We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad after all”
Review of Ednam House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ednam House
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We read with some concern the appalling reviews posted recently but after a four night stay with a group of 20+ we left with a positive feeling that this wonderfully located hotel should get better.

Yes, the place is in urgent need of a major upgrade but we were told that the new owners are experienced hoteliers and are committed to a major refurbishment. The furniture is indeed scruffy, some chairs are on the point of collapse, and in our room the shower pressure was far too low, but looking out of a first floor room over the Tweed, or strolling in the riverside gardens is uplifting.

The reception should be one of the first places to spend some money as it is uninviting and made worse by having to deal with staff through a small gap which fronts a disorganised Fawlty looking office.

The young, mostly European, staff are all friendly enough and the lady running the office was very helpful, but the man we assumed to be the manager, who doubled up as the supervisor in the dining room, and the wine waiter, seemed to struggle to stay in control at busy times and was unsmiling and curt throughout . We were all surprised that he did not appear to wish our large group farewell, although he was around somewhere....we were told.

The breakfast was adequate, the dinners not special ....both should be better for the room rates being charged.

We hope to return one day to see the much needed improvements in a building which is full of character. Oh...and get rid of the ridiculous plates used as wall decorations all over the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Tweed.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudapestDavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Ednam House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I don't usually contribute to trip advisor however I do use it before I book a hotel but on this occasion I feel I need to let others know exactly what Ednam House has come to... I have stayed at this hotel previously with my husband and friends but we usually stay at the Roxburghe Hotel however we thought we would go back to Ednam House (last time we stayed it was owned by the Brook family) as the men are the keen fishermen and us ladies usually have a lovely break shopping and sightseeing. Well..not this time!! firstly we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who was very polite and she showed us to our rooms, the rooms are nice at first look but nothing special I do believe these are going to be revamped in the future...my husband and the other fishermen in the group were not happy that we had to be tied down to a time to dine in the restaurant! does that mean if the fishing is good and we don't make that time we will be frowned upon?!? I did speak to the new manager 'Ken' about this and wished I never in all the hotels I have visited in many countries I have NEVER been spoken to in that manner! he is a rude man and how he is manager is beyond us. We was highly unimpressed.
It was lovely to see Jimmy on the bar he is always really helpful as are all the other staff. The food was lovely , the full English was fantastic!! One thing about the hotel is the gardens, they are beautiful and especially with the wonderful weather we have been getting. Im not so sure we will revisit Ednam House again.

Room Tip: Go and stay at the Roxburghe Hotel it is 5 star!! Give the new manager a wide birth!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Isiw167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

12 of us came to celebrate a family anniversary= Ednam House was our first choice and we were not let down !!==All of the staff were most professional and welcoming and dealt with the wide ranging requests of diners from 7 to 70 years old-- the dining room is spacious and clean with one of the best views in town == Ok it is in need of some renewals but care should be taken not to spoil the relaxed feeling about the place== The food although not amazing was of good quality and in plentiful supply == served freshly cooked and at the right temperatures== We went out into the grounds after our meal and spent some time chatting and watching the Tweed flow past us!!!==Well done Ednam House with a bit of TLC and a lot of money you will emerge top again in Kelso

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank bordercurler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The only thing in Ednam's House favour is it's location. Apart from that it was a huge disappointment! It needs a total refurb as falling apart. Interior paintwork mucky & chipped. Furniture scratched & the whole feel of the hotel is tatty & depressing. We had booked a downstairs 'river view' & what a joke for a room! Small with very dated, tatty decor & could barely move around the room. Nowhere to put anything & smelt of urine. The bedding also smelly & pillows stained. The tea making table did not have a power point near so had to plug the kettle on other side of the room on the floor..not great! The bathroom was a joke! Our stay was booked from the 27th June to 3rd July at a rate of £138 per night....what an insult! We moved out after 2 nights to another hotel in Kelso & it was a huge relief!

Room Tip: Don't choose room 12!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our first impressions of the hotel were quite good.The driveway is quite impressive and from a distance the hotel looks nice.The gardens at the back of the hotel are excellent with lovely views over the river Tweed.That is where the good points finish.
The interior of the hotel is a disgrace with old tired furniture and even more tired surroundings.
Our room (number 38) came complete with its own cracked sink and shower room the size of a cupboard.The furniture in the bedroom seems to have been purchased from some jumble sale as no two items matched.The price that they wanted for this extremely poor room was to be 168 pounds until we complained and it was reduced by 30 pounds.
Please,please give this hotel a wide berth as it is the worst that we have stayed in over a period
of 10 years.
YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Barmy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is one of the most disappointing reviews I have written. Ednam House is lovely, it sits right on the river bank with great views and has gorgeous gardens. You drive into the frontage area and it looks amazing, lots of parking. Then in through the imposing front doors to reception, where the staff are very helpful and friendly. We had one of their best rooms with lovely views over the gardens and river.
So, great house, great setting, great staff, should be getting a 5 out of 5.
Sadly not, though it could very easily be turned around.
Firstly wifi is v weak - its the 21st century and this is not a cheap hotel - put it in the rooms.
Secondly, the place is just the wrong side of shabby chic - the furniture needs upgrading.
Thirdly, the bathroom was not up to scratch - huge, but peeling wallpaper and ancient shower cubicle, old loo etc just not good enough.
Fourthly the bed was too small (and really high) expect a big bed for this money.
Fifthly premium rooms directly above noisy kitchen fans - not perfect.
Lastly the breakfast was very ordinary, greasy eggs, unpleasant bacon and no haggis. Though the toast was excellent as was the black pudding.
If these issues were resolved then this would be a great hotel and none of them is difficult.
Staff however were excellent.

Room Tip: room 4 - with river views is above the kitchen fans which are NOISY so avoid if noise bothers you.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidNRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Firstly the food was good but then everthing went bad.
The hotel in general was tatty, chairs with no springing left in them and other furniture stained and scratched, same with the skirtings. I just felt that the place was dirty, not vintage or chic.
Now to the room, number 10. How disappointing was this. Hardly enough room to move once the bags were in. Stains on the wallpaper where there had been a leak, and further staining where a radiator had been fitted. Dirty carpet. I e-mailed my friend, who has a furniture sale room, photos of the scratched and stained and non-matching furniture, and he said he would not accept it and it looked from the photos that it needed to be burned. The bedspread had been washed so many times that there was no colour left in it. Paint was peeling on the window frame and the skirtings were all dented and scratched.. I asked to move rooms but was told the hotel was fully booked!!! At £180 for the room for DBB I thought this was well overpriced and suggested in my feedback that prices should be reduced until refurbishment has taken place. Because the room was in the attic it was only possible to see the river when standing on a chair!! NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept room 10(50 stairs)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
3.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
332 reviews
8.6 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
153 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
18.8 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Hawick
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ednam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ednam House

Address: Bridge Street | Roxburghshire, Kelso TD5 7HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range: £93 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ednam House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ednam House is a gorgeous Georgian Mansion located in 3 acres of gardens overlooking the river Tweed, yet within Kelso town centre. This idyllic location offers tranquility and convenience and is the perfect base to explore the Borders and access the many castles, gardens,Golf Course,etc.. not too mention the many salmon fishing beats.Ednam House has been owned and run by the Brooks family since 1928, and today Ralph & Anne, the fourth generation, are delighted to carry on the tradition of offering their guests and visitors genuine hospitality and authentic good food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ednam House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ednam House Hotel Kelso
Ednam Hotel Kelso
Ednam House Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing