We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and found the location, facilities and hospitality fantastic. The rooms are perfectly appointed, with beautiful antique furniture, comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities.
Were able to walk to the racecourse, about a mile away, and use the restaurants and pubs, all within walking distance.
Robin was the perfect host and made a fantastic Scottish breakfast. Can't recommend it enough

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Nick

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed our home, it makes it all worthwhile.

Having a break now ready for next year.

Have a good Christmas and a very happy and prosperous New Year.

Best wishes

Robin and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
218
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Only stayed the night for a business meeting. Found it very clean and Robin very friendly and hospitable without being over bearing. Breakfast was superb rooms tastefully decorated and clean. Absolutely first class and would highly recommend the old priory.

Room Tip: Any there all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
GAvin

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we enjoyed your company and would welcome you back anytime

Best wishes and have a good Christmas

Best wishes

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

First let me say that Kelso is a must see (plus the surrounds). And the Old Priory B&B greatly adds to the experience. Robin, our host, knew all the best places to go and had the low-down on the local venues as well as all the farther ranging sites. He was knowledgeable, funny, entertaining and gracious. It was like staying with a friend who was there when you needed without being intrusive. The room was homey and well appointed: the common rooms were welcoming while retaining a feel of the history of the original building - the place is a gem. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Despite being hi-jacked by my wife and your wife being from Ohio (in joke for other readers) it was a pleasure to have you to stay.

You, I'm sure regretted saying that you could play guitar but you did get your Andy Warhol moment at Cobbles, not sure what time Sue got in!

Thank you so much for being so easy to look after, it has been a long season this year.

Come back sometime if you can

Still love the cockerel....hope that you can get a time in the Borders.

Best wishes

Sue and Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and were greeted with a warm welcome. Our room was very comfortable, well appointed and we could not have asked for more. Robin cooked us a superb breakfast after cereal, toast and coffee. We were also helped with, where to eat and where to go, that was on top top of all the information that was emailed to us when we booked. This is a fabulous place to stay, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Kathy

Thank you for your lovely review (still blushing).

Glad that you had a good time, we enjoyed your company too.

Great photo on TA

Have a great Christmas even though snow is unlikely!

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Had 2 nights in Kelso before travelling further north. Met by Robin who made us feel very welcome into his beautiful home.Stayed in the family room full of interesting furniture but roomy and comfortable for 4 adults. Gorgeous big lounge next to our room very homely. Lots of choice for breakfast, nothing too much trouble. Robin very knowledgeable about local area and places of interest.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmand2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review it helps us greatly.

We are just about to shut down for a while to re charge and get ready for the great Australian enslaught that has already started, we have about twenty booking s for next year already just from Australia (don't you go to work?)

We love having people in our home who appreciate the age and the style that of it was lovely to meet you all and we hope that you have a great Christmas and a Happy and prosperous New Year.

Best wishes

Robin and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from our 4th stay at the Old Priory. As usual we were given a warm welcome, Robin is an excellent host who is a font of knowledge about things to do in the area. Our room was very comfortable and we had a good choice for breakfast which was cooked perfectly. Thank you Robin, we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Julie(and Henry)

Thank you.

You have benn coming to us for what seems like forever and your courtesy and good humour is always to the forefront.

5* guests and if I could score you more I would

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

After a very busy day I drove down to Kelso needing a little space for some R&R before the next busy day. Having “found” the Old Priory on the internet and having decided their bedrooms would provide the haven I was looking for, I was not disappointed. Indeed the room was beyond my expectation. The room was well appointed, including tea and coffee (and hot chocolate) making facilities, bottled water and a TV which incorporated a DVD player and an iPod/iPhone dock.

While I did not use the upstairs lounge, it look well stocked with games, DVDs and books. As my appointment was not until some time after checking out time, I was not only given use of the public rooms (I sat in the downstairs garden room), I also had a pot of tea made for me.

The breakfast menu was extensive: I opted for the (local) smoked salmon with scrambled egg and it was lovely. Gluten free bread can be provided and there is a wonderful range of preserves, including Robin’s home made apple jelly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GadgetGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for tis fabulous review.

With your calling we would not have expected anything else!

Haven is the word and we know that this house has a magic or feeling that can usually make the most worn out, grumpiest guest fell better if they allow it. Some do , some don't.

Thank you agin

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
323 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Kelso
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing