We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stables Guest House

Stables Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stables Guest House
Ranked #1 of 19 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I visited Newton Stewart to get access to Galloway's wild landscapes and this was a great base with Jacqui proving a kind and welcoming host. The breakfasts were delicious. I'd definitely recommend the Stables.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_j_greenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
31
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour around Scotland. Jaqui was very welcoming and a perfect host. Accommodation was very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend. Many Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deltagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warks
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here in may as a group of nine hill walkers. A lovely b&b with a very welcoming owner, jacqui. The stables is in an excellent position just behind the town nowhere near the position marked on google maps!!
Food was excellent and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5p1d3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I spend four nights at Stables and was most impressed with this guest house. Nothing was too much trouble for friendly host Jacqui who was always ready and willing to respond to any request.

The accommodation was spotless, comfortable and welcoming and the food was excellent. I hope to be able to return in the future and have no reservations about recommending Stables to anyone looking for a guest house in this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I had a flat tire on one of the country roads on the way from Ayrshire toward Wales. As the tire had to be completely replaced and it was now 8:30 in the evening, the recovery center was kind enough to book us a room at the Stables Guest House. Jacqui was so welcoming and kind and made us a small evening snack and let us warm ourselves by the fireplace until the chill wore off.

Bed was comfortable and the bath was clean with nice products from London.

Breakfast was amazing...one of the best we had on our trip! We met another couple from Ireland and had a long chat with them until our car was ready to get us back on the road. Thanks, Jacqui, for your hospitality and taking in unplanned guests!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamra316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, Kent
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed for 3 nights as a single traveller in September 2013. The accommodation was of an excellent standard. The Breakfasts were very good with plenty of options. I took a large car and I was able to park it with no problems in the car parking area at the front. I was very impressed with the customer care I received.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were up on a coarse fishing trip for the week and although the fishing was not very good, this was more than made up by the hospitality of Jacqui and the quality of the guest house. Probably the best guest house I've stayed in; very comfortable and with all the facilities. The breakfasts were wonderful and set us up for the day! I have no hesitation in recommending the Stables Guest House. Phil Mandeville.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilMandeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.3 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
13.3 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackhorse Hotel
Blackhorse Hotel
#3 of 19 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.5 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stables Guest House

Property: Stables Guest House
Address: Corsbie Road, Newton Stewart DG8 6JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stables Guest House is privately owned.Set in its own gardens it is only a few minutes walk to the centre of Newton Stewart which offers a wide range of places to eat, shops cinema and sports centre.Plenty of free off road parking.All rooms offer TV,radio,beverage tray and good quality toiletries, all rooms are either en-suite or have private facilities.Free wifi is available.There is a welcoming guests lounge and breakfast room with conservatory.Breakfast offers a choice of dishes, using local produce where possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stables Guest House Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing