We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Castle Hotel(Coldstream)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
397
26
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
26
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily suitesmoked salmon and scrambled eggsrobin suelibrary roomwarm welcomeexcellent breakfastsense of humourlocal areafirst classbiscuitsantique furniturehome from homecomfortable bedsa lovely place to stayreturn visitlovely housefirst rate
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just returned from a trip to the Borders - it was brilliant and made all the better for our stay in The Old Priory. Our hosts Robin and Sue were really helpful and accommodating. There were only two of us but we stayed in the Family suite as all the other rooms were taken. Lovely room overlooking the garden. The bed was amazing - so comfortable and the silk duvet was perfect. The shower room was small but adequate. The situation was brilliant; right in the middle of Kelso. Breakfast was brilliant too - a good range of fresh fruit and yogurt with different juices each day, a variety of breads and a brilliant cooked breakfast menu. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were wonderful. Loved the porridge and Robin told me exactly how to make it the scottish way! On the second day he took me in the kitchen to show me how to make perfect poached eggs!!! To be recommended if you want somewhere to stay in Kelso.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review.

I will be testing you on your porridge and poached eggs if you come again!

It is so nice to have guests who appreciate what we do and understand what B&B is and is'nt.

If you are absolutely infatuated with the silk duvet then look up DAPW, the duvet and pillow warehouse online, they have lovely things.

Thanks again

Robin and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Really wanted to love this place....photos are so lovely and reviews are very good. In reality our room looked "tired". Carpet could use replacing, and upholstered furniture seemed well used. Our front room had quite a bit of street noise. Peeking into the family suite gave a completely different impression...it appeared fresh and peaceful. Would definetly ask for this room if planning to stay at The Old Priory.
Excellent breakfast, lovely dining room and Robin was quite helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Sorry that you felt that your room was below standard, of course you could have had the Family room had we known. Incidentally the Family Room was decorated 9 years ago and the room that you had was decorated 3 years ago.

The Family Room and all our rooms have antique furniture which could be described as used or old fashioned we can't please everyone all of the time. Our home is dated 1796 and we hope that our furnishings reflect the age of the house.....IKEA would not really do, would it?

We have lovely fluffy towels, a great hot water supply,lined and interlined curtains, silk duvets, cotton percale sheets and duvet covers, complimentary trays in the rooms, toiletries and a turn down service. Most of which you would not expect in a private home, hotel yes but a home no.

Our breakfast is a choice of 7 dishes which is unusual for a B&B in this country. Unlike most B&B's we have two sitting areas one which is 35ft x 25ft a bonus by anyone's standard.

We advertise as Town Centre accommodation, it would be unusual for a cobbled town to be silent, we always say that if you want the benefit of being near restaurants then there has to be some give, if you want cows then the country B&B's are always there just a taxi ride and fare away. Given that you thought us poor value I'm sure that you would not have wanted to pay any more.

Perhaps it is just that we speak the same language but our values are different. I will certainly think about your views but considering the views of domestic and continental reviews perhaps the best way is to target a different audience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed two nights at the Old Priory at the end of June 2013. Very friendly and helpful welcome on the Friday evening when we arrived. Comfortable ensuite double room on first floor with large well equipped guest sitting-room adjacent. We were particularly pleased with the hotel standard bed and beautiful bed linen. The room itself had all the extra bits and pieces one could wish for at a good B&B. Breakfasts excellent and my wife was pleased when our host Robin produced cheese and ham in addition to all the other possibilities on the menu.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be different but of a high standard. There is a family suite if required. We had a room overlooking the street on the 1st floor but did not notice any noise at all. We did notice is the morning that when the bed was turned down the shutters had been closed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Lonan

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We really enjoyed your company and hope that you and your wife will find yourselves back soon, I have crackers!

Best

Robin and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have got to say, I was not expecting this from a B&B. We were staying in the family room. Huge rooms with lovely view of garden. Greeted upon arrival in back garden by Robin. Shown to our room and around other parts of property. Told just to write our names in book the night before breakfast and when we would like it. There was so much choice for breakfast and all lovely. Robin was very friendly and chatty. Forgot to get some cuttings from his garden as he is more than happy to do so.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Old Priory to anybody looking at staying in our near Kelso.
Definitely a five star B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Bruce

Thank you for your response

Sorry that you forgot your cuttings but when you have a weekend come back and I will let Jill loose on the garden. If you want some poppy seeds let me know and I will post them to you.

Hope that the show was up to your expectations

Best wishes

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here with our son in the family suite (calling it a room does not do it justice). Beautifully and tastefully furnished, very high ceilings, lovely airy rooms and sink-into beds. Great guest lounge with large choice of books and DVDs although we didn't get the chance to take advantage of it as we only stayed one night which was a shame as this really is a B&B to spend a few days just being. Light bulbs in lounge seem to work fine! Lovely breakfast and great host.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campalumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your comments, so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Come and see us again, we still have light bulbs!

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews