We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good time was had by all”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We received a very warm welcome and enjoyed a comfortable visit. The breakfast was perfect - well cooked and well presented.
The Priory was steeped in history.
I would come again - thank you.

Lois Mc

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed at The Old Priory one night and absolutely loved it. The room was spacious, clean and the hostess charming. There were several options available for breakfast, including vegetarian and a hospitality tray with local specialties in the room was a nice touch. Definetly would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chouettou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The two braxies and the cowpit sheep had a fab three nights here. The accommodation was first class, Mandy was an excellent hostess and cook. We had fun and lots of good advice about eating places and things to do. Cocktails good at the Queen's Head and Cobblers. Food also good at these places. Floors well worth a visit and we bought really nice jewellery in the b and b. Would definitely stay again. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowpitsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I had a warm scottish welcome on my very late arrival and bags taken up to my room. The room was gorgeous and the bed the best I've slept in. The cooked breakfast was lovely and the service wonderful... Mandy was a great host and chef, nothing was too much trouble. Was great to meet her. Great value for money and with free wifi too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliej0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

An absolutely wonderful place to stay. The owners were on holiday at the time of our stay but this did not retract at all. We were very well looked after by Mandy, who was a very friendly and attentive host, she also makes the most wonderful breakfasts to order. The house is beautiful and vey charmingly decorated. The family room is outstanding, clean and comfortable. There is a large, comfortable lounge containing books, games, chess board etc which almost invites you in to enjoy. I cannot rate The Old Priory high enough.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayrshirelassesx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The owners were on holiday themselves when we stayed, and we were exceptionally well looked after by Amanda in their absence. This Georgian house is lovely - very homely with a huge guest sitting room which we found very comfortable. The breakfasts, freshly cooked, were excellent, and our rooms were outstanding - Robin promised the comfiest bed I've ever slept in, and he was right! I heartily recommend The Old Priory, and will definitely return when I am next in the Borders.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelraterScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Everything about The Old Priory was great: the welcome, the accommodation, the breakfast and in a lovely Borders town. thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABPH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
334 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#4 of 16 in Kelso
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range: £70 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing