We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Start”
Review of Toobaz - CLOSED

Toobaz
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Start”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Walking to a restaurant that has changed hands can be strange but this was very welcoming. Great new Decor a friendly smile. The service and the food were great and the new team very help full. I would rate this as a great place to Eat in Kelso and Look forward to visiting again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loopc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good food”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I enjoyed the food very much, full of flavours and the spice was just right. would definitely visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous chicken karahi”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

During our sotish border tour we arrived at kelso. A local B B recommend this place for dinner.we 4 friends been there.We ordered some starters and in main course 3 chicken karahi and 1 butter chicken..karahi was very fabulous and tasty.all of us enjoyed our dinner.I recommend this restaurant good place for a tasty meal

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Toobad!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Have been a few times since the previous owners (Empress of India) moved on and sadly disappointed!
Firstly was the Cobra I ordered while waiting for my takeaway, but no glass! Then the Chicken Jalfrezi looked if it had been in a blender (small pieces of chicken and the peppers could hardly be found), next was the vindaloo, tons of chilli and no potato!!! Not to mention the soggy nanns!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Complete let down!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I was so excited about this new Indian restaurant opening in the town. I read the reviews, and all but one was positive. I figured the bad review came from a really fussy person....sorry that person, I should have listened to you!
I had a take away meal. The rice was fine, but so what, the curry is the star of the show, right? Well, not in this case!
Pathia is my favourite curry; hot, sweet, sour and tasty. The dish I got was none of the above, it was devoid of taste and the sauce was like red water. I had a mushroom Pathia, nice of them to do this off menu dish (they do other Pathia curries, so no excuse for getting it wrong) but there must have been about 8 mushrooms quartered and floating in this red water. Don't want to think of the amount of profit they must have made on this dish! I have never felt compelled to write a bad review on food before, but this curry was bad beyond belief. I shall be voting with my feet and never using this place again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BillBaker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toobaz also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing