We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting better . . . .”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I was expecting better . . . .”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed there whilst cycling the Coast & Castles route with my girlfriend & six friends. The room was clean, large, with a very big bed, TV that didn't work too well, good tea & coffee facilities and tiny en-suite bathroom. We had shutters on our bedroom window that were suposed to muffle the sound & vibration of cars driving along the lovely cobbled street outside, but they didn't work too well. Wifi didn't seem to work very
Our host Robin seemed to have a 'unique' sense of humour, probably perfected over the years to delight his American guests, but it didn't go down too well with our party from Yorkshire. Especially his "no toys at the breakfast table" comment as I walked into the breakfast room the next morning, eager to show my friends the photos I'd taken the day before. He later annoyed my (usually very tolerant) girlfriend with a sacsastic comment when she asked if she could fill her water bottle from the kitchen tap.
Anyway, breakfast was excellent and the quince marmalade is not to be missed.
I would recommend this B+B if you're prepared to ignore Robin's unique Scottish humour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Steve

Sorry that you had a lack of humour but your friends did say that you were a total grump and told me to ignore you in the morning and you have proved it. We do ask for Ipads and Iphones to be used elsewhere to allow you and others to enjoy breakfast in peace and not to interfere with other guests. Nothing is more annoying than listening to someone else's mobile blah blah.

Breakfast.... of course you had a good breakfast.

As for the comment to your girlfriend, I was not sarcastic I just said that the water in the rooms was mains water and that we had lovely water in Scotland to which your friends agreed and then filled her bottle.

Maybe one night cyclists are not our cup of tea.

When you left we had a rather jovial chat and you were jolly about the fact that your friends would not follow your cvommands to go to the Lighthouse for a photocall. Pity you hadn't raised your problems then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
218
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at the Old Priory with our 9 month old daughter and found the family suite perfectly met our needs. Robin was really helpful and provided a high chair for our daughter and offered a travel cot. We even managed to have a game of trivial pursuit and a few glasses as wine in the sitting room one night which was very welcome!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

3rd time in Kelso, 3rd time at the Old Priory B&B, says it all really, why go anywhere else when you've found the perfect place to stay.
We stayed on the ground floor in the Turret room, a lovely comfortable large room with a choice of bath/shower. Although on the main street I did not find it noisy and had no trouble sleeping but I think this was mainly down to the extremely comfortable bed.
Ladies, don't forget to check out the lovely jewellery for sale in the glass cabinet in the hall, it is unique.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillybuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandyrnog, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Too good to be true? No, definitely not. Robin makes the place a gem. Rooms great, host great, breakfast great. This B&B sets such a high standard that virtually everything else is going to suffer in comparison. This is our second visit and it was as good as I remember it before. One small example of the service, was that after eating out, Robin made us some fresh coffee to drink in the lounge. He didn't have to, but he did. We had the two front rooms on the ground floor, but I peeped into the two upper rooms and they looked pretty good too.

Room Tip: Any would do
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevandden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
This where reviews get complicated

I have not long ago had a review of the same room ( I was really excited about this B&B) that you stayed in which stated that the carpet should be replaced and that the furniture was used looking. The service that we provided was considered not top notch. Service in a Family home! Get real, we are talking hospitality not Travel Lodge.

Thank you for putting your point of view forward, we are a home not a hotel and some people do not recognise the difference. If you act in the accepted way in a B&B you will get as much or more than you expect, just human nature. Coffee in the Sitting Room is not out of the ordinary, to get these things you just need to let us know, communication is all.

Trevor, we enjoyed having you and would welcome you back, with your new friends or your old.

Best wishes

Robin and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North west
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just returned from a trip to the Borders - it was brilliant and made all the better for our stay in The Old Priory. Our hosts Robin and Sue were really helpful and accommodating. There were only two of us but we stayed in the Family suite as all the other rooms were taken. Lovely room overlooking the garden. The bed was amazing - so comfortable and the silk duvet was perfect. The shower room was small but adequate. The situation was brilliant; right in the middle of Kelso. Breakfast was brilliant too - a good range of fresh fruit and yogurt with different juices each day, a variety of breads and a brilliant cooked breakfast menu. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were wonderful. Loved the porridge and Robin told me exactly how to make it the scottish way! On the second day he took me in the kitchen to show me how to make perfect poached eggs!!! To be recommended if you want somewhere to stay in Kelso.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

I will be testing you on your porridge and poached eggs if you come again!

It is so nice to have guests who appreciate what we do and understand what B&B is and is'nt.

If you are absolutely infatuated with the silk duvet then look up DAPW, the duvet and pillow warehouse online, they have lovely things.

Thanks again

Robin and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Really wanted to love this place....photos are so lovely and reviews are very good. In reality our room looked "tired". Carpet could use replacing, and upholstered furniture seemed well used. Our front room had quite a bit of street noise. Peeking into the family suite gave a completely different impression...it appeared fresh and peaceful. Would definetly ask for this room if planning to stay at The Old Priory.
Excellent breakfast, lovely dining room and Robin was quite helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Sorry that you felt that your room was below standard, of course you could have had the Family room had we known. Incidentally the Family Room was decorated 9 years ago and the room that you had was decorated 3 years ago.

The Family Room and all our rooms have antique furniture which could be described as used or old fashioned we can't please everyone all of the time. Our home is dated 1796 and we hope that our furnishings reflect the age of the house.....IKEA would not really do, would it?

We have lovely fluffy towels, a great hot water supply,lined and interlined curtains, silk duvets, cotton percale sheets and duvet covers, complimentary trays in the rooms, toiletries and a turn down service. Most of which you would not expect in a private home, hotel yes but a home no.

Our breakfast is a choice of 7 dishes which is unusual for a B&B in this country. Unlike most B&B's we have two sitting areas one which is 35ft x 25ft a bonus by anyone's standard.

We advertise as Town Centre accommodation, it would be unusual for a cobbled town to be silent, we always say that if you want the benefit of being near restaurants then there has to be some give, if you want cows then the country B&B's are always there just a taxi ride and fare away. Given that you thought us poor value I'm sure that you would not have wanted to pay any more.

Perhaps it is just that we speak the same language but our values are different. I will certainly think about your views but considering the views of domestic and continental reviews perhaps the best way is to target a different audience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed two nights at the Old Priory at the end of June 2013. Very friendly and helpful welcome on the Friday evening when we arrived. Comfortable ensuite double room on first floor with large well equipped guest sitting-room adjacent. We were particularly pleased with the hotel standard bed and beautiful bed linen. The room itself had all the extra bits and pieces one could wish for at a good B&B. Breakfasts excellent and my wife was pleased when our host Robin produced cheese and ham in addition to all the other possibilities on the menu.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be different but of a high standard. There is a family suite if required...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Lonan

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We really enjoyed your company and hope that you and your wife will find yourselves back soon, I have crackers!

Best

Robin and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
323 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Kelso
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing