We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kirroughtree House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Crown Hotel(Newton Stewart)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bruce Hotel(Newton Stewart)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Downshire Hotel(Portpatrick)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bank of Fleet Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)(Great Value!)
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Arms(Gatehouse of Fleet)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ken Bridge Hotel(New Galloway)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creebridge House Hotel(Newton Stewart)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cally Palace Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Selkirk Arms Hotel(Kirkcudbright)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
91
32
15
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
32
15
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspre dinner drinkswine listfresh fruitaccept dogschange of ownershipdinner menuold fashionedmain coursebeautifully decorated and verycountry housespent two nightsfriendly and efficient staffhigh standardlovely hotelhousing estaterelaxed atmosphereprevious visits
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Got a last minute booking for here for £118 DBB last week .On arriving in the car park we were greeted by the manager who carried our suitcases to our room and showed us into the room itself .The evening meal was lovely and included 2 off my favourites items scallops for starters and venison for the main meal , the whole meal was impressive and all the staff were so friendly and made you feel like royality and even when we went to bed we found out the bed had been remade for us .The hotel is lovely and clean and so are the gardens and well worth a visit .
Overall a great experience and well done to all the staff .Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We chose this hotel to experience the 'dark skies',one of the very few places to have almost total darkness on moonless nights. Unfortunately the weather was not kind to us with blanket cloud but the hotel certainly did not disapoint. A welcoming atmosphere and excellent accommodation. Staff ensure you are well looked after and the food is of a very high standard; breakfast especially sets you up for the day.
We certainly intend to return with fingers crossed for some clear dark moonless nights.

Room Tip: Try for rooms 17 or 19
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Extremely good service from everyone in this country house hotel! From the moment we arrived, we felt special. The room was enormous, more like a junior suite. All meals were of a very high standard. The furnishings were traditional and relaxing. The driveways led us into a secluded rustic delight yet very close to Newton Stewart. Not far from coast or forest, this location ticks many boxes. The house is in an elevated position with great views from some of the rooms

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingscotsmanWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We have just experienced a wonderful 4 night stay at Kirroughtree House. We have nothing but praise for this hotel and the staff.
The staff are worthy of a speial mention, they are friendly and cheerfull, effiecient and helpfull.
The food is first class on our four night stay not one course disappointed.
We hope to be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed three nights booking through hotel web site a three night b and b and evening meal package 23/24/25 August. After making contact with hotel they promptly telephoned back confirming availability I made small credit card deposit and was told it would be a ground floor room overlooking the car park - not a problem so happy to carry on with reservation. Later speaking to other regular guests learnt that the room we were staying in was a room they had used previously and appeared to be a room used by the hotel for guests with dogs. Not happy about that and would have prefered to have been told and would not have booked in. Having said that the room was clean and their was certainly no evidence of doggy attendance but this did conjure up thoughts of dogs lying on the bed spread which wouldn't have been laundered with every new guest and dogs with worms scratching their backsides along carpets etc etc - I hate dogs in hotel rooms.
Decor and furniture old fashioned but I suppose it was in keeping with building. Very large bedroom. Bathroom a bit worn and tired.
Food very very good both in the morning and the evening - better than my expectations and made up for any other short comings.
Staff came across very professional and tried to get to know who your were so no quoting of names /room numbers during stay which I liked as along as drinks etc were billed correctly which they were. No a bad stay all in all the food kept the rating up

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank kennmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews