We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kelso scooter rally”
Review of Ednam House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ednam House
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kelso scooter rally”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel whilst visiting the annual scooter rally
The hotel is beautiful the rooms are immaculate and the staff cant do enough for you
Nothing is too much trouble

We were in room nine overlooking the river the views were amazing

I highly recommend this hotel the breakfast was really good too with a buffet style ( cereals and breads) then a cooked breakfast

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    97
    52
    23
    29
See reviews for
48
206
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I recently spent a couple of nights at the Ednam House Hotel in Kelso. This Georgian country house lives up to its reputation as one of the best. My room, which was the size of three average hotel rooms, had spectacular views over the River Tweed. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Food in the dining room was well presented and very tasty. Maybe a tad more expensive to stay there than other comparable hotels, but Ednam House cannot be faulted. The manager is doing a good job. Standards are high.

Room Tip: Would recommend asking for a room overlooking the Tweed when making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandsOfGenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Was there on Saturday for dinner,my first visit under the new management.Nothing much changed so far,but no Melba toast,only silly little rolls you get in any old hotel.The new owners will do very well if they realise that part of Ednam Houses charm is that it is a throw back to another time where things were done differently.The building and interiors of the Hotel will benefit from having some money spent on them and disabled access is terrible at the moment,but the real skill will be keeping some of the eccentricity of the place which sets it apart from other luxury Hotels(for luxury is part of the plan apparently).The Melba toast and salty butter may seem trivial,but where else do you get it and how much nicer is it than a crappy roll?It's the little details that make Ednam House different from the bland,homogenised,boring places you can stay at anywhere in the world and it is all the better for it.At least for now.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I booked a room here the day before so didn't know what to expect. The hotel is on the main street of Kelso backing onto the River Tweed. There is ample off street parking which is always a bonus. The welcome was friendly and the room was wonderful with lovely views over the river and the fields beyond. The furniture was rather old but that added to the ambiance of the room. We had dinner in the hotel in the dining room with wonderful views. The food was lovely as was breakfast. Would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for room at the back, the views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jintyjan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our third visit was equally as good as the first two.Georgian splendour lovely staff and views to equal any hotel in Scotland.The gardens are lovely the location is 2 minutes walk to the town centre and good safe parking is in the deal.Restuarant offers great views and great food we took breakfast and dinner and were well pleased.Rumour has it new management are in the wings so take my advice and go NOW while the old splendour of yesteryear is still in place.

Room Tip: room 7 is a good one above the main entrance.Have never paid the premium for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackarrowthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in parts, the main areas are stately and and have a traditional grandeur. It is set in lovely grounds on the bank of the river Tweed but also just on the edge of town. The hotel has been owned and run by the same family for four generations and you can imagine nothing much has changed in that time. In my opinion the worn patina adds to the charm of the place but some may just find some areas like the landings just plain tired. Our room was pleasant enough if perhaps a little small. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. I enjoyed my stay there very much and would certainly go again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank awm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eglingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Have eaten at this Hotel on a few occasions and never been disappointed, Always a warm welcome from Jimmy in the bar and the restaurant staff. Service is good, food good value for money, well prepared and presented. Wonderful traditional hotel full of decaying splendour a real treat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davalst12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
3.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
321 reviews
8.6 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
143 reviews
9.7 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
176 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Plough Hotel
The Plough Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yetholm
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ednam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ednam House

Property: Ednam House
Address: Bridge Street | Roxburghshire, Kelso TD5 7HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ednam House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ednam House is a gorgeous Georgian Mansion located in 3 acres of gardens overlooking the river Tweed, yet within Kelso town centre. This idyllic location offers tranquility and convenience and is the perfect base to explore the Borders and access the many castles, gardens,Golf Course,etc.. not too mention the many salmon fishing beats.Ednam House has been owned and run by the Brooks family since 1928, and today Ralph & Anne, the fourth generation, are delighted to carry on the tradition of offering their guests and visitors genuine hospitality and authentic good food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ednam House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ednam House Hotel Kelso
Ednam Hotel Kelso
Ednam House Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing