I think it's great. You can find faults with the rooms I'm sure, but don't go into an older building looking for them, go there looking for the positives and you'll be pleased.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed 1 night on B&B basis and found it to be an average standard hotel. The room was clean and tidy and staff were very friendly and attentive. However the dining area was open-planned and shared by the bar so you found yourself sitting eating your dinner with a group of blokes at the bar, who were watching the football or rugby on the TVs dotted around the place !! Not the best place for a romantic getaway. We payed £80 for the night which was also a bit pricey for what you get. The hotel's location though is close to the centre of the town and the other pubs and shops, so no need to worry about transport to get around the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaffafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Plough Hotel
The Plough Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yetholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#3 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Property: Queens Head Hotel
Address: 24 Bridge Street, Kelso TD5 7JD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queenshead is a small family run hotel.We are continualy upgrading and renovating the hotel.we have lots of repeat loyal customers.We have taken out a membership free of charge to our guests, at the local fitness centre to add to our ongoing improvements for your stay.The Queens head is located just off the main town centre and was a former coaching inn,2 minutes walk from the river Tweed and 5 minutes drive to the local golf courses and Kelso race course. we continue to strive to meet your expectations whilst not perfect we try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Hotel Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing