We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, Friendly and Very Comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely, Friendly and Very Comfortable”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

A very pleasant surprise behind the subtle front door. A friendly welcome by owner Robin and beautiful room , full of antique furniture and furnishings. Delicious breakfast, well located for exploring the Scottish Borderlands. A great find and we will return--Graham & Margie

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
216
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Not being a B&B veteran I was a bit worried about the idea of staying in someone's home as I actually usually like the anonymity of a hotel.

From the moment I entered the Old Priory I realised that while it was a family home it was also the 'lovechild' of it's proprietor Robin. His own inimitable taste is everywhere. The beautiful property (the only full domestic dwelling in the cobbled street) has been brought alive with an eclectic collection of furnishings and decor which are just so right for the age and style of the property and have obviously been carefully sourced and lovingly hunted down over a long period of time.

When combined with modern touches such as fabulous large comfortable beds and better bedding than I have in my own home I was delighted. A winning combination.

I could rave on about the breakfasts, the ambiance, lovely garden to sit in, freebie tea and snacks, the great toiletries, soft towels, beds being drawn down and window shutters discreetly closed in the evenings, gorgeous sitting room, garden conservatory and a whole host of other positives but they have been mentioned dozens of times already in the laudatory collection of reviews he has accumulated on TA.

For me what made my stay a delight was simply seeing someone trying to balance the benefits of living in an impressive property by earning their living by using the property to be his ideal B&B and with this, the constant battle to keep the balance between being a welcoming home and not a hotel (as many patrons appear to be mislead into thinking because of the level of service/standards)

How did that translate during my stay? Beautifully. A small conversation about something I like to eat which he doesn't usually include with his breakfast menu was there on my plate the next day - just for me. Noticing I had no ice in a G&T I was drinking in the garden a mini personal ice bucket appeared without a word being said. Listening to him talking about his kids and the fun he had had showing them how to barter for stuff at a sale as part of teaching them 'how to gan on' , the self same kids taking themselves off to bed without a murmur at the right time. No tantrums or shenanigans in front of guests just pleasant chat about going back to school and their pet greyhounds.

Robin has extremely high standards and is proud of his offering. He also has expectations of his guests and ensures that these are clear by having an excellent 'welcome booklet' which he has written up himself, in each room. I got the impression that this is constantly updated based on varying experiences he has had with different nationalities of guests who all have cultural differences in their expectations.

All in all a fascinating and enjoyable experience which I look forward to repeating soon.

Well done to Robin and Family. You deserve it.

Room Tip: I was in the 1st floor front room. While there was obviously traffic noise as this B&B is in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbusDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely old house with fully modern facilities. Very comfortable room. Breakfast was very special, comparable to any top hotel. Lovely fruit salad and excellent smoked haddock, yum, yum!
A warm welcome. Choice of restaurants in the town for dinner. Close to the abbey which we visitedon our way out and found interesting. Couldn't be bettered.

Room Tip: We were at the front with shutters to keep out any traffic noise and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtravellerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We return to The Old Priory every year as a family and have always loved the hospitality and genuine help that Robin gives us.The rooms are always spotless and the beds are comfy,the breakfast is also always delicious and plentiful.We look forward to staying with Robin in such a lovely home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Warm welcome, very comfortable high quality accommodation and a fantastic breakfast ideally located in a gem of the town with wonderful countryside close at hand. The perfect place to explore Kelso and the surrounding Scottish Borders.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coesfeld
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for two nights and had a very pleasant and spotlessly clean room to the front with wonderful antique furniture. The bed was very comfortable. Robin was a wonderful host, breakfast was great with a very tasty fruit salad. We enjoyed the cooked breakfast, especially liked the bacon. As it was the Saturday night of the Border Union Show there was a bit of noise in the street at night, so a room at the rear might be preferable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irmgard87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald Isle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our fourth or fifth time staying with Robin and it is always a pleasure! Very nice rooms, personal touch, yummy breakfast and great atmosphere. Easy to travel to and from. central to the town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evildeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
321 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
928 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#4 of 16 in Kelso
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing