We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So Stylish”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
First floor bathroom- the bath has a view of the stars!
Welcome to Kersmains Cottage....
The grounds of Kersmains...
Kersmains Cottage...private entrance and secluded garden
Cosy up by the log burner...
Large walk in power shower...
Guest Reviews...
Private garden for picnics or lounging in the sunshine....
Floors Castle just minutes from Kersmains
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kelso, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kamble201...
Lake District, United Kingdom
1 review
“So Stylish”
Reviewed 30 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed in The Lodge for my 30th with our 3 children and my parents. What a beautiful house,very stylish and so much bigger than we expected! Ashley has thought of everything for a family stay with a lovely range of age appropriate books,toys and board games for children. The kids absolutely loved their farm tour and helped to feed the gorgeous sheep which are just outside the cottage. Highly recommended and we can’t wait to book a return stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Many thanks for your lovely review, so appreciated! We hope to see you back at Kersmains soon! The sheep that you fed produced 6 gorgeous lambs a couple of weeks ago!
Best Wishes,
Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRadish
Orpington, Kent
2 reviews
“Perfect cottage for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage itself was a fabulous place to stay. We arrived on a grey afternoon, the key was waiting in a safe for us and when we went in, the lamps were on and it was warm and cosy, just what we needed after a long drive. Although it sleeps 6, there were only 2 of us so we had a room each! We also entertained a local friend, and it was a great place to relax. The location is great, just a few miles from Kelso, on a farm which was very clean and tidy with lovely views. Although it was harvest time, it was still a peaceful break. The cottage has double glazed windows and we enjoyed watching the tractors whizzing about, I'm sure children would love it. The cottage has plenty of parking space and a garden, which would be nice in the summer. We did plenty of cooking and the kitchen was very well equipped. The two bathrooms suited us well, one with bath and one with shower, catering to both our preferences. It feels very rural whilst not being too far from the main road.
I'm sure 6 people would still find it has plenty of space. It is nicely decorated and furnished and the beds we used were very comfortable. The WiFi worked well, and although the dining room was listed as the best signal, I had no problem throughout the cottage.
We look forward to returning another time.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review- it really makes all the difference to future guests to hear what other thought so we really appreciate it.
We hope to see you back at Kersmains again soon!

Best Wishes,
Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 May 2018
Thank you so much! We hope to see you back again soon!

Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Dear Sarah,thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review we really do appreciate it! Hope to have you back to stay again soon! Best wishes,Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gmanbutto...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Family Break”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just back from a great few days on a farm cottage stay in the heart of the Scottish Borders!

We turned up late on the Thursday night but Ashley (owner) left the key for us in a safe and cottage heating was on so was lovely & cost for our arrival!

The cottage itself is beautifully decorated and had all the facilities we needed. Each room has its own subtle decor theme which is nice and I think it is also a lot bigger than it looks in the photos.

The main sitting room is a gorgeous living space. It has loads of windows so is light & bright during the day but also cosy at night once the log fire got roaring!

The farm itself is very clean, tidy and relatively quiet for a working farm. Simon (owner) took our boys on a tractor ride which they loved as well as visiting the cows & horses.

In terms of location, there was loads to do (we could have done with longer!). Harestanes Visitor centre & Born in the Borders are close by, Kelso is only a couple of miles down the road where there are many lovely shops & cafes etc. Although I didn't get a chance to play , the Roxburghe Golf Course is just down the road too & it's a Championship course

We actually spent more time in the cottage than we anticipated as the boys had so much space (inside & outside) to play and for us to relax.

Great value for money for a family break, thank you to Simon & Ashley for looking after us.

Ps. Our 5 year old boy managed to get his 2 year old brother to join him in a chant of "COTTAGE! COTTAGE! COTTAGE!" in protest on the drive home. Think that says it all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2017
Thank you for the brilliant review! Great to let other visitors with children know what activities you and the boys enjoyed. Hope to have you all back again sometime!Simon & Ashley x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Gorgeous cottage. We had a really lovely, chilled weekend celebrating my brothers 60th birthday. Log burning stove made it so cosy! Thank you Asheigh and Simon for making us feel so at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2016
Thank you Denise! So pleased that you all had a lovely time. Best wishes for a wonderful Christmas. Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JECMac197...
Isle of Tiree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just gorgeous!”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We - Mum, Dad, two children and Grandma - were looking for a cottage close to Kelso for a short October break. We could not have chosen better than Kersmains Farm Cottage which provided the ideal getaway. The cottage has been recently refurbished and was tastefully decorated as well as being clean and cosy. We were made welcome by the owners who had added some little touches which were very much appreciated, such as the welcome tray and fresh flowers. We didn't do a great deal of exploring as our main purpose was to spend time relaxing together away from our usual busy lives but for those who would like to be out and about, information was provided. We did eat out in Kelso and enjoyed meals at Mayfield Garden Centre (lovely lunch) and the Waggon Inn (lunch and evening meal). I would definitely return to this spacious, well equipped and extremely comfortable cottage and heartily recommend it to others who are planning to visit this beautiful part of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Decor and comfort.
Liked least: I liked everything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you all for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Kersmains and hope to welcome you back again sometime. Best wishes, Simon & Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing