We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage and dog friendly very special place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Drey Cottage

Rear of Drey Cottage with private courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of Drey Cottage with private courtyard
Red squirrel in the cottage garden is a regular visitor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Rear of Drey Cottage with private courtyard
Red squirrel in the cottage garden is a regular visitor
Lounge with dining table facing garden
Conservatory with door to private courtyard
Twin bedroom with its own modern bathroom with bidet
En-suite bathroom off twin bedroom
Part of the 4 poster bedroom
Glen Trool a magnificent place to visit and great walks.
Cairnsmore near the cottage
Bruntis Lochs, a short walk from the cottage
Bridge at Bruntis Lochs
Start of one of the walks near the cottage
Glenwhan Gardens, one of many to visit
Woodpecker in the cottage garden
Cock pheasant
Kippford, great for coastal walks
Isle of Whitorn, another harbour village
Autumn near the cottage
Welcome to Drey Cottage
Mountain biking in the Galloway Forest Park
Quiet country lane next to Nutkin Cottage
Clatteringshaws Loch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Pauline M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and dog friendly very special place”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have been to Dray cottage for the last 10 years, It is a fabulous cottage with everything you could want, Jennie and Vince always make you feel so welcome with tea and cake on your arrival. Wild life is stunning with the birds and red squirrels visiting most days. It is a very special place and one I will return to time and time again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure to have you here to stay over all these years. Look forward to seeing you again perhaps for a short break and a week next May. The weather was very kind to you last week.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally W
Hornsea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect and Peaceful”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just come home following a wonderful week's holiday. Drey Cottage is a perfect place to stay just on the edge of the Galloway Forest Park. There are walks from the cottage and it is so quiet and peaceful. If you get a clear night the dark skies are amazing.The cottage is clean, comfortable and well equipped. A real home away from home. Jennie and Vince, the owners, are a lovely couple and go above and beyond to make sure your stay is perfect . We arrived to find the table set for afternoon tea with a delicious fruit loaf. During the week Jennie popped in with a fresh baked loaf and scones which were very much appreciated. Vince does wood turning and has some beautiful pieces on display in the cottage which you can buy and the proceeds go to a very good cause.The cottage is well located for exploring the area and there is plenty to see and do including lots of beautiful scenery and wildlife. Red squirrels are regular visitors to the cottage gardens as are lots of birds and even a sparrowhark. We wish we had found Drey Cottage when we first visited the area last year. We hope to return next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thank you for your review. It was a pure pleasure to have you staying in one of our cottages. Look forward to seeing you next year. Thanks also for buying the wood turned items. The proceeds will go a good cause.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your review. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you are putting Drey Cottage on your return list. Look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future. Jennie & Vince.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RosieCott...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Peace and Magical Memories”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Having enjoyed the privilege of staying at both Drey and Nutkin Cottages Over the last twelve months I recommend most highly a visit to this gem of a location within the Galloway Forest Park with its abounding nature and dark skies . A warm welcome is always a pleasure to receive from Jennie and Vince who go beyond the call of duty to ensure your stay exceeds your expectations. Our dogs are always accepted here and they thrive, like us, on the crisp fresh air and relaxed pace in idyllic surroundings. Once visited and explored, this area will call you back time and time again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to see such lovely people choosing to stay in our cottages. We look forward to seeing you and your lovely dogs again.

Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia R
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Had a wonderful week ,cottage was first class, well fitted throughout one of the best I have stayed in. Owner was lovely very welcoming, all being well I will be back next November.!thank you so much. Celia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area,cottage, Welcome
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
So pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in Drey Cottage. It was a pleasure meeting you talking to you. Your dogs were great.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in Drey Cottage. The red squirrels are very special. It was our pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fergy35X
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for peace and quiet”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We arrived at Drey Cottage on the 16th of July for a two week break. We had been to the area once before although passed through on many occasions and knew that it had plenty to see and do.

We were greeted by Jennie on arrival and were instantly made to feel welcome and at home, a tea tray was ready and waiting on the table with a delicious cake and after ten hours on the road it was much needed. On first appearance the cottage looked immaculate, Jennie showed us around and our assumption proved to be true, it was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The kitchen is well equipped with everything we needed, which by past experience at some cottages stayed at, has not always been the case. The bedrooms are very comfortably furnished and we both slept well. The power shower in the bathroom was very good with plenty of hot water.

The most important member of the group, Crispin the Labrador, was well catered for with a bowl of fresh water and a biscuit waiting to welcome him. For a dog the location is perfect with miles of walks straight from the front door, in the two weeks there, neither I nor Crispin bored of our stroll first thing usually doing a couple of miles before breakfast. Nature abounds all around and the number of things we saw in the immediate area would be too long to list.

Our hosts Jennie and Vince were wonderful, Jennie baked us bread and scones and both are extremely knowledgeable about the local area providing us with all sorts of information. Vince is a very talented wood turner and has pieces on display in the cottage. A more friendly and welcoming couple you could not wish to meet.

The town of Newton Stewart which is about 10 minutes away by car has everything needed for catering purposes with two good supermarkets and plenty of smaller shops. The restaurants in the area are excellent I cannot complain about any where we ate during the holiday.

The number of places to visit in the area is amazing and nothing was overly crowded, in two weeks we barely scratched the surface and will happily need many more holidays there. once you leave Dumfries behind you on the A75, the pace of life slows right down and the beauty of the Galloway Forest Park lies ahead. I would recommend Drey cottage to anybody who loves nature, it is a base that is ideal for walking and mountain biking being minutes from the 7 Stanes.

After two weeks we were all totally relaxed and dreading the hustle and bustle of South East England again, our only consolation was that having found this absolute gem of a place we know where we shall be going again and the sooner the better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, tranquillity and location.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your detailed review. It was an absolute pleasure being able to provide Drey Cottage for your holiday. It was a shame that you didn't find time to visit Jack's Trout Fishery. There are some big ones waiting to be caught. Maybe on your next visit.
Best wishes,

Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing