We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent country house hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirroughtree House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
antibes
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent country house hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We spent four lovely days here in the ground floor suite. Furnishings were traditional country house style and spotlessly clean.

The staff were attentive, professional and helpful. The food was of excellent quality and carefully presented. We looked forward to dinner every evening and were never disappointed.

If you are lucky you will see deer and rabbits in the extensive manicured gardens.

We hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calcalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    30
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
94
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our stay was a gift from my parents who used to stay here some years ago - since then its been bought over by a Group so we did wonder if the standards had been retained..... Approaching the Hotel from the road it looks just fab, at the front door you do have that moment of "is this Fawlty Towers?" as it has that rustic/lived in charm about it - but no need to worry, service is fantastic and the standards have indeed been retained. We stayed in the Regal Suite, lovely old sitting room and bedroom, bags of space and so on and just a lovely setting. It has that old school charm, so when things needed fixed they got fixed and not binned and replaced with some modern stuff. That means there is the odd self tap screw holding the bronzed wall lights on - but hey, that's part of the charm of the place! Cannot complain about anything at all really, food is very decent indeed, there's no aircon (obviously) but despite 26degrees of heat, the rooms were fine. Service is spot on, not in-yer-face but somebody is always there to help and its all very personal rather than "corporate speak".

To be honest, there's not much to do or see in nearby Newton Stewart but you'd go here either for the absolute peace and quiet, or for the walking and mountain biking - and there's lots of all of these things to do!

I seem to spend half of my life in some hotel or other, so the thought of yet another night in a hotel can fill me with dread. Staying here reminded me that hotels can be charming, pleasant and thoroughly enjoyable places to stay!

Room Tip: What the heck, spend a little extra and go for the Regal Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

As a cardiologist, I travel extensively, so I know hotels. It was over time for my long-suffering wife to have a break. We stayed for one night after a week in the Lake district.
These guys are professionals- friendly, attentive but never in your face.
The dinner was beautifully cooked without the grossly over-sized portions that seem to be de rigeur in many places. There was genuine concern when the Pauillac was not of the stated vintage- but this was pointed out to us, so no problem.
The only problem was that the wi-if refused to connect but, as it was a vacation,maybe this was a good thing.

Room Tip: Room 5 was spacious, elegant and comfortable despite the unexpected heat wave,and with a very lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

What a great find! We hadn't ever been to this part of Scotland and wanted to spend a few nights on the way back down south after an active week on the Isle of Mull. After a bit of online research we plumped for this one, on the outskirts of a small town we'd never heard of, and hoped for the best. The hotel's setting, in its own well-groomed parkland, is impressive. The building itself is quite grand, and tastefully furnished in a style to match. We were initially a bit concerned that it would be over-formal and stuffy, but the friendliness and attentiveness of the highly efficient staff soon put our minds at rest. Our en-suite room was spacious and very comfortable, with a good modern shower, flat screen TV with Freeview, fresh fruit and sherry to welcome us, complimentary bottled water, etc. The food was high quality, nicely-presented, and plentiful, with canapés in the lounge beforehand and petits fours afterwards with our coffee (we had 3 nights DB&B). We increasingly felt more and more at home and in the end were reluctant to leave. The lack of Wifi was perhaps a minor disadvantage, but I admit that it was something of a relief not to be a slave to the internet for a few days, and if this hotel could be termed "old-fashioned" then it's old-fashioned in the very best way, and should be proud of the fact. Thanks for a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Our room, Room 9 on the 1st floor, was a superior double room. It was quiet, very spacious, nicely f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Having stayed six nights at the end of May we had ample opportunity to observe any shortfalls that might exist at Kirroughtree and found none! The staff is unfailing kind, accommodating and well trained, graciously attending to the needs of every single guest in a manner appropriate to their needs and expectations. Admirable wine list at every price point. Would not recommend for a family with small children as virtually all of the guests (like ourselves) seemed to be couples looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway. If you haven't visited this part of Scotland before, be sure not to miss Kennedy Gardens which are underpublicized and absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the ground floor suite with wonderful soaking tub and uber comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twothereandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Three of us stayed for a few days. The superior double was a lovely room with comfortable bed; good bathroom. The single room had a very narrow bed for an adult - an upgrade to something wider is needed - but otherwise the room was comfortable. The food was variable rather as if the chef couldn't be bothered at times or else his days off resulted in a lower standard. Whatever the reason, it needs to be addressed to provide the same standard all the time, as when it was good, it was very good. As always, breakfasts varied depending on the cook! Never sure why this happens in nearly every hotel, other than the absolutely top class ones. The staff are lovely and always helpful, the waitresses being particularly attentive and friendly. Hotel in lovely situation with well tended grounds. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willows6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Why can all hotels provide service and relaxed comfort as at Kirroughtree? The room was spacious, warm and comfortable and as a wheelchair user my husband found the room and bathroom was perfectly set up for his needs. The little touches awaiting us in the room - fruit, sherry as well as the more usual tea and coffee - together with the warm welcome at reception made us feel that we were important guests. The food was as ever, excellent and served at a table with spotless linen and gleaming silverware. Friendly staff who showed a real interest in their guests made our short stay memorable.

Room Tip: We have only ever used the room which has been sensitively adapted for disabled wheelchair users and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.7 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
13.0 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirroughtree House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirroughtree House Hotel

Property: Kirroughtree House Hotel
Address: Kirroughtree Lodge House Heron Way, Newton Stewart DG8 6AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirroughtree House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country house hotel, a former private mansion house dating back to the 1700's, sitting within 8 acres of its own gardens, a golf course adjacent. It is located near to the picturesque town of Newton Stewart built on the banks of the River Cree, and is within walking distance of the Galloway forest and hills. There is not only a variety of walks around the town and through the forest, but great cycling tracks as well. Slightly further away are a number of historical sights and the Machar Peninsular. On the Machar peninsular you will find the Booktown of Wigtown famous for its annual book festival, picturesque ports, a cave that was occupied by an early Christian Missionary to the Area, a bird sanctuary and the furthest south whisky distillery in Scotland. The Mull of Galloway, the most southerly point in Scotland, is not far away with its bird life and views to Ireland and the Isle of Man. If the magical village of Brigadoon was to appear this is where it would be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kirroughtree House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirroughtree House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland
Kirroughtree Hotel Newton Stewart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing