We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tigh na Cree

Tigh na Cree
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tigh na Cree
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Tigh na Cree
Afternoon Tea in the garden
River bank Garden
BBQ in the garden overlooking the river Cree
Newton Stewart  (only five minutes walk)
River Cree from the river bank in front of Tigh na Cree
Garlieston Bluebells
Rigg Bay Garlieston
Glenwhan Gardens
Penninghame
Isle of Whithorn
River Cree  Minnigaff  (twenty minutes walk)
River Cree Minnigaff  (five minutes walk)
Logan Botanical Gardens  (tea & cakes)
Portpatrick  (a pint or two by the harbour)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jill D
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Excellent location, great base for golfers, Lovely view of river from conservatory, in easy access to village. Would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
I am glad you had a good time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Spacious, clean and well equipped accommodation”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Enjoyed sitting and relaxing in the conservatory/porch overlooking the river.
Excellent facilities around the house, comfortable beds, spacious kitchen and restful lounge.
The central location of Newton Stewart to explore the woods and coastline of the South West of Scotland was the reason for choosing this area, with our particular interest of bird watching.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
I am glad your stay was enjoyable
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA l
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tigh na Cree. The accommodation was excellent, everything you could possible need .......and more? It was very comfortable and clean and the location was great, quiet and with lovely river views. It is perfectly situated to visit the Mull of Galloway, the Galloway Forest Park and the arty Kirkcudbright. There is so much to see and do in the area. We would have very happily stayed another week but unfortunately we had to go home. Altogether a wonderful stay, thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
So glad your stay was enjoyable
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
I am glad you had a good time. Thank you for a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marcrich6...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another great visit. ”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed at Tigh na Cree again this year following the refurb. The place is better than ever. Sitting on the banks of the river cree in the town of Newton Stewart in the Galloway hills. There is a huge garage and plenty of parking. The bungalow has everything you need, like a home from home, cosy and welcoming.
Well equipped kitchen, washing machine and dryer. There is wifi too. Free view TV and a DVD player with a small library of DVDs and books for wet days. Warm cosy beds and a good shower. Better than some hotels. This year has been better than ever. Will be back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
A lovely review from regular guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
It is nice to know guests have enjoyed their stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
linzzdg
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Riverside bungalow very close to town”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We found this a great rental and would consider staying again, though the place could do with a teensy bit of TLC.

The house is very close to the town, only 5-10 mins walk to cafes, shops + supermarkets, which is great. It makes a fabulous base to explore the area. Scent of Galloway always does a good meal. Aroma did a great breakfast. The Crown do extremely nice food - we'd highly recommend it. Tip: pick up takeaways as delivery can take an age - on busy evenings there can be a delay even for pickup.

There was a comprehensive folder of instruction manuals, which was great - but on closer inspection the washing machine manual was not for the current model and the waste/recycling schedule expired end 2015 (we visited Dec 16).

All of the beds had very comfortable but firm mattresses and pillows. The quilts were 10.5 tog and there were additional blankets for every bed, if needed.

The large garage would be perfect if you are on a cycling trip as there would be room for your car AND your bikes. And more parking on the driveway.

Lots of large radiators and a gas stove in the lounge mean the place is very toasty, even in the coldest of weathers. The gas stove in the lounge is brilliant, once you've got the hang of lighting it. The heating boiler is within a locked cupboard; your control is via a wall thermostat in the hallway and the thermostatic controls on the radiators. The heating was set to On permanently, so we had to remember to switch it down low so as not to cook overnight and then draw straws for who would leap out of bed and adjust the thermostats to get some heat in the place in the morning. The conservatory isn't heated in any way. You can still see the river from the lounge, but if you are visiting in winter you can forget thoughts of your enjoying your morning cuppa overlooking the water from the best vantage point. Opening the lounge door results in the single-glazed conservatory instantly steaming up.

The TV has freeview with an adequate amount of channels, there is a DVD player and collection of DVDs. There are also loads of books.

There is an extremely well stocked kitchen - there is a multitude of everything you need for everyday cooking. We did our xmas dinner and came no-where near to using every pot and pan in the house. There are even mixing bowls, rolling pins etc (you name it, it's there) if you plan to go full Bake Off. There is only a fridge in the kitchen, but a full size freezer in the garage. A few items need renewing however. The elderly microwave was completely kaput - unfortunately we only realised this when we needed to nuke the last bits just before serving up xmas dinner making the whole thing a tad stressful. The kettle was missing its gauze at the spout (hence a large dead insect in residence within on arrival). Two of the four slots on the toaster didn't work. We let the owner know about these, so hopefully they'll be replaced before long. The kitchen blind is badly discoloured and needs replacing too.

There is a washer and separate dryer in the garage. For summer renters there is a clothes line out the back and a clothes pulley in the garage but I'd suggest that the addition of a high-dry would be helpful for winter renters.

The bathroom (as are all the rooms) is large. There is unlimited hot water from the combi. The water pressure for the shower was fine.

The front door was swollen shut - we managed to get it open then had a real job getting it closed again and had to enter and exit through the garage for the rest of the week. No key was provided for the door from the garage to the house, which made us feel the place was not as secure as we'd have liked when we were out and about. The back door key mentioned in the folder was nowhere to be seen.

Linens are supplied so we found it a bit odd that towels aren't. The owner clearly states this ahead of time, but it's the only place we've ever rented that we had to bring our own.

For folks with kids and/or dogs - there is no garden to speak of by the house, just a large concrete strip at the side. This is gated, so little kids (or dogs) can be safely corralled away from the road and the water. Over the road there is a grassy slope that edges the river. The river is wide and fast-moving so you couldn't let younger kids or dogs play on the grass without close supervision.

For folks with mobility issues - there is one step into the front door but if you come through the garage there is a little ramp to enter. You'll need to get down on your knees to put the fire on. You'll need to adjust the thermostats on the radiators and the fridge is under the counter so bending or kneeling is required. There is a large cupboard placed immediately outside of the main bedroom door. We banged ourselves off it regularly just because it's in the way, but if you use a stick it would be an obstruction. The shower is over the bath, which is low but does need climbed into; there is a handy grab rail to help you.

Finally, our only real complaint was about the wifi. It was fast and reliable. BUT it being a wet and windy xmas week we had fancied catching up on our netflix shows and watching a load of stuff on the iplayer. The folder quite clearly states that the wifi is NOT for streaming and threatens that extra usage beyond a 5 gb limit will be chargeable (though unhelpfully the applicable charges are not stated). Limited wifi should be made clear on the online listings - it was a pretty disappointing thing to discover on arrival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
The WIFI is now upgraded. All the appliances are fully functioning. The garage to house door is the fire exit. (the garage is entirely secure).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing