We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review ”
Review of Ednam House Hotel

Ednam House Hotel
Ranked #18 of 37 Restaurants in Kelso
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

We attended a wedding here and booked a room for the night as we were travelling from away. Arrived at 12 ready for the wedding to start at 1. Our room wasn’t ready so they did agree to open an empty room for us (room 9) it was very dated but fine for what we needed.

Our actual room (room 43) was lovely. Nice king size bed, modern 4 piece bathroom, tv etc. Couldn’t complain.

As we had attended the wedding with 2 young children we went up to bed at around 10.30. Unfortunately, this was when we discovered our room was right above the dance floor. The room was literally vibrating. I understand the party has to continue but I think maybe the hotel need to think about where they put families when there are parties going on till midnight.

Breakfast was included, which was ok. Staff were lovely and great with the children.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 465kelsieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillK2240, General Manager at Ednam House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you for your comments.

Rooms are booked from 2pm on the day of arrival. A lot of guests attending weddings often stay the night before so that it doesn't conflict with our check-in times. Check out times on departure is 11am and where we try our best to have rooms serviced as soon as possible. That can't always be practical but we do provide a complimentary changing room for these occasions complimentary.

There are a limited number of rooms that can be used as family rooms and situated in and around the ballroom.

It is reassuring to know that the staff looked after you and the children very well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2018

We had been warned there was wedding party but the hotel was unable to control the weather and the hotel with the heatwave was hot.Even so it was an excellent stay and opening as many windows as possible kept the temperature down though of course it allowed the music to flow.Imention all this so that when I say that it is an excellent place to stay you know that i must believe it.
To be so near to the centre of Kelso is also a bonus,so you also have wide choice of dining.
Sited on the river with decent grounds this hotel as it is further renovated and they are doing it will just get better and better though I would recommend it now.
The staff were all extremely helpful .There is also ample secure parking and once you are booked in with the surrounding facilities you can relax and enjoy

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank nicholas169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillK2240, General Manager at Ednam House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Renovations are a work in progress but it all takes time.
Thank you for you nice comments and hope to see you again at Ednam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

I’ve given this place a 4, purely because of the restaurant. The hotel itself is tired, we stayed in an attic bedroom - chosen as it looked like it would be quiet and the beds were bigger (difficult to sleepy in a standard double when you have a superking at home!); the first room (8) we were given was really dated (I was straight on booking.com to look for an alternative) and was a twin so my husband went down to complain, they immediately moved us to room 8, with a king size bed which was a bit better but these rooms are desperately in need of updating, however the shower was good and powerful and the room was clean. I didn’t see the non attic rooms.
The restaurant- food outstandingl, and service good with a fantastic outlook over the river. I had the soufflé to start which was light, full of flavour - brilliant. The steak was very good too, hence the 4 star review.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank juliemO9413BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillK2240, General Manager at Ednam House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

There are a couple of rooms that are still due to be upgraded in the coming months. But pleased to hear that your stay overall was positive.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

The quality of the food was very good the selection was a little limited but the proportions although a little small were very adequate and extremely tasty.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MikeStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on business. The staff were very helpful and friendly on arrival. Rooms were clean and comfirtable and I would recommend one with a river view, simply stunning. The food was great and plentiful.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank iand7219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillK2240, General Manager at Ednam House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. Hope you return to Ednam again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ednam House Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Ednam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing