We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“couldn't have been nicer !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbeyside Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbeyside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 19 Kelso B&B and Inns
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“couldn't have been nicer !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

overnight stay in Kelso
Everything was lovely, great place , lovely people and stunning garden,
found it on trip advisor,
we were only there for one night but wish it was longer
will be back if in Kelso again
thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank looi26yarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cuckfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

A lovely Oasis in the middle of Kelso. Very comfortable /spacious room .Excellent breakfast and very friendly hosts. It was a most enjoyable stay and we fully recommend Abbeyside. The gardens were stunning and lovely to look out on during breakfast.

Room Tip: Room one was very spacious with an excellent En Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay at Abbeyside B & B in Kelso on our way to Edinburgh on the castles and coast bicycle route. The B & B is next to the old Abbey and very close to the town centre for pubs, restaurants etc. The owner was very friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and very comfortable and we had a lovely cooked Scottish breakfast. Would definitely go back,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harold59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Over the past eight months we have visited the Borders many times and can say we have never stayed at a better B&B anywhere else in the UK. Coming to Jimmy and Carolyn at Abbeyside is like visiting family, in fact better as you experience genuine Scottish hospitality. With so many visits we can vouch for all three rooms, having stayed in them all at different occasions. On every visit each has always been very clean, comfortable and with all the modern amenities you can wish.

There is ample car parking and the gardens are a joy and provide wonderful outdoor rooms during the day to relax in the sun. The spacious lounge is great for meeting your fellow guests in the evening, or just quietly relaxing to some music or reading a book with a glass of wine if you wish.

The dining room opens out to the garden and is a great place to start any day especially as the breakfasts are very wholesome will not leave you wanting.

In a quiet part of the town you will never be disturbed even though you are only a short walk away from the famous Market Square with its host of restaurants and pubs.

We highly recommend Abbeyside as a place to relax and chill in a glorious part of Britain.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuchTravelledBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed at this b & b on a Friday and Saturday night with the intention of spending the Saturday at Kelso racecourse however the race meeting was cancelled because of the weather conditions.
When we arrived it was very overcast and it was nice that Carolyn had candles lit in the vestibule which made this b & b very welcoming before we had even been shown to our room! The room was spacious with a large en suite facility and my husband and I appreciated the larger than normal bed and also the provision of glasses and a corkscrew! The guest lounge was lovely with huge comfortable sofas. The breakfast was served in an area off the lounge which looked over the beautifully landscaped garden which looks like it would be a riot of colour in the summer - when hopefully we can return to enjoy again the hospitality we received on our first visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary090260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

It starts with the hosts, Carolyn and Jimmy. They are fantastic, and they make you feel very comfortable. The room we had was amazing, and the bathroom was superb. We are very picky about our B&B's when we visit, and we will definitely visit here again. While we are U.S. travelers, we are not the average U.S. traveler. We have been traveling around the UK for more than 10+ years. We love it. And, this is one of only 3 B&Bs now on our list of places we will use again, and who will will gladly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

My sister and I spent a week in this delightful B&B. The weather was appalling but the B&B was warm and welcoming. Carolyn and Jimmy were great hosts and could not have been more helpful with all our requests for local restaurants and directions to places of local interest. Our room was warm, clean and very comfortable and breakfasts were excellent. Being keen gardeners it was lovely to have breakfast overlooking the garden which was also visible from the comfortable lounge. We would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B and would love to visit it again.
Jean and Isa.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#5 of 19 in Kelso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Abbeyside Bed & Breakfast
Address: Abbeyside The Knowes, Kelso TD5 7BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large comfortable bungalow, set within original grounds of Kelso Abbey, lovely outlook over colourful cottage walled garden, secluded and peaceful. Only two minutes walk from town centre and river tweed, ideal base for walking, cycling, fishing, golf and touring Scottish Borders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbeyside Bed & Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing