We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2007

Having stayed in some pretty dreadful places over the last year my faith in Scottish hospitality was at a real low point...until I discovered The Old Priory. What a wonderful place. We stayed there for just one night and despite our time being short this place has certainly made its mark. The property is beautiful and the room was comfortable and charming but what makes this place truely delightful is how welcoming, helpful and friendly the owners were to us. They deserve every success...and the breakfast is delicious. Great value for money. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sausage9575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2007

We stayed at the Old Priory in October for a short family break to Scotland.
What a gem we found!
The Old Priory is a fantastic family run Bed and Breakfast, by far the best that we have ever stayed in. The owners are very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The quality of the furnishings and bedlinen were more like a luxury hotel, and we have never had such thick fluffy towels any where before!
We travelled with our two children (aged 2 and 8), and were given the family room. This is in fact a suite, with two huge rooms and a bathrom. We felt like royalty!
The breakfasts were to die for, with so much choice, you could stay for a week and not have the same thing twice.
We would thouroughly recommend this place, and will definitely return again one day.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank willandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2007

I stayed in The Old Priory in October. The property is stunning, tastefully decorated and full of history. The room I was given (the family suite) was AMAZING. The bed was so comfy and clean I could have stayed in there for a month. Where this B&B differs is the level of service provided by the owners from making your room cosy for you to return to on an evening to the friendly breakfast service in the morning (which by the way was delicious). All I need now is an excuse to go back to Kelso!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

One of the best B&Bs I've ever been to. Could not ask for more: central location, delightful owners, beautiful bedroom, perfect cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2007

Many thanks for this review it was a real surprise.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding.

Best wishes to you both

Robin and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

Right in the heart of Kelso is The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast which was ideally placed for our Bank Holiday trip to the Scottish Borders. This is no ordinary bed and breakfast. We were fortunate as a couple to be staying in the family room which was very spacious and well furnished. Robin is a charming host and he and his wife, Susan, take pride in attention to detail in this delightful property right down to closing the shutters in the bedroom at night for a perfect night's sleep. The breakfast was superb. There was some room for parking in the grounds and the garden lovely for relaxing in the good weather.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CochraneGuisborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

We recently stayed at what can only be described as a home away from home on our visit to Kelso and in visiting this hotel we found the perfect base for exploring the stunning sights of the borders. The Old Priory is run by two extremely lovely people who have added their homely touch to every aspect of their hotel to create the perfect package for making a perfect stay. From the moment you arrive they are always willing to help in anyway that they possibly can. They have extensive knowledge of the surrounding areas, the best places for photography, the sights and all of the best places to visit and will help you in trying to see everything according to what your interests are. They offer every possible home comfort and nothing is ever too much, whether it be setting the table for you to bring something back to eat in the dining room, offering advice on where to eat, or catering for any special requirements throughout your stay. They turn down your bed and close your shutters each night, refresh your tea, coffee and biscuits each morning and evening.
The breakfast is gorgeous offering a wide range of options from the traditional full english breakfast, to scrambled eggs and salmon, or any other options that they can to suit individuals.
The facilities, people, surroundings, food, help and advice are faultless in this picturesque place. The business comprises not only of the accomodation for guests, but is also their home and this means that everything is finished to how they would want to live themselves. Therefore, if you are looking for a quality, comfortable, homely base for your holiday then this truly is the whole package.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LeedsLuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

We came upon this bed and breakfast by chance, it was on Kelso online. A real find because although it is in the town centre it is also on Abbey Street where the Abbey is situated.
We found it very comfortable, great beds and there were plenty of pillows. They obviously have tried hard to think of everything that you might want, coffe, tea,biscuits, fruit teas, hot chocolate, tissues, toiletries, flannels and to die for fluffy towels. We had no time to use the DVD but if you wanted to you could stay in your room for a week! Just like home if you live in a town house with antiques and good taste in wallpaper.
The breakfast was great but large and they offer a breakfast special which was french toast with berry compote one day and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon the next.
The area is great but we need to go back when the leaves are on the trees.
Not bad for price £35 each for hotel standard.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank castorsprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Just decided to answer all of our reviewers to tell them that we now have a Facebook page.

Thank you for your review and the subsequent visits

Best wishes

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
332 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Kelso
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range: £70 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing