We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hogmany Stay at the Cree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creebridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed during Hogmany festivities, which were fantastic, we couldn't have asked for more. The staff and owner of the Hotel are so accommodating. The food in the restaurant is just FANTASTIC- haggis and tatty scone being one of my favourites. Enjoyed playing board games in the fantastic sitting room with the roaring fires and the traditional Scottish music in the bar on a Monday evening was amazing.
The surrounding area is rich in things to do, be it walking or visiting historic sites or my personal favourite the chocolate factory!!
Love this part of the world and the Cree is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yikes_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

I have just finished writing a review for the Galloway Arms Hotel and decided to write my review for Creebridge at the same time because it is virtually identicle! The main difference between the two hotels is that Creebridge feels more up market and certainly the building is far prettier than The Galloway Arms Hotel. There is a nice ambiance to the place and it continues to be one of my favourite places in Newton Stewart. Sadly since Chris Walkier (celebrity chef) left some years ago, the food has never quite been to the same standard and yet again, if its quantity v quality you are looking for, then you will love this place.

I visited in November with my mother and there was a roaring log fire and a relaxed, homely ambiance to the place. The lady who served us was polite, efficient and friendly, as was the barman who served us drinks.

The food was slightly above average (a bit better than The Galloway Arms) and by that you will not leave saying that you were disappointed, but likewise you will not leave saying that was an amazingly good meal. However, if you are real foodie and enjoy large portions, then you will not be disappointed.

As another comment I wish to make which is very much in their favour, we asked for half size portions of the starter and desert and they obliged us by doing so and reduced the price accordingly and in my opinion even a half size portion was satisfactory for a female appetitie! So a big gold star for this and a movement from average to very good!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelledLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel and it was a wonderful experience. Very friendly staff who made a great fuss of the children, our rooms were perfect and the food excellent. Also a very impressive breakfast. Excellent value, great charm, lovely open fires and good atmosphere and would definately return and recommend to friends. It felt more like we were staying in a friend's home than an hotel. Only regret is we only stayed one night but would like to return for a longer stay soon. Thanks to all the staff for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: We had a family suite with private stairs leading to two big bedrooms and a large bathroom (head hei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mowbray1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent an excellent Hogmanay break at Creebridge House Hotel. The owners and the staff were welcoming and very helpful, the food was beautiful, the bedroom was very modern and a delight, the log fires in the bar and lounge gave a homely touch and overall, we had a great time. On New Year's Eve the highland dancers, the piper and fireworks after the celebration dinner gave a great start to 2012. Our two well behaved dogs were very welcome in the hotel. This was our fifth visit to Creebridge and we have booked for Hogmanay 2012. In particular, the attention given to my food allergies was impressive throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Our family stayed at the Creebridge House Hotel the week before Christmas, enjoying not only the snow but also the warmth within the Hotel. All of the downstairs rooms, the piano bar, reception & the bar had roaring log fires, fantastic to dry out in front of, after playing with the kids on the snowy lawn, and the staff were really helpful drying out our wet overcoats and bringing hot chocolate and cakes out for us in the piano room. I can't emphasise how friendly the staff were or how helpful, we had a great evenings, fine dining in the restaurant before playing board games with the kids, and then spending our evenings in the bar after putting the kids to bed. We plan to go back this summer and use it as a base to explore the area better, particularly the New Galloway forest, which we found absolutely amazing.

Room Tip: when we booked over the phone we asked for an adjoining room, and were given the Cree View, almost a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We had a long weekend at this hotel and found it lovely and relaxing, the staff were very friendly and helpful . Our room was very cosy with an en-suite. The food in the resturant was 1st class and excellent value .
We would recommend this hotel to anyone, and have already booked our next holiday there for 2012.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This is a lovely hotel, very warm and welcoming as you enter and in the bar - the food is also excellent (evening meal) and breakfast is quite good - but the hotel room itself was very cold - we had to put extra heater on all the time we were there.
We also didn't rate the cleanliness of the room very highly - there were cobwebs, quite thick dust on the bedside cabinet and extremely thick dust on the portable heater, which obviously hadn't seen a clean in many years, it was so thick it looked liked cobwebs.
So would recommend for eating evening meal and having a drink, but wouldn't go back again to stay in rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank percyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
283 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
435 reviews
16.2 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blackhorse Hotel
Blackhorse Hotel
#6 of 17 in Newton Stewart
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creebridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creebridge House Hotel

Address: Minnigaff | Dumfries & Galloway, Newton Stewart DG8 6NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range: £105 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Creebridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creebridge House Hotel is a traditional Scottish country house hotel, with 18 ensuite bedrooms, which preserves the peace and tranquility of rural life in elegant surroundings.Your hosts, Stephen, Sarah, Rory,Campbell and the rest of the team look forward to offering you a warm welcome and comfortable stay. The hotel acquired it's name from the nearby River Cree and is situated in 3 acres of garden and woodland, in the village of Minnigaff, at the edge of Kirroughtree forest. The busy market town of Newton Stewart is a mere 2 minutes walk across the Cree Bridge, where you will find a Cinema, Museum, Tourist Information, Leisure Centre with swimming pool, and a range of supermarkets, shops and services. The Hotel has a Scottish Tourist Board 3-star rating, 3 AA stars and one AA Rosette for food. There is central heating throughout, with roaring log fires in all the public rooms in winter and plenty of hot water on tap. The hotel's location makes it central for a wide variety of activities, from walking & cycling through the nearby Galloway Forest Park, to golf and fishing so close you can walk to the nearest hotspots. In fact the first tee at Newton Stewart Golf Club is just 400 yards away. Approximately 30 minutes drive west on the A75 will take you to Cairnryan with it's ferry links to Belfast in Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Creebridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creebridge Hotel Newton Stewart
Creebridge House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing