We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queens Head Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
79
62
14
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
62
14
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot stonebattered haddockhomemade chipscobble stonesadults childking prawn starterwould recommend this hotel to anyonestreet parkinglarge bathrooms are clean and comfortablegreat place to eatmy elderly motherlovely hotelbreakfast was includedgreat bathroomstaff were all very friendlybottled water
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2010

my partner and i spent two nights at the queens on 2nd and 3rd oct. i have to say it was a most enjoyable experience from the relaxed and cosy atmosphere in the bar area to our room upstairs in room 6 which was very clean and met with all our rquirements.the staff were all very friendly and helpfull and the food was great with a choice of two lovely menus.this was our first time in kelso and we are allready planning our next visit to this lovely town and hope the queens can squeeze us in again. i will have no hesitation in recommending to all my friends and family thanks again for a wonderful weekend

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This has got to be the worst hotel i have ever ever stayed in. i went to Kelso for a friends wedding bank holiday weekend, and booked the accomodation in march based on the images shown on their website. on arrival the reception area smelt of cooked food i.e. chip fat and the rooms shown on the website are not the rooms that they have available. i could have cried. Granted they are in the MIDDLE of a refurbishment it has not yet been completed so only 1-2 rooms have been done, i wish i had know that prior to booking my accomodation as i would have stayed elsewhere, when i mentioned this to them, they said oh it does say it on our website - WHERE!! what it says is "Over the last 2 years", i mean when did they start??? but it fails to show examples of existing accomodation which is apalling, i mean this is 1 star i have seen better youth hostels, regardless of the fact that they are refurbing, the room standards are not four star either the attention to detail is miserable i.e. poor tea making facilities, shampoo, no bottled water. Our room had rising damp, we had charity furniture in our room, the bathroom what bathroom!! we had a shower that trickled then scalded you intermittently. it was a converted cloakroom with louvre shutter doors and a sink in the bedroom, so if your sharing with a friend just beware because everyone has got to go at some point. It is not a hotel where you would want to relax and unwind it its present condition. Personally, i think the current owners should reduce the cost of the un furbished accomodation alternatively show pictures on there website so customers can see what they are buying into.
PS breakfast is not very nice either, no variety and they only do full fat milk eeeukk!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damnfine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallaceneuk1, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2010

Thankyou for your comments.

We and I are sorry you couldnt get the best room in the house as did some of your associates but you did get the raw deal of the only room left and 1 of only 2 which are still to be refurbed.
We are a small family hotel of which we arnt millionaires but do want all our guests to feel respected and welcomed as well as getting a room to there satisfaction and will strive to complete these two rooms as soon as we have the funds to do so.
As for your other comments they are and you know it im sure not true as we remember you well from the moment you checked in until you left without even visiting our breakfast room or making any comments,and if you had taken the time to have breakfast,which I would list all the choices if I had the space to do soand the time, you would have found some of your colleagues having breakfast and of which 2 took the time to leave good comments in our book,and from the 23 persons who stayed with us you were our only complainee and although we do take your views on board please feel free to forward your details and we will invite you for a free overnight in the room advertised on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Disappointed with the quality of the room. Stayed with a friend for a wedding and luckily we are not over weight as there is no way we would have been able to fit in the shower - so tiny! This really remind me of an old fashion B& B and our room looked nothing like the advertised picture - they obviously are still refurbishing the rooms! The sink was not in the bathroom but in the main body of the room you could see the damp marks coming through the wallpaper.
Can't really complain about the breakfast - plain -simple - reasonable
I would most probably only stay here again if I took one of the refurbished rooms - the staff were friendly enough though!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odessaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallaceneuk1, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2010

Hi
im very sorry you were not able to get one of the 9 refurbed rooms,but happy to say the one you were in will be completed very shortly and would like to Invite you to call myself and I will re-book you in the re-furbed room at no cost with dinner for two.

regards Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The hotel is in a good location in the town centre and service is generally good. We had a room on the top floor No 16 other (rooms are obviously better,) which faced on the front of the hotel onto the cobbled road , it was not as shown on the website as advertised, being quite small it was also vey hot in August, not double glazed and therefore very noisy with traffic from about 6.30.
Meals were O.K although we sat for dinner under the television with football on? breakfast was quite slow and scrambled eggs were obviously microwaved, which was a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefos_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and found it just as good as the first time .have no hesitation in recommending it for groups

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metamick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews