We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish hospitality at its best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ilminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Scottish hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

If you are coming to the Scottish Borders this is the place to stay. The host is very welcoming , the rooms are immaculate as well as being very tastefully decorated . The comprehensive breakfast whether cooked or otherwise would put many hotels to shame . I stay in Kelso every year for on average around 10 nights;I could not recommend any where else more thoroughly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Malcolm

You are a gentleman and a gem

Come back anytime

Robin and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
216
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

A group of us had driven our 1920's and 1930's cars 170miles from Settle, so to enjoy a cup of tea in the garden on arrival was most welcome. Robin booked a restaurant for us so we could relax a little longer before dinner.
Our friends had raved about Robin and The Old Priory from a previous visit and they had not exaggerated - the service is as good as any hotel, at any price, the rooms are generous and immaculate and the food is sublime. Robin and Sue encouraged us to enjoy sharing their home and location, despite the fact that we're from Yorkshire!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeeS245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Despite being from Yorkshire (for the uninitiated this is because we had just had a review from a cyclist who couldn't get out of the pub to get his key and sent his girlfried to get it and completely missed the point about us not being a Travel Lodge. So sarcastic just like the lady on Holy Island (trending?))! we did let you in and it looks as though we did something right. Thank you for your lovely comments, you understood the role of B&B.

Thank you for your wonderful review, your are welcome back anytime, we are open at other times during the year, not just at the Pennine Run!

Best wishes to you all for Christmas

Robin and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at this accommodation for 4 nights in early September and found it to be very comfortable with high quality beds, bedding and pillows which meant we were able to sleep well. The owner came in each evening and closed the wooden window covers and turned on the lights so that when we returned from being out for dinner the room was very welcoming.

The breakfasts were made especially to our dietary requirements without any problems - which is more than we can say about other establishments including hotels we have stayed in. The food was lovely and fresh. The owner was also very helpful in recommending restaurants that he thought would suit our requirements.

The weather was very pleasant during our stay and we enjoyed using the 2 customer sitting areas available to look out into the garden while we were staying.

It was helpful to have somewhere to park our car while staying at The Old Priory.

We hope to stay here again if returning to the UK on vacation again and will recommend it to our family and freinds.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked very comfortable - ask the owner to show you which rooms are available during y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

It was lovely to meet you both, you are very kind about the weather but perhaps it is a relief from your normal temperatures.

We did enjoy meeting you both and hope that we will have the chance again.

We now have a Facebook page so you can keep in touch through that as well

Best wishes

Robin and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a mountain biking trip. Brilliant old house. Fantastic host. Rooms lovely and clean. Breakfast was excellent. My wife and I had smoked haddock and poached egg, easily restaurant quality. So impressed that we will be back with kids. Definitely bike friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Not sure what to think of someone called Sharkbait but we did appreciate your review.

Today is our anniversary of opening 7 years ago and I am trying to catch up with replies to our reviews.

So glad that you enjoyed our home, come back to see us again

Best wishes

Robin and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Old Priory 8th to 11th September. All I can say is what a fantastic time we had.The rooms are all decorated and furnished to a high standard and the William Morris textiles and wallpaper just put the finishing touches to the charm of the house.
Robins hospitality is second to none and even though it was our first stay with them it felt as though we were staying with family friends, nothing was to much touble, my wife stayed in one day when I went fishing and he kept her supplied with coffee in the lounge and gave her plants from the garden. Madge also managed to see a necklace that she just had to buy from the large selection of jewellery on show.
I would recommend the Pld Priory to anyone, we would have stayed longer but Kelso was taken over by farmers from all over Britain for the enormous Kelso Ram sales

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Madge and Ian

We know that you like us because you have been back twice since this review was published!

Thank you, you know what you like, you are not pseudo frustrated reviewers looking for faults. We are as we say traditional B&B, i.e a family home offering accomodation, not a hotel, not boutique (heaven forbid) just tasteful, warm and homely,

We enjoyed looking at the stars with you and the chats about the garden, thank you for the plants by the way, you are perfect guests though it would help if Ian could catch a damned fish!

Sue and Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland. U.K
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here whilst cycling the Coasts & Castles route. We couldn't fault anything about it - from the welcome (after a hard day) to the room which was fantastic to the breakfast which was brilliant! We would recommend this Guest House to anyone. P.s Robin... don't ban the cyclists!
Robin suggested a range of options for eating out in the evening and we chose the Cobbles Inn which has an excellent choice of Real Ales & good food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelpink50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed at The Old Priory for 5 nights this August 2013, my grandson and I had the family room
very welcoming, very clean, Robin the owner made our stay very enjoyable with some of his local stories also his knowledge was vey helpful, very easy man to get on with nothing to much trouble. The food was excellent, the location of the B&B was very quite no road noise. Will certainly stay there again if in the area.
Would certainly recomend to friends & family.
Richard Gates

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
321 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#4 of 16 in Kelso
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing