We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 19 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

Lovely B&B right in the centre of Kelso,easy to find and off street parking, owners very friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean and comfortable with every thing you need, had good nights sleep though traffic noise outside can be a bit loud, still it can't be helped. Breakfast was excellant and a varied choice. Would go again if we ever revisited the Boarders.

  • Liked — The comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie007cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
203
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

We had a great stay at this bed and breakfast. Clean rooms, -nicely furnished, personally cooked breakfast. Lovely garden,in which to sit and have a glass of wine!
A couple of nice local eating spots-cobbles and especially Oscars---very good food, lacking in ambiance.
Knowledgeable -friendly owner.

  • Liked — locality-clean-nice rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank julieei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

Being a contractor in the telecommunications sector, i travel and stay away from home on a regular basis.I came across The old Priory by chance,and glad i did!! The accomodation is superb and the rooms tastefuly furnished. The owner Robin must have spent a small fortune on the beds, yes they are that comfortable and spotlessly clean.Then in the morning you get even more surprises when he cooks your breakfast, probably the best i have ever had. The best thing about this place though is that you get a lot more than the big chain hotels at a fraction of the cost. If you are around Kelso in the Sottish borders, check out this place.

  • Liked — standard or accomodation
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank garcur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

We've just returned home from another wonderful 3 day break in the Scottish Borders. Once again we were fortunate enough to get booked into the Old Priory (our second stay this year), and we were made feel VERY much at home. Yet again the owners went out of their way to make sure our stay was a good one, offering way above the average service you would expect from a B&B. On top of which we were surrounded by beautiful antique furniture, had access to off street parking and enjoyed breakfasts that set us up for the day!

  • Liked — lovely room and free internet access
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PatonAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2008

I stayed here on a snowy January evening having booked ahead.
Arrived later than expected due to the weather and was directed to two restaurants for a late dinner. Chose the nearest and was not dissapointed ( local Knowledge counts for a lot). Room was very comfortable, immpecably clean and with sumptious furnishings. Breakfast was extensive and beautifully presented. Conversation with Robin and other guests was easy and relaxed. overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Freindly welcome and very comfortable bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank winchgrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2007

I stayed at The Old Priory for 4 nights on a business trip in October after a bit of internet searching having never been to Kelso. Since then, due to further business, I have visitied Kelso another 6 times (15 nights) and on each occasion I have returned to the Old Priory. Being used to travelling as part of my job I am fairly critical of accommodation, but the reason I keep coming back to The Old Priory is simple...it's excellent.
The best bits for me are the comfy beds and quality linen / towels etc, rooms have all the necessary items (selection of tea/coffee, TV with SKY, etc), nice big living room for guest use with free WIFI (well appreciated!!), the breakfasts are really good with a regular selection of cereals, bread, fresh fruit, etc, and Robin (the owner) is happy to cook up pretty much any hot breakfast you want.
I really can't think of any downsides. If you want an on-site bar and evening restaurant then a hotel would suit better but if you want a great B&B in Kelso I strongly recommend you give the Old Priory a try.

  • Liked — Comfy beds and fantastic breakfast
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Just71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2007

Having stayed in some pretty dreadful places over the last year my faith in Scottish hospitality was at a real low point...until I discovered The Old Priory. What a wonderful place. We stayed there for just one night and despite our time being short this place has certainly made its mark. The property is beautiful and the room was comfortable and charming but what makes this place truely delightful is how welcoming, helpful and friendly the owners were to us. They deserve every success...and the breakfast is delicious. Great value for money. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sausage9575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#3 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing