We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a difference!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Swan Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 19 Kelso B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a difference!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Having lived in Kelso for many years the black swan was always my restuarant of choice if my wife and I were going out for dinner. In recent years however the standard of food had declined and I am sorry to say after many dissapointing visits we had given up on it ever improving. HOWEVER When I heard there was a new manager accompanied by a new chef and delicious new menu my wife and I were very eager to check it out and we were not dissapointed!! The management and staff were friendly and attentive and greeted us with welcoming smiles. The food was delicious and well presented, we were even given a free glass of wine each because we were having more than one course! The Black Swan is on it's way back to its former glory!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeilRodgers2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was my first experience in Kelso and my trip was with the Honda Goldwing Club of Great Britain. On walking into Kelso for an evening meal we stopped at the Black Swan and I have to say the service was excellent and the food was very tasty and came out hot and in a reasonable time. I was advised that the family now running the Black Swan had just taken over the place so good luck to you all and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having been a regular customer at the Black Swan for lunch time meals, we have found that the quality has declined dramatically over the course of the past few months, with a greatly reduced choice on the menu. The food is cooked to a reasonable quality and the serving staff are friendly and attentive, but the overly casual dress and demeanour of the apparent manager leaves much to be desired. The main problem however is the poor standard of the new menu, which is now of the fish and chip, and steak pie variety. Okay as far as they go, but without much choice of anything else.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdubhghlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelso hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Having stayed here previously we were more than happy to rebook this hotel as it is very central to kelso.On checking in we were told our breakfast was between 8 and 9 pm,and were asked what time we were planning to be there???like we had given it any thought...The lady i must say didnt have to nicest of attitudes.we were shown to our room which looked nice but had an odd smell,the beds were spotless and the room as a whole was nice in appearance,it took us a short while to find out that the bathroom actually smelt like a gents urinal it stank!The door led strait from the bedroom.I was persueded not to make a fuss, so we opened the window wide and left the bathroom light on which in turn left the fan going,it did help a bit and we sprayed it to mask the stench.We were only there one night so i thought id just leave a comment in the book about it.Breakfast..we requested one vegetarian breakfast which we were told sorry nobody told me,so scrambled egg it was just as well hes not vegan...the other two in the party requested two breakfasts which were has so much grease on the plate it took three napkins to mop it up,i think the sausage and blackpudding had been deep fried it was disgusting and just so greasey..when we left i asked for the comments book it was not available so this is my feed back,its such a shame as it was such a nice place last time around...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kary115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.0 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#3 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Hotel

Property: Black Swan Hotel
Address: 7 Horsemarket, Kelso TD5 7HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Black Swan Hotel Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing