We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another brilliant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another brilliant stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have now stayed at The Old Priory at least six times and have always found a warm welcome, a great attention to detail , superb breakfasts and beautifully furnished comfortable rooms. In short , we doubt if you will find a better B and B anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
213
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Good friends recommended we stay here on our trip to Scotland and it really was our No1 place to stay. Robin made us welcome from the time we arrived until we left, helped us plan our day trips, and gave us good restaurants to eat at. When we booked we were sent a brochure of things to do in the Borders area so we had an idea of what we could do. The rooms are lovely, the gardens are beautiful and such a yummy breakfast and such an hospitable host. The borders was our favourite area in Scotland and we would love to return and see yet more of it.
Robin, you are the best!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harbingerhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandyrnog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed with another couple for 2 nights and were greatly impressed. Robin was a kind and considerate host; the rooms were excellent; the en-suite facilities spotless, the upstairs lounge for the use of guests was a bit like an antique shop - which is how I like them and the breakfast was good too. We never did get the WiFi working but that may be something to do with my laptop. All in all a very useful place to stop over on the way to the Highlands. Following Robin's suggestions we ate in "the Contented Vine"; "Cobbles" and "Oscar's" all of which I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevandden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Travelling with friends through the borders and on to the Loch's we stayed in Kelso for 3 nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner 'Robin' who was a very friendly and attentive host. Robin's knowledge of the local restaurants and area was excellent and very useful. The breakfast choice was brilliant and substantial to say the least. We were based on the ground floor which was a large room, very well appointed, with a bathroom which included the interesting 'Turret' feature. On the first floor was a large guest lounge with plenty to keep you entertained including constant fresh coffee. Overall the experience was all you could ask for: Clean, excellent value but above all very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisStuttard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, the Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Kelso is a very nice town and a perfect base to explore the borders region. We stayed at The Old Priory for three nights at the end of our tour around Scotland and will certainly be back for a longer stay in the future, to explore the region and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere at this wonderful B&B. The sitting room is a definite bonus, the host is very welcoming and obviously enjoys his days here as much as we did.

Room Tip: The room adjoining the sitting room was perfect for us - the family room is very large and easily su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basehor, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights at Old Priory. Robin treated us as friends from the first day. He was extremely helpful with advice for where to eat dinner as well as sightseeing. The room was large and nicely appointed. Breakfasts were made to order and yummy. Simply one of the best experiences of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Wonderful comfortable room beautifully furnished, Robin a most attentive and friendly host. His breakfasts were freshly cooked to perfection. The choices extensive. Also a lovely sitting room is provided for guests to relax in with fresh coffee and biscuits provided.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#3 of 4 in Kelso
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kelso
315 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#4 of 16 in Kelso
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing