We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent bar meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ednam House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ednam House
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent bar meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We went here with friends who had booked a window table overlooking the gardens and the River Tweed for a bar meal. Three of us ordered fish and chips - fresh Eyemouth haddock in crispy batter - and we all agreed that it was the best fish we had had for some considerable time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    91
    47
    22
    28
See reviews for
41
189
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had evening dinner at Ednam House as a party of 10 but didn't stay overnight. The entrance to the building is very impressive with seemingly endless reception rooms on the ground floor. As the previous reviewer states, some of the furniture is slightly worn but it isn't off putting. The dining room is very grand entering by the large staircase (could be a problem for less able customers) and would have benefitted from a few more diners. Service was excellent and attentive without being over bearing. Good menu and super food. Would happily do it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
764 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

When we arrived, the receptionist was welcoming, friendly and made us feel special.

Our first impression of the hotel was that it had been a grand house and hotel, but that it was a little faded around the edges. We loved the fishing rods and reels in reception and thought that these really made the place, as did the magnificent 18th C plaster work. However, the public rooms, were over-filled with surplus furniture and poorly matched china, ornaments and pictures. A little weeding out of some of the less interesting or antique items would give the rooms a sense of space and elegance. One public room was very unpleasant - it vibrated!! We were told that this was the kitchen ventilation - essential but not for guests.

Our bedroom was clean (other than two hair grips on the floor) as was the bathroom, but again with very oddly matched furniture and decoration that appeared not to have been changed since the 1960s. Our beds were soft but perhaps too much so, whilst the pillows were like rocks - a happy medium, please.

That said, I did appreciate the atmosphere and assume that many of the clients who stay for the fishing love the faded elegance and homeliness that they will find here.

I cannot fault the day staff in any way - they were responsive, helpful and always willing to talk. However, the night porter had to let me out to bring my car into the car park, and then bolted the front door and wouldn't answer the bell; luckily I found a door open for a function, so was able to get back in via the bar. Breakfast was excellent with home cured bacon, ham etc., and an excellent Finnan Haddock - perfectly cooked, as was our dinner.

A tranquil setting on the river and a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

lovely grounds,hotel entrance gorgeous,receptionist very helpful,shown to our room on ground flower with a view of the tweed,and lovely gardens,our cousins have stayed many times,hence why we booked,went into bar....and there they were sat !!could not believe it..
dined with them that night very busy,fine food,breakfast sat with them.fine again.
second day not to good..went for breakfast only 4 others in...and we wanted to sit by the big window, river view,7.30! no waitress said, someone would be coming and want to sit there,,,we did !
we just sat on the edge nowhere near the window...disgusting attitude we finished and not one other person came ? then at night same thing restaurant nearly empty.. she asked us to sit in middle of room.by our selves..no we wanted to sit less obvious,near edge .they tut tutted ! they had our room number surely they could remember which table we moved too.!
every other member of staff was lovely ,jimmy,the best,so why be so military in the restaurant..
give and take surely for guests pleasure >

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

stayed here for a fishing trip with my husband and some friends. Shabby chic is the best description I can give this hotel. The stay was lovely although some of the rooms could do with some re decoration but apart from that couldn't fault anything. Staff were very good and couldn't do more for their guests. Food was excellent and the breakfast had a huge choice of items. Would definitely return for another visit .A lovely old country house.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boothsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

As stated by other reviewers this hotel is a step back in time, it needs a serious investment to bring the hotel up to the standards of equivalent hotels of similar charge rates.
We got a very warm welcome upon arrival and were quickly directed to our rooms up with the gods on the top floor, first impressions were confirmed on closer examination, a good paint job is needed quite urgently and the furniture has definitely seen better days. Unfortunately we were all kept awake by howling winds whistling and rattling the windows throughout the night, we thought this may have been bad luck but our mothers room was exactly the same. This continued throughout breakfast with the wind whistling through the dining room even with secondary glazing fitted.
I got the impression that the hotel relies on repeat business from the fishing and hunting fraternities, as these are the first themes that you see on arrival and many of the services offered would be of use to these clients i.e on site smoke house for any fish caught down on the river.
The breakfast was a totally different experience, the food was first class with plenty of choices from fish to a delectable scottish breakfast, with a good choice of juices and cereals to help yourself too.
In summary, lovely breakfast, lovely location, would have been fabulous in its prime but really not worth the £130 we paid for a room which was at its best 50 years ago.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms of the gods on a hot summer night as the fan supplied wont keep you cool enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oddbod1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I come here every year when fishing. It is the ideal place to stay. The owners Ralph and Anne always make you feel very welcome. All the staff are first class. I would reiterate the words of a previous reviewer regarding Jimmy the bar tender. He is so helpful and a real laugh. His dreadlocks and deep Kenyan accent might seem out of place in a Scottish country hotel but the hotel would not be the same without him. (his twin brother sometimes serves in the restaurant!) The food is always first class, and often reared/grown by the owners or produced locally. George the night porter is a scream, even though I've never understood a word he has said to me. The hotel overlooks the river Tweed (not the Thames as reported by a previous reviewer!) and in particular the world famous Junction salmon beat. It is right in the centre of Kelso and offers perfect access to some of the best salmon fishing in the UK. Some might criticise the lack of modernity, creaking floor boards and basic bathrooms but that is all part of the charm and differentiates it from sterile modern hotels. I would not consider staying anywhere else when visiting the Borders.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greatsnoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph Anne B, Owner at Ednam House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear greatsnoring
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of Ednam House. Your very kind comments have been passed on to all the staff and to George and Jimmy in particular. We look forward your next visit when we hope the Tweed will be full of Salmon just as it has been these last few days. Kind regards Anne and Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
0.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Plough Hotel
The Plough Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yetholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#5 of 19 in Kelso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ednam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ednam House

Property: Ednam House
Address: Bridge Street | Roxburghshire, Kelso TD5 7HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ednam House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ednam House is a gorgeous Georgian Mansion located in 3 acres of gardens overlooking the river Tweed, yet within Kelso town centre. This idyllic location offers tranquility and convenience and is the perfect base to explore the Borders and access the many castles, gardens,Golf Course,etc.. not too mention the many salmon fishing beats.Ednam House has been owned and run by the Brooks family since 1928, and today Ralph & Anne, the fourth generation, are delighted to carry on the tradition of offering their guests and visitors genuine hospitality and authentic good food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, SpeedyBooker.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Ednam House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ednam House Hotel Kelso
Ednam Hotel Kelso
Ednam House Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing