We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creebridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Leeming Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful family run hotel”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have had the most beautiful and relaxing stay a the Creebridge House Hotel. A great atmosphere made even better by staff who are enthusiastic about making your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. I will recommend this in a heartbeat to anyone. Can't wait to visit again soon.

Room Tip: A garden view makes the hotel even more picturesque
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    84
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
74
131
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a pleasant ambience. Being 23rd December the hotel was quiet but the staff very attentive and friendly. Breakfast was superb. The only slight complaint was that the bed was a little soft.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

It's been some years since I've stayed at this hotel and when I was in the area for business again it was my first choice. It's a pleasant place to stay with a homely feel and nice surroundings. Staff are friendly in reception and the waitresses were lovely and professional. There was a minor hick up on arrival as the hotel had misread the booking and thought I was arriving the day after. Thankfully there was room at the inn!! I'm not sure whether it was as a result of this hick up and that the room I got was the only room left but it was a fantastic room in the top floor. Creebridge view I think it was. It had a massive bedroom with sofa and chairs plus a hallway, 2nd bedroom with 2 singles and a large bathroom. The hotel is old but well furnished, clean and warm. All in all a great room. Free good quality wifi is great too.
I ate in the restaurant as I recall it being nice and there are few other places in Newton Stewart, and once again it was lovely. Smoked salmon starter and Creebridge pie for main. Very nice all round with good quick service.

I'd stay here again happily and it would be nice to take the wife if there was more to do in Newton Stewart.

I recommend it while heartedly and only hope it stays the same or gets even better when it's sold.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matt2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This really is the place to go if you are looking for somewhere for that special occasion, this being a 40th birthday meal.

Not only were we given a private room to dine in (there were 12 of us), we were also give exclusive use of the magnificent drawing room where we retired by the roaring log fire with a freshmade cup of coffee.

The meal itself was excellent, made with local produce - very impressive. The service was brilliant, the staff could not be more attentive.

We will be returning for the 50th!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I've never stopped here but I have eaten here on several occasions and organised a workshop for writers here and let me tell you writers are a picky lot!
There is a lovely welcoming bar and lounge area which includes roaring fires and very comfy chairs. The restaurant serves one of the best steaks in the area as well as an assortment of other very yummy dishes. The staff are very warm and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them and they are always smiling and ready to help in any way they can.
For our workshop the venue was excellent, a large light and airy room overlooking the garden. The teas and coffees were fresh and kept coming and the biscuits and pastries were more than ample and absolutely delicious. The hotel is set in its own gardens which catch the sun, making them a peaceful and private haven. The hotel is a few short steps from the centre of Newton Stewart, surrounded by the wonderful Galloway Hills and with the Solway coast and all the attractions of the area only a short drive away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairhaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combloux, France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We ended up at this hotel as there was nowhere else to stay in the town. The lady at reception was most pleasant. We got the last vacant room at the top of the hotel. While it was adequate and clean, it was not worth near what we had to pay for it. Dinner was okay but nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RASHFORD740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We initially stayed at the Hotel in June whilst visiting the area however we enjoyed it so much that we have just been back for 3 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday - her choice and I must say I was surprised as we normally go across to Europe.
The first thing that should be mentioned is that it is not the appearance and the interior that makes this a fantastic place to stay - it's the staff who work there and the owners (Sarah & Steve). Special mention to Kenny - Bar Manager - he made us feel so very welcome and he has a fantastic personality, nothing is too much trouble for him and we loved the way he absolutely adored our dog (Kia). Kenny you are amazing - thank you for everything. Also thanks to Leisa, Fiona and Kirsty - you all made our stay so fantastic and the attention you gave Kia was very much appreciated.
The Hotel is not modern and could do with some touching up in places however it is very clean and very comfortable - I would say the 3 stars are correct. We stayed in the superior room - it was excellent and the bed was so comfortable it was hard to get up each morning.The reception area is comfortable and the fire was blazing away when we were there - it was a pleasure to sit there with a latte and some home-made shortbread.
Now to the food - that really is amazing and is definitely another reason that you would want to return to this Hotel. The starters are original and my favourite is the garlic creamy mushrooms. The deserts are too die for and it was difficult to decide what to have - the cheesecake is a definite winner and the fruit crumble is not what you expect and is also a winner. Main courses - you cannot go wrong whatever you choose as you can be guaranteed it will be cooked to the highest standard.
So if you find yourself in this area, make sure you visit.

Room Tip: Choose Room 5 - it's the superior room and has a fantastic view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikimac31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
13.5 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creebridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creebridge House Hotel

Property: Creebridge House Hotel
Address: Minnigaff | Dumfries & Galloway, Newton Stewart DG8 6NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Creebridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creebridge House Hotel is a traditional Scottish country house hotel, with 18 ensuite bedrooms, which preserves the peace and tranquility of rural life in elegant surroundings.Your hosts, Stephen, Sarah, Rory,Campbell and the rest of the team look forward to offering you a warm welcome and comfortable stay. The hotel acquired it's name from the nearby River Cree and is situated in 3 acres of garden and woodland, in the village of Minnigaff, at the edge of Kirroughtree forest. The busy market town of Newton Stewart is a mere 2 minutes walk across the Cree Bridge, where you will find a Cinema, Museum, Tourist Information, Leisure Centre with swimming pool, and a range of supermarkets, shops and services. The Hotel has a Scottish Tourist Board 3-star rating, 3 AA stars and one AA Rosette for food. There is central heating throughout, with roaring log fires in all the public rooms in winter and plenty of hot water on tap. The hotel's location makes it central for a wide variety of activities, from walking & cycling through the nearby Galloway Forest Park, to golf and fishing so close you can walk to the nearest hotspots. In fact the first tee at Newton Stewart Golf Club is just 400 yards away. Approximately 30 minutes drive west on the A75 will take you to Cairnryan with it's ferry links to Belfast in Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Creebridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creebridge Hotel Newton Stewart
Creebridge House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing