We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in the Crown of Kelso”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Nestled behind the historic, welcoming grey walls of a former priory close to the town square, is this jewel in the crown of Kelso. 'Mein Host Extraordinaire' is Robin, who's eye for decorative detail and homely hospitality is exemplary. And as for poaching eggs, as the song goes, "Nobody does it better.....!" Anyone seeking a quality backdrop to enhance their holistic experience of this stunning area, should make staying here a must.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katetrip007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2011

Amazing house and room, yummy breakfast and all in a great little town! All made even better by the owners...cheers guys!!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelambert7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed for two nights and were attending a wedding at a nearby hotel. The room was lovely, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was first class. We would easily rate this B & B a five star plus! All the little touches have been thought of - even to down to Lindt chocolate bunnies on our breakfast table on Easter Sunday morning!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sloan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Excellent accomadation, very comfortable, warm and spotlessly clean,in an ideal location for all restaurants,pubs etc,car not required. safe parking, beautifull breakfast and lots of choice, you can totally relax, like being home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

i stayed a couple of nights at "The Old Priory" in Kelso at the beginning of this month; and would like to take this opportunity to say thank you to Sue and Robin for a most enjoyable visit. I especially appreciated the fact that this house was very much a family home; and all the better for that. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending "The Old Priory", in Kelso.
Sincerely,
Nicol Rainy Brown.

Thank nrainybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The Family Suite was great. Our boys are 9 and 10 and they loved it. Great selection of DVDs for them to watch while we had a lie in. Sitting room is nice too. Friendly owner. Great location. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveandkerry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This is the 2nd time I've stayed at the Old Priory and no doubt will not be the last due to the high standard of accommodation, service and friendliness I experienced during my stay. This time I stayed in the 'Turret' room on the ground floor, it was beautifully furnished with a double bed, comfortable mattress,2 armchairs, a pouffe, dressing table with large mirror, built in wardrobe, dressing area with seat, next to the bathroom (bath & shower over) with complimentary shower gel, soap and shampoo. There is a side table with kettle,complimentary selection of teas, coffee, drinking chocolate, biscuits, milk/sugar. The room was clean and warm, bedding and towels soft and luxurious. Breakfast consisted of a selection of fresh fruits/cereals/jams/full cooked breakfast/fresh filtered coffee, juice etc The location is central with good amenties, historical sites and some nice quaint shops in walking distance. Robin the host is friendly, a good cook and has a good knowledge of the local area and places of interest, happy to help out if asked. Imo this is a first class b&b if you have high standards and expectations, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillybuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
381 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
160 reviews
0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Kelso
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range: £70 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing