We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a delightful situation that...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Nutkin Cottage

Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Lounge with patio doors to the patio and garden Squirrel on feeder in garden looking for nuts
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Lounge with patio doors to the patio and garden
Squirrel on feeder in garden looking for nuts
Bruntis Loch, a short walk from the cottage through the forest alongside Bruntis Burn.
Red squirrel in cottage garden
Separate dining room with door leading to lounge
Spacious double bedroom next to bathroom
Nutkin Cottage garden in Autumn
Magnificent Loch Trool in the Galloway Forest Park
Spacious twin bedroom with en suite shower-room
Nutkin Cottage kitchen with views from 3 windows
Rear hall
Rear side of NUtkin Cottage facing East
Nutkin Cottage garden with topiary in June.
Woodpecker in the cottage garden
Back out to enjoy the nut
Nutkin Cottage Garden
Squirrel lifts lid and helps himself
This is just outside the patio doors at Nutkin Cottage
Red squirrel feeding on the garden patio 3 feet from the patio doors.
Kippford Beach
Red squirrel on Nutkin Cottage patio
Red squirrel on Nutkin grass
Zac taking a leap into Bruntis Loch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bandbh
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a delightful situation that could do with some updating”
Reviewed 8 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We enjoyed our stay in this delightful cottage on the edge of Galloway Forest Park. The owners live next door with Jennie proving a fruit cake on arrival and a freshly baked wholemeal loaf. There is a bird feeder outside the living room window with plentiful small birds and an occasional red squirrel. The visitor centre for the Park within easy walking distance giving access to well marked walking and cycling trails. There is plenty to do in the locality. The cottage itself is reached by ascendin some stairs or a slope. There is no dishwasher or a shower in the main bathroom which ee would have welcomed. With a little sympathetic updating this would have been a really outstanding cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Unfortunately, the electricity supply to the cottage only allows one shower in the property. That is why the bathroom has a bath in it and the shower-room has a shower in it. After going into the cottage on a Saturday after guests had left we often encountered 2 cups and 2 saucers in the dishwasher which was running a full cycle. This is a dreadful waste of energy and we took the decision to remove the dishwasher some years ago. We do not advertise that our cottages have a dishwasher in them therefore, most people do not expect there to be one. We strive very hard to please everyone and are delighted to say that we do achieve that with 99.9% of people and many guests return year after year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 7 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

First discovered Nutkin Cottage in 2004 - our week there in summer 2018 was our 10th such holiday! It's very comfortable and spacious, and is an ideal base for walking & cycling in the adjacent Galloway Forest Park. It's also well placed for visiting the nearby beautiful countryside such as the Machars and the Mull of Galloway.

Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Thank you for returning to Nutkin Cottage so many times. Look forward to seeing you all again in 2019.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill S
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 27 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My daughter & I spent the most wonderful week at Nutkin cottage everything we could have wanted. Peace and quiet but easy to reach shopping facilities. It was 4 star comfort and. Helped us both to unwind and distress. The cake and bread from Jennie were a welcome bonus We hope to return in future

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2018
Thank you for your review. So pleased that you enjoyed the peace and quiet and also the wildlife at Nutkin Cottage. Look forward to seeing you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnalba20
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“tranquil pet-friendly forest cottage”
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

beautiful cottage in a very quiet peaceful spot in the forest, We were made to feel so welcome, including our dog, and we were very well looked after with homebaked bread and cakes. Great spot for wildlife, birds galore, red squirrels, deer and a fox all in the garden and surrounding forest. Can't wait to return there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Thank you very much for your review. Pleased that you would like to return to Nutkin Cottage. If it is booked, we have availability in Drey Cottage which is just as good and private too. Ideal for your dog! Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey71...
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

From a very warm welcome to a fond farewell.Not our 1st visit but 2nd and it won't be our last. (this time it was for 2 weeks)
Cottage warm comfortable and well equipped.
Treats on arrival from jenni De~LI~ious (homemade cake and bread) Also later in stay speciality bread To Die for. We feel the pounds mounting. (extra walks)
Amazing as usual on the doorstep Bird life from Nuthatch to Yellow Hammer and resident Red Squirrels.In the local hide abundance of all inc Roe deer and Hinds.
Lots of Bunnies. Daily acrobatics of the Buzzards .A little further afield the long awaited sighting of Otters (a mum and 2 pups)
And not forgetting Tilly (our 4 legged companion) she was totally Liberated of her Harness and Lead .
We will now be counting down on next years visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2018
Thank you for finding the time to write this very much appreciated. review. So pleased that you saw lots of wildlife around the cottage and the area in the two weeks you were here in this great part of southern Scotland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Feb 2018
Thanks for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Nutkin Cottage. Also thanks for feeding the red squirrels and we look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes,
Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tumoll
Carnforth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Nutkin Cottage is in a peaceful and picturesque setting,the ideal retreat
This has been our second visit and we can't fault this beautiful cottage
You arrive to home made cake and lovely fresh baked bread plus a lovely welcome from Jennie,its like coming home
The cottage is very well equiped,cosy and very comfortable
There are red squirrels and lots of beautiful birds visit the feeders in the garden
A short stroll takes you into the Kirroughtree forest and Visitor centre with lots of walks
I highly recommend this place to all wanting a warm welcome and nothing is to much trouble from Jennie and Vince

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Thank you for your kind words. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay for the second time. Perhaps make trip number 3 in the not too distant future?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing