We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place; highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic place; highly recommended”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The owners were on holiday themselves when we stayed, and we were exceptionally well looked after by Amanda in their absence. This Georgian house is lovely - very homely with a huge guest sitting room which we found very comfortable. The breakfasts, freshly cooked, were excellent, and our rooms were outstanding - Robin promised the comfiest bed I've ever slept in, and he was right! I heartily recommend The Old Priory, and will definitely return when I am next in the Borders.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelraterScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
212
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Everything about The Old Priory was great: the welcome, the accommodation, the breakfast and in a lovely Borders town. thank you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABPH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Robin made us very welcome. The room was spacious and had a lovely selection of teas and coffee with plenty of milk as well as bottles of water and biscuits. You selected what you would like him to cook for breakfast and it was great to have choices other than the usual full and also loads of fresh fruit and cereals etc to have while waiting. Room was very comfortable and right in the heart of Kelso so everything to hand and there was a lovely walk along the Tweed. Robin was good at recommending places to eat and also visit while we stayed. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janette36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We would without hesitation highly recommend this exemplary B&B Guest House which is a 'beautiful home' set in a wonderful area of natural splendour and significant historical interest.

Add to that the 'most charming of proprietor’s Robin' whose clear desire is to make your stay ‘most welcome’.

Thank you for making our stay 'most memorable'.

Andy & Sue – Manchester.

Room Tip: Simply speak to the owners direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank klick4nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights for a family wedding. The house itself is beautiful as are all the rooms. Added bonus' are off street parking and a lovely private garden perfect for a summers evening. Robin is a perfect host who will accommodate any request. Breakfast is perfect. The family room is the largest I have ever seen, it is more like a suite.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westhaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We came to Kelso for a wedding and our family and friends took over the whole hotel for the weekend and were made most welcome by Robin and his lovely family. Nothing was too much for him. Thanks for adding to our enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val528759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle,Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed at the Old Priory for 2 nights during our trip through Scotland and England. We ended up here during the Royal Wedding and like the whole country a merry atmosphere was evident as soon as we were met by Robin. An upgrade to the family room was a bonus - we could have a dressing room along side an enormous bedroom that was comfortable and spotlessly clean. As with other reviewers Robin's suggestions for eating were spot on, I would highly recommend the Cobbles Inn and Oscars as were his sightseeing tips - Dryburgh Abbey is not to be missed. Again breakfast was a treat with Robin dishing up a tasty spread. All in all a welcoming place to stay for any traveller.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleo002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#3 of 4 in Kelso
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kelso
315 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#4 of 16 in Kelso
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing