We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Scottish Borders hospitality!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“True Scottish Borders hospitality!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in Kelso at the Old Priory in order to explore the Scottish Borders. We could not have picked a better B&B. Robin is VERY knowledgable of the area, with both the historical and quirky bits; areal pleasure to have a conversation with him. The home is beautifully maintained with a nice melding of the original and newer parts (a lovely conservatory). The bed and pillows were great. A very nice touch to have the bed turned down and the shutters closed in the evening. I think this speaks to the passion Robin holds towards ensuring his house guest are treated well and made to feel special. You could spend hours looking at all the antiques and aspects of the house.
The breakfast was GREAT. Orders are placed at night and then freshly cooked for you. We tried the smoked haddock, salmon and scrambled eggs, the sausages .....all cooked to perfection and really tasty. Lots of other choices too that we saw being gobbled up with the same enthusiasm:)
The Old Priory is a special place and we are glad we chose it and would recommend to others without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the king room on the front of the house. Peaked in other rooms when possible and all se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawachanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
218
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight in this delightful place on 15 May. Great care has gone into creating an environment that is simultaneously classy and warm through choice of furniture and soft furnishings. Our ground floor room was large, clean and comfortable with shutters to shut out street noise and early morning light. We had a small dressing alcove between the bedroom and the large bathroom (which also had a bath and fluffy white towels. Guests have access to a large comfortable lounge room complete with a library of DVDs and books and a marvellous chess set, which is on the first floor; a comfortable conservatory on the ground floor; and a lovely garden during the day. There is secure off-street parking and free wifi access.
Breakfast offered a selection of quality cereals and fruit in addition to a menu of cooked dishes. Unfortunately, neither of us were hungry enough to avail ourselves of a cooked meal but we did enjoy our muesli and fruit in the country style dining room.
Robin and Susan and their daughters are consummate hosts, very friendly. They aim to treat guests as guests of the family and this is how we felt. In addition they have 3 rescue greyhounds which says something about their soft hearts and certainly won ours!
Restaurants are within walking distance and Kelso is a great base for touring the Border counties and Northumberland. We hope to return for a longer stay in about three years' time. Thank you Robin and Susan for providing such a lovely home from home and for keeping your tariff within the reach of most travellers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberts Creek, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our first trip to the UK and our first b+b could not have been a better experience. We arrived unexpectedly early but our gracious host made us immediately welcome and comfortable. We had the family suite which was spacious and elegant with a very comfortable bed and an extra room with twin beds. Lots of supplies for a hot drink and huge windows to sit by and enjoy the garden view. The bathroom was a bit small but clean and adequate for our needs. We enjoyed the "oldness" of the building along with the comfort and tastefulness of the decor. Breakfasts were delicious and generous with lots of variety on the menu. We really appreciated the abundance of information about the area and the restaurants and our host was most helpful. Kelso is a beautiful place to walk around in and the Old Priory is perfectly located close to the river walk as well as the restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The location was excellent - town centre, but with beautifully stocked courtyard garden and conservatory. A home from home(but better) sitting room with games and books etc. Very comfortable bed, turned down at night, old wooden shutters closed for you. Spotlessly clean but far from clinical. Breakfast cooked freshly, or cold selection, to suit all preferences and a host who attended to all our needs, requests etc with consummate professionalism - nothing too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this B&B over any star hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: Groundfloor room to left of front door had little dressing room between bedroom and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, in the enormous Family Room and enjoyed every minute of our visit. Robin was a very generous and genial host and we had the use of two public lounges in addition to our own room. There is a huge and eclectic selection of books, CDs and DVDs on hand and breakfast is cooked to order. The porridge and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs can both be recommended.

Robin is always on hand with advice on places to visit and places to eat and an interesting story or two.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fifer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at The Old Priory in Kelso while on a bicycle trip through the Scottish Borders. It is a very tranquil place. The shutters darken the room very nicely, good for sleeping late. Wonderful mattress and bed linens. Excellent breakfast! Our en-suite bathroom had a tub which was great for soaking. We do hope to come back some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowy_and_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I will just about forgive you for photographing your breakfast!

Thank you for your review, it was lovely to meet you both and I know that you enjoyed the Borders so do come back and see us if you can.

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed two nights - over a weekend & bank holiday when some places were closed. Host Robin's knowledge of the local area and sights made it a very special time in Scotland. He recommended excellent restaurants and organized transport to some of the local historic sights that aren't featured in most of the tourist information which was very helpful. Access to the garden and sitting room made it more like staying in an elegant older home. The bed was very comfortable, towels large and fluffy and the shower was the best ever. Breakfasts were tasty with lots of choice from fresh fruit and yogurt to a traditional Scottish breakfast and a scrambled egg and smoked salmon dish that was just devine. I would go back in a minute!

Room Tip: Any room will please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genealogytravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review it is one of the best I have had because you spotted the towels, the salmon and of course the bed. That may seem obvious but not always.

You were a pleasure to have to stay and we would welcome you back anytime

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
323 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Kelso
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing