We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent 3 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creebridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had a recommendation of the food quality from the tourist information office.
The 3 nights with dinner included was very good, with positive staff and first class food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Room was confortable, but needed a bit of upgrading (bathroom door would not close properly, wardrobe a bit rickety). Breakfasts pretty good - I had the full Creebridge Grill but my wife felt the options for continental breakfast weren't particularly good. She would have liked croissants, for example.

Food in the bar extension (restaurant not in use) was good but not exceptional. On the first night I had excellent scallops with black pudding and local lamb shank. Flavour and cooking were excellent but presentation could have been improved. My wife had Galloway steak pie which she really enjoyed. The second night I had rainbow trout which had really good flavour but was served with a bit too much butter and my wife had lasagne which she found not quite so good. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our food.

All in all a pleasant stay in a comfortable and freindly hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeCantab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed here overnight while attending the book festival in Wigtown, about 10 minutes away. My single room was actually a small double, and while it could have done with a lick of paint, it was clean and comfortable, with a lovely view across the garden. I didn't have an evening meal here, but the restaurant is obviously very popular with the locals, which is always a good sign! Lots of parking but still not easy to find a space in the evening. Lovely and quiet at night. Breakfast was great and the service was very good. All the staff I encountered were pleasant and helpful. A great place to stay as a solo traveller, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We had eaten lunch here several years ago and checked if we could bring our German Shepard Dog into the bar. This was possible and we (and the dog) enjoyed the food, the excellent service and the general pleasant atmosphere. Not surprised its no one in Newton Stewart, but did not check any others.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingmanBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is an ideally placed hotel for exploring Dumfries and Galloway, with access to the A75 less than 5 minutes away but set within it's own quiet, landscaped grounds. There is plenty of parking, without the usual struggle to find a space. The staff are all, without exception, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Hubby was even offered a chance to watch the rugby with the owners! The restauraunt is worthy of four stars - dishes with a scot's twist, and breakfast kept us going all day! In fact, people come from all over the area to eat here - always a good sign. The bar guests different real ales and has a good selection of malt whisky. Rooms are comfy although the age of the building makes for an interesting tilt to the floors!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VladHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I have recently returned from a 3 day visit to The Creebridge, where I thoroughly enjoyed myself.
Other reviewers have noted the kind welcome and courtesy shown by the staff, and I echo this wholeheartedly. Each staff member was very helpful both in terms of advice and information.
The chef is really really good!! The Dinner/B and B arrangement is excellent, - although my appetite is not large enough to do justice to the hearty menu!
Speaking with the owners of the hotel, I understand that the bedrooms are under a programme of re decoration, this will certainly will enhance the hotel, but I was very satisfied with my own room.
I enjoyed the welcoming fires, the excellent meals, the comfortable room, the peace and quiet and feeling relaxed.
As a solo traveler it is often difficult to find somewhere that will not put you above the air conditioning or in the smallest room available. Indeed this was far from the case in this hotel; my room was a small double with a delightful outlook over the garden. I greatly appreciate the courtesy and I look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have spent several holidays here and enjoyed them all. The staff are very helpful, the largely local food is very good, rooms, I had a single, are relatively spacious, comfortable and clean and great guest lounges and reception areas. The 3 day offer we used for DB&B was very good value. I hope to be returning again next month.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
287 reviews
13.5 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
516 reviews
16.2 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
121 reviews
10 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creebridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creebridge House Hotel

Address: Minnigaff | Dumfries & Galloway, Newton Stewart DG8 6NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range: £117 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Creebridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creebridge House Hotel is a traditional Scottish country house hotel, with 18 ensuite bedrooms, which preserves the peace and tranquility of rural life in elegant surroundings.Your hosts, Stephen, Sarah, Rory,Campbell and the rest of the team look forward to offering you a warm welcome and comfortable stay. The hotel acquired it's name from the nearby River Cree and is situated in 3 acres of garden and woodland, in the village of Minnigaff, at the edge of Kirroughtree forest. The busy market town of Newton Stewart is a mere 2 minutes walk across the Cree Bridge, where you will find a Cinema, Museum, Tourist Information, Leisure Centre with swimming pool, and a range of supermarkets, shops and services. The Hotel has a Scottish Tourist Board 3-star rating, 3 AA stars and one AA Rosette for food. There is central heating throughout, with roaring log fires in all the public rooms in winter and plenty of hot water on tap. The hotel's location makes it central for a wide variety of activities, from walking & cycling through the nearby Galloway Forest Park, to golf and fishing so close you can walk to the nearest hotspots. In fact the first tee at Newton Stewart Golf Club is just 400 yards away. Approximately 30 minutes drive west on the A75 will take you to Cairnryan with it's ferry links to Belfast in Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Creebridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creebridge Hotel Newton Stewart
Creebridge House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing