We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland. U.K
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here whilst cycling the Coasts & Castles route. We couldn't fault anything about it - from the welcome (after a hard day) to the room which was fantastic to the breakfast which was brilliant! We would recommend this Guest House to anyone. P.s Robin... don't ban the cyclists!
Robin suggested a range of options for eating out in the evening and we chose the Cobbles Inn which has an excellent choice of Real Ales & good food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelpink50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
210
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed at The Old Priory for 5 nights this August 2013, my grandson and I had the family room
very welcoming, very clean, Robin the owner made our stay very enjoyable with some of his local stories also his knowledge was vey helpful, very easy man to get on with nothing to much trouble. The food was excellent, the location of the B&B was very quite no road noise. Will certainly stay there again if in the area.
Would certainly recomend to friends & family.
Richard Gates

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just arrived back from a five night stay at the Old Priory. We were part of the Honda Goldwing meet up, where several hundred motorbikes stayed in Kelso. The family suite was excellent - clean and comfortable with a great breakfast. The positioning of the house is perfect - in town, yet not quite in the main square. I didn't find road noise to be an issue; the town is quiet enough such that cars are few and far between.

Despite being "bikers" (although clean, quiet bikers!) Robin and his family were very welcoming and interested in talking to us over breakfast and in the evening; his stories and local knowledge are quite impressive (ask about the snow!).

I have no hesitation in recommending The Old Priory.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buggington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Booked late for a weekend in the Borders to do Tough Mudder. We fortunately managed to get a room at The Old Priory. Host Robin was an absolute gentleman telling us the best places to eat and what we could do in the area during our stay. Would recommend The Old Priory to anyone looking for a brilliant nights sleep in a beautiful house with top notch service at a decent price. Thanks again to our hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterHoyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Old priory with a party of cyclists and found the host helpful and very accommodating. The room was very comfortable and clean. and much to our friends disappointment we had a wonderful en-suite bathroom. The breakfast was a delight, especially the kippers. I would definitely recommend the Old priory to anyone. We both found Robins unique sense of humour refreshing and very infiting with his wonderful guest house. we would definitely return.
Graham and Jackie

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

my husband and myself have always wanted to stay in kelso , and by chance we stumbled on to the old priory, we had not booked but were lucky enough to secure 2 nights due to a cancellation "wow" is all we could say, robin made us feel like family and although there were tea and coffee making facilities in the wonderful sitting room he very kindly bought us a lovely pot of tea and biscuits. I have never been made to feel so welcome anywhere else,and his home is beautiful our room was spotlessly clean and the huge windows overlooked the lovely garden
Breakfast was incredible so much choice and excellently cooked by robin himself, before we went out for the day we spent some time in the guest conservatory relaxing with a coffee and some magazines. I really needed some pampering and i certainly got it at the old priory, we have booked a whole week for next year.

Room Tip: family room overlooks garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxyshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our first visit to the Old Priory and this will not be our last. Comfortable clean room with ensuite. A very comfortable bed. Fantastic breakfast served by our host Robin. Robin is a weatlth of information of places to visit and anecdotes on local history. Whilst some complain abour road noise we did not find it a problem even though we stayed on the groung floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 710Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.0 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#4 of 16 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing