We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirroughtree House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Just back from a two night golf break at this hotel. We were amazed at the quality of service we received. Every member of staff we met was happy, cheerful and helpful. They were prepared to spend time with you and nothing was too much trouble. They all seemed to know we were there to play golf and all asked with genuine interest how it was going. Golf tee times and trollies we're booked efficiently and all went smoothly. We were in a huge room (we could have organised a dance in it) which was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The Hotel was really quiet at night and great for a relaxing break. The food was fantastic and a completely different menu on both nights of locally sourced food cooked to perfection was served with style. There is absolutely nothing bad we can say about the Kirroughtree and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had room 2. It was the size of a small dance hall with four windows overlooking the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CampbellP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    30
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
94
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Level Contributor
163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on DBB basis. Have stayed here twice before and was keen to return. Rooms, food and service are all excellent. Could not find a fault.
From the personal greeting at the door and help with luggage from the car to the final check-out, our stay was high standard all the way.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on lower ground floor and therefore don't have views but all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Always a treat to stay here. Large comfortable rooms, very helpful and friendly staff who even greet you by name and can't do enough to help, a relaxing lounge with open fire in the winter and wonderful, wonderful meals. My only complaint.......it's too far away from home to visit more often.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I booked a "stargazing weekend" at this hotel for my boyfriend and I, he loves taking photos of the stars. Every aspect of the weekend was brilliant. The hotel staff cannot do enough for you, they are wonderful. The food is absolutely amazing! Worth going there for the meals and the lovely crackling fire in the lounge alone. We only booked a standard room and I expected to be a little disappointed - I wasn't. It really was lovely.
The stargazing activities were very interesting and although unfortunately the weather was too bad to see any stars on the night we went out, I'd still highly recommend it.
We will 100% be revisiting this hotel ASAP.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalky263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I have been keen to stay at this hotel for sometime but it was November 2012 before I finally had the opportunity to experience the delights of this lovely place.
I have stayed at all the other McMillan Hotels including their flagship, Glenapp Castle, which is truly fabulous, however, I have to admit that Kirroughtree is my favourite.
I prefer to sleep in a room with an elevated position, so when we were shown to a room on the ground floor I was initially disappointed, that was of course until I entered the lovely spacious room which seemed to hug you with comfort.
Dinner and breakfast were special experiences enhanced by the quality of the food and the most helpful, pleasant staff.
It really is an art form to get the balance between friendly and familiar and to know that you are in a quality establishment without it being stuffly, this the McMillan family achieve with great ease.
It is not pristine like some corporate establsihments but this adds to it's character.
The grounds are lovely and all in all it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weecat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Got a last minute booking for here for £118 DBB last week .On arriving in the car park we were greeted by the manager who carried our suitcases to our room and showed us into the room itself .The evening meal was lovely and included 2 off my favourites items scallops for starters and venison for the main meal , the whole meal was impressive and all the staff were so friendly and made you feel like royality and even when we went to bed we found out the bed had been remade for us .The hotel is lovely and clean and so are the gardens and well worth a visit .
Overall a great experience and well done to all the staff .Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We chose this hotel to experience the 'dark skies',one of the very few places to have almost total darkness on moonless nights. Unfortunately the weather was not kind to us with blanket cloud but the hotel certainly did not disapoint. A welcoming atmosphere and excellent accommodation. Staff ensure you are well looked after and the food is of a very high standard; breakfast especially sets you up for the day.
We certainly intend to return with fingers crossed for some clear dark moonless nights.

Room Tip: Try for rooms 17 or 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.7 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
13.0 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirroughtree House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirroughtree House Hotel

Property: Kirroughtree House Hotel
Address: Kirroughtree Lodge House Heron Way, Newton Stewart DG8 6AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirroughtree House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country house hotel, a former private mansion house dating back to the 1700's, sitting within 8 acres of its own gardens, a golf course adjacent. It is located near to the picturesque town of Newton Stewart built on the banks of the River Cree, and is within walking distance of the Galloway forest and hills. There is not only a variety of walks around the town and through the forest, but great cycling tracks as well. Slightly further away are a number of historical sights and the Machar Peninsular. On the Machar peninsular you will find the Booktown of Wigtown famous for its annual book festival, picturesque ports, a cave that was occupied by an early Christian Missionary to the Area, a bird sanctuary and the furthest south whisky distillery in Scotland. The Mull of Galloway, the most southerly point in Scotland, is not far away with its bird life and views to Ireland and the Isle of Man. If the magical village of Brigadoon was to appear this is where it would be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Kirroughtree House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirroughtree House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland
Kirroughtree Hotel Newton Stewart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing