We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb agree with all reviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 19 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb agree with all reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

First holiday in Scotland, which we had thoroughly enjoyed and were heading home, sadly, I was looking for a nice place for our final night, what a find. Robin was a great host, his welcome and hospitality were truly genuine. The breakfast offered was outstanding for an establishment of this size, still cannot believe it. We had had great holiday up to this point but the experience of Old Priory just made it one of the best holidays we had ever had.


When we next visit Scotland guess where we are going to stay, might extend for two nights next time.

Thanks Robin

Brian and Gillian Norfolk

  • Liked — The public areas generally
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dumpling1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
203
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2008

Theres nothing I can say that hasn't already been said, if you want to save yourself reading the rest of this review know one thing; if you are visiting Kelso this is the place to stay.

When we arrived Robin the owner came down to greet us and offered to carry our bags up to our room, we were staying in the family suite which is two very large rooms separated by a doorway for privacy. The rooms were beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean with all the amenities you could wish for, there was a tv and dvd player and Robin was more than happy to point you in the direction of some of his books and dvd's if you wanted a relax. The room also had a kettle and a very good selection of teas, coffee's hot chocolate and biscuits and even bottled water.

We called in advance and asked for places to eat and again Robin came up trumps advising us on the best places for atmosphere and food (primarily Cobbles and Oscars, both fantastic places to eat). While out for out evening meal our room was turned down with the shutters closed and the beds turned back which was a wonderful touch and made you feel very at home.

On the morning when we went for breakfast there was a large selection of fruit, cereals and yoghurt and a full English cooked by Robin himself to order whilst having a good chat with us and the other guests which was lovely.

I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Kelso as this is a little gem and is perfect for everyone.

  • Liked — Clean, Friendly owner, great location
  • Disliked — Nothing it was perfect
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2008

We spent 4 nights in this delightful B&B. Every need was met, and in a lovely way. After 2 weeks of travel, we really appreciated the lovely room, comfortable mattresses and amazing linens, as well as the cleanliness.

The breakfasts -- my favorite was salmon and scrambled eggs, which I still miss, a week later -- were outstanding -- always fresh fruit, lovely breads, cereals, and superb choices of cooked entrees. Robin was very accomodating in meeting our schedule needs, as well.

The lounge was quite comfortable, and we spent a happy hour every night writing postcards, and chatting with Robin, when he had time.

He suggested Oscars and Cobbles for the earliest dinners (we liked early dining) and we had excellent experiences at both restaurants.

Kelso is centrally located for the Borders area, and we loved all the sights -- Abbotsford, Melrose Abbey, Floors Castle, Wallace Monument, Scotts View, Battle of Flodden site, Smailholm Tower (really worth walking up to), Hawick, Drybourgh Abbey -- and lots me we didn't have time for, or, in some cases, we just missed the season openings. There is much to come back for.

I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Liked — All of it
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ancestralpathfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2008

Staying at the Old Priory B & B in Kelso is the equivalent to being treated like royalty. We had a very comfortable room and loved the sitting room, the garden...everything. Robin is an excellent host, knows how to treat his guests so they feel special and served the absolute best breakfast. This was my first trip to Scotland, and I am so glad we chose the Old Priory. I would highly recommend staying here and will again if I’m back in the Borders. USA.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JSD_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

Lovely B&B right in the centre of Kelso,easy to find and off street parking, owners very friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean and comfortable with every thing you need, had good nights sleep though traffic noise outside can be a bit loud, still it can't be helped. Breakfast was excellant and a varied choice. Would go again if we ever revisited the Boarders.

  • Liked — The comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie007cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

We had a great stay at this bed and breakfast. Clean rooms, -nicely furnished, personally cooked breakfast. Lovely garden,in which to sit and have a glass of wine!
A couple of nice local eating spots-cobbles and especially Oscars---very good food, lacking in ambiance.
Knowledgeable -friendly owner.

  • Liked — locality-clean-nice rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank julieei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

Being a contractor in the telecommunications sector, i travel and stay away from home on a regular basis.I came across The old Priory by chance,and glad i did!! The accomodation is superb and the rooms tastefuly furnished. The owner Robin must have spent a small fortune on the beds, yes they are that comfortable and spotlessly clean.Then in the morning you get even more surprises when he cooks your breakfast, probably the best i have ever had. The best thing about this place though is that you get a lot more than the big chain hotels at a fraction of the cost. If you are around Kelso in the Sottish borders, check out this place.

  • Liked — standard or accomodation
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank garcur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#3 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing