We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very hospitable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 19 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley
Level Contributor
189 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very hospitable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had an excellent two nights in the old priory. Robin is an excellent and knowledgeable host. The rooms are well appointed and clean. The furniture is idiosyncratic but it works. The breakfasts are super with good choice and great quality. Could not fault it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Idiosyncratic!!!! When you left you said unique

You had to be a teacher to come up with that one.

Idiosyncratic are those shoes! .

Come again you were great guests, glad that you had a good time at the races and thank you Christine for going on a course.

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
203
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed as part of a working holiday and were blown away with the warmth of Robin, his wife and family who made us feel so welcome and relaxed for over 2 days. The rooms were immaculate and gorgeous, breakfast was amazing. (Robin, we have had to source truckloads of Mango and Passion Fruit Curd since we have got back to Edinburgh!). The attention to every detail and helpfulness was second to none and we cannot wait to come back!
Claire/Konrad at Carr-Gomm Scotland

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Claire

You are a card.

It was great to have you all and I am so glad it worked as well as it did.

You were so appreciative and easy to host

Thanks

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a great place! Very central, lovely warm room, fantastic breakfast (scrambled eggs are particularly good!) and a superb host. Thanks for all the travelling tips, Robin, and we'll definitely book with you again next time we're in Kelso.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear David

What can I say...flattered.

Come again you are very welcome

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Augustus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed one night whilst travelling North to Fort Augustus and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Robin was very helpful and cooked a fantastic full breakfast. The décor in this B&B is really amazing and the bed one of the most comfortable we have stayed in. If we are ever in the area again staying here will be a must!.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkAFortAugustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Mark

Thank you for your great review, that bed is fab I know and good of you to mention it.

Lovely to meet you both and do come again you are most welcome

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent b&b , very comfortable , central , splendid breakfast cooked to order with the best scrambled eggs I have had away from home ,lots of hot water and very clean . I could not fault it . Well done Robin !!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nigel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Nigel

Thank you for your review and glad that you liked my eggs!

Look forward to seeing you next year, I have you in the diary.

I heard that you were a hit with Karen.

No secrets in Kelso!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I normally use Trip Advisor to obtain advice and needing to be in Kelso for one night naturally chose the best. Partly because of its central location as was unfamiliar with the town . I was very impressed by the house and its entire 'feel' with lovely furniture and comfortable bed which perhaps is the most important factor. Liked the closing of the inner shutters and curtains at night and the quality of the towels and sheets ! Breakfast was super with good choices. The town itself has some interest and Robin directed me to a square meal at the http://www.thewaggoninn.com/ for good food. There may be one or two other venues to eat but this looked good value and good selection . Hope to return one day !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.

You did send a tremor through me when you told me how many reviews you did but no worries you got what we do.

Glad that you enjoyed the town and our home.

Come back soon

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed 2 nights at The Old Priory. Robin was a wonderful host - even provided ice bucket for champagne for my husbands birthday. Sitting room has a wonderful ambiance and very interesting curios. Was our 4th visit to Kelso; 1st visit to The Old Priory but cant wait to return. The breakfast selection is better than many hotels provide & room was extremely comfortable. Thanks Robin, Sue, girls and not forgetting Athena & Pip. Xx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank threeshillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Marie

Thank you so much it was lovely to meet you both and we are so glad that you had a good time both with us and at the races.

Hope that your birthday is as good!

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#3 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing