We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B very centrally located in Kelso”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
459 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B very centrally located in Kelso”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My wife and I were greeted effusively by our lovely host, Robin, and shown to our room and then around the house including dining room and very large lounge area. The house is large and the rooms correspondingly large. Our room was spacious but with a small ensuite with a lovely shower. Tea/coffee making facilities were available in the room together with two bottles of water. Wifi was also available but didn't work with our iPad for some reason. It wasn't a problem as we had 3G coverage.

Nothing was too much bother for Robin. He pointed out good restaurants in the town, showed me one of my favourite groups - Madness - on his PC performing at the jubilee concert, helped bring in out bags and chatted in a very friendly and approachable way. And with a great sense of humour.

And while we were out at a meal he would turn our bed down, turn on the room lamps and close the shutters and curtains. A nice touch.

Breakfast was a choice of cereals, four juices, fresh fruit etc with a toaster set up for either white/brown toast or a seeded loaf was also available. Then there were the many options available for the cooked part of the meal. Everyone's tastes were catered for. Robin had a few duck eggs available and I was treated to a poached duck egg with tomato, sausages, bacon, black pudding and potato bread. Yummy.

A lovely B&B with a very friendly host.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfsc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
212
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Very helpfully and friendly staff, very clean rooms and plenty of fresh towels every. Nice breakfast facility's and choice

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legend1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I have just came back today from the old priory. I have now stayed in this accommodation on an annual basis for the past 5 years and every year it just gets better. The cleanliness and the comfort is excellent. The breakfast was very tasty and substantial. It's that good I've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Once again Robin and Sue excelled themselves, it's a delight to stay in their very beautiful town house in Kelso.
They are extremely gracious hosts and nothing is too much trouble, they certainly go out of their way to ensure that you have the very best time when staying with them.
The rooms and and the beds are wonderful, over looking the Priory gardens, so waking up and having one of Robins special breakfasts, in that setting, is a real treat.
I cannot recommend The Old Priory enough, hoping to be back soon, bringing the family next time, many thanks for a great break. Looking forward to it, Sandy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy53Madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Booked the Old Priory only three days ahead of our visit and got the only remaining room, which was a family room (for two of us !! ), at no extra cost.. On arrival we found that the family room was actually two large beautifully furnished bedrooms overlooking the garden.
Robin, the proprietor was very friendly and welcoming and gaveus a short trip around the house, which unusually for a B&B has a large traditionally furnished and comfortable guests lounge with tea and coffeee "on tap".

The house and garden are very well kept and the bedrooms , breakfast room and lounge were spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice, freshly cooked to order. My wife had kippers which she reckoned were the best she'd ever had and my smoked salmon and scrambled egg was excellent.
Robin is a mine of information on the Border area so if you visit don't hesitate to tap into his knowledge source.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay..and we will certainly be back

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the garden, although I understand those on the main road are stll quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Having booked a single night last week, after the warm welcome and seeing our room upon arrival we decided we wanted to stay an extra night which Robin went out of his way to sort out. We were in the family room which is superb as the children have their own room and the only way out is through the main room. Loads of room and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in!! The cooked breakfast is amazing and varied. I have to say that the welcome by Robin was brilliant and he was a source of lots of useful information and recommendations. Nothing was too much trouble. Definately the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in and we will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrachanStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2012

would highly recommend to anyone , Robin and Sue make you feel very welcome , home from home , even recommended where we ate out , fantastic , will definetly be retuning thankyou for a pleasant stay Lisa & Mark

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#3 of 4 in Kelso
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kelso
315 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#4 of 16 in Kelso
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing