We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Chic Boutique”
Review of Ednam House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ednam House
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Chic Boutique”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This trip was booked by my Husband as a suprise for my Birthday, on a bed & breakfast basis, and although very pleasant, it was just that, pleasant, nothing fanc.
We were given a free upgrade on arrival to room 3, which overlooked the river; the view was stunning when looking outside, however I was disappointed with the quality of the furnishings; I expected old with it being a Georgian House, but it was more old in wear and tear than in date of the period.
There was no shower in the en-suite only a bath, which had hairs in it, and the sink had toothpaste on the tap, the toilet roll holder fell to pieces everytime you touched it, bedding was clean and fresh though.
Breakfast was served in the main dining room which was cold and had no atmosphere, we were the only guests eating and there was no background music, all a bit too quiet; breakfast was of a decent quality, we opted out of dining in the evening as not only did we feel the menu lacked choice but it was expensive, and to be honest we didnt want to sit in a cold room all alone.
Cant fault the staff as they were all very courtious and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    95
    50
    22
    29
See reviews for
45
199
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

So ...we visit kelso yearly and to visit ednam house is a must do ,coffee or tea served in China cups with pewter jugs sugar cubes and tonges on the lawn overlooking the river tweed ...pure class and charm !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahwStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My daughter was recently married at the Ednam House Hotel. The manager and staff were excellent and the entire day ran smoothly and without a hitch. Many of the guests stayed at the hotel overnight and we all enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were were all clean, comfortable and warm and the view from our room was spectacular overlooking the River Tweed. I cannot stress enough how accommodating and helpful the staff were. The food was locally sourced and the wedding meal and breakfast were both of a high standard. All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river Tweed with a view over the junction pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2802Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pathhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ednam House hotel on the night after our daughter's wedding. The staff were so pleasant and helpful. Our room was lovely, looking over the river, with a huge bed and spacious bathroom. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice, even pink grapefruit segments, my favourite. I was only disappointed that our stay wasn't longer and will have to return to enjoy the ambience of the lovely public rooms. A huge thank you the whole team at the hotel for making the wedding so special.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sh4lag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We never tire of the chance to come to Ednam House for a special lunch. Today was to help celebrate a friend's birthday. We had the best table in the room, with view straight to the river Tweed. Some roses remained in the hotel garden and these added to the developing autumn colours. Staff were helpful and cheerful, did not seem to mind how long we lingered. Food was very good , though not a very extensive menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

An old favourite of mine. Fourth time I have stayed at Ednam House. Never fails to please, good food,good service and a lovely single bedroom overlooking the Tweed. If you want modern Ednam House will not be for you. If want old fashioned style you will love it as I do.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timboDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We went here with friends who had booked a window table overlooking the gardens and the River Tweed for a bar meal. Three of us ordered fish and chips - fresh Eyemouth haddock in crispy batter - and we all agreed that it was the best fish we had had for some considerable time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
0.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Plough Hotel
The Plough Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yetholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ednam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ednam House

Property: Ednam House
Address: Bridge Street | Roxburghshire, Kelso TD5 7HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ednam House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ednam House is a gorgeous Georgian Mansion located in 3 acres of gardens overlooking the river Tweed, yet within Kelso town centre. This idyllic location offers tranquility and convenience and is the perfect base to explore the Borders and access the many castles, gardens,Golf Course,etc.. not too mention the many salmon fishing beats.Ednam House has been owned and run by the Brooks family since 1928, and today Ralph & Anne, the fourth generation, are delighted to carry on the tradition of offering their guests and visitors genuine hospitality and authentic good food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ednam House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ednam House Hotel Kelso
Ednam Hotel Kelso
Ednam House Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing