We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best”

Stables Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stables Guest House
Ranked #2 of 18 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Gillingham, Kent
2 reviews
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed for 3 nights as a single traveller in September 2013. The accommodation was of an excellent standard. The Breakfasts were very good with plenty of options. I took a large car and I was able to park it with no problems in the car parking area at the front. I was very impressed with the customer care I received.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
31
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were up on a coarse fishing trip for the week and although the fishing was not very good, this was more than made up by the hospitality of Jacqui and the quality of the guest house. Probably the best guest house I've stayed in; very comfortable and with all the facilities. The breakfasts were wonderful and set us up for the day! I have no hesitation in recommending the Stables Guest House. Phil Mandeville.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilMandeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent a very pleasant week staying here. The guest house is modern and well equipped in a nice quite location yet still close to the village. We received a warm welcome and Jacqui was help though out our stay. The food was good and locally sourced when available. I can’t remember staying in a better guest house. If you want to stay in that area, give it a try.
Jeff. Davies

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This guest house is just lovely. The room we stayed in was comfortable, clean, and had little touches like beautiful toiletries in the bathroom, fluffy towels, high quality bedding and a well stocked tea and coffee tray. Nothing was too much trouble for Jacqui and the breakfasts were excellent. We can't wait for an excuse to return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sin1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our stay at The Stables was very comfortable. We were welcomed with a refreshing cup of tea and biscuits. Lovely clean room and comfy bed. Bit small but for 1 night it was adequate. Jacqui was very helpful with suggestions for an evening meal which coincided with a pleasant drive. Breakfast in the morning was yummy!! Plentiful, with good choice of cereals and fresh fruit juices. Nice to be able to park on the drive as well. An excellent choice made from the internet!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Myself and three other geriatric motor bikers booked for five nights in June, but had to delay until July, thankfully this was not a problem for Jacqui and she managed to fit us in. We arrived after a 460 mile ride very hot and tired, and what a nice welcome, Jacqui made all a great cup of tea.

The rooms were nice nd clean, breakfasts were excellent, and you could order 'off piste' if you wanted without it being a problem, also breakfasts were never greasy, always nicely grilled with local fresh produce being used.

In summary, a great place to stay, Jacqui was fantastic, would certainly go back if in the area?

From Mike, Mike, Andy and Dave, from Devon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.3 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
13.3 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.5 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackhorse Hotel
Blackhorse Hotel
#4 of 18 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stables Guest House

Property: Stables Guest House
Address: Corsbie Road, Newton Stewart DG8 6JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stables Guest House is privately owned.Set in its own gardens it is only a few minutes walk to the centre of Newton Stewart which offers a wide range of places to eat, shops cinema and sports centre.Plenty of free off road parking.All rooms offer TV,radio,beverage tray and good quality toiletries, all rooms are either en-suite or have private facilities.Free wifi is available.There is a welcoming guests lounge and breakfast room with conservatory.Breakfast offers a choice of dishes, using local produce where possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stables Guest House Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing