We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved, lovely evening.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creebridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Creebridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Much improved, lovely evening.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely meal here this week. Last time we visited there were a few issues with my meal and it had to be sent back but this time our meals were delicious.
Lovely wine, lovely atmosphere.
The only issue was that my prawn starter was a frozen product which was a real disappointment.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SpinningJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    83
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
71
128
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you like old world charm and a little luxury at a reasonable price this is the place for you. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and genuinely go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. My wife and I have stayed here twice in different rooms and both were of a very high standard, looking out over the picturesque garden. The public bar is very comfortable and offers real ale including their own house label brewed by Houston. The restaurant has a good choice of food and wine, our lamb was cooked to perfection and the malbec was excellent. Breakfast offers a cold buffet with a beautifully prepared fruit salad as well as a choice of hot food. We had an early start for the ferry and the staff explained we could come into the dining room early and start on 'firsts' before they officially opened; in the event they were ready for us when we appeared and we enjoyed a lovely meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here last Saturday night as we were passing through on our way back to Ireland . I think that is why we got the small room . Stairs down to the dark bathroom ,worn carpet , dirty radiator . i could,nt wash my hair the next morning as it was a sprinkler shower with no power , i would never have gotten the soap out . For £108.00 , one night or not this is not exceptable . Yes a nice friendly bar and restaurant , good food too but the room was awful . We had been to a wedding in Newcastle and had an apartment the night before for alot less than what we paid for this . It was supposed to be a treat on the way home , it really was,nt ! .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndalangston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Got there late staff very good offered me a bite to eat as the kitchen was closed, bar was still open and had a good selection of beers in which I was in well of need of. Breakfast in the morning was superb freshly cooked and served with haggis nice clean room .comfortable bed , with tea coffee and shortbread. Used this hotel for a business trip but would stay if I ever go on holiday in that area .
The room rate was excellent value and I would highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was our third stay at Creebridge Hotel and each time has been a great experience. Lovely large room with dual aspect and comfy bed. The food was superb with a good choice of dishes and wines. The bar area is cosy and welcoming, it is busy but not unduly so. The staff are exceptional; friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. We will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newton stewart
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife, son, daughter in law and grandson had dinner at the above hotel to celebrate my daughter in laws birthday. As per usual service was excellent and we were all made most welcome. All meals were very good and we were provided with plenty of vegatables. Once again Kenny exceeded himself with his treatment of my grandson.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Went to Creebridge House Hotel, Minnigaff for lunch, (we) my wife and myself, were the only customers in the bar. The room had a very warm and welcoming feel to it and the log fire burning cheerfully added with the relaxing feel to the place.

The barman, a very cheerful and hospitable gentleman was soon making us feel at home. He very efficiently and professionally had us seated and our orders taken.

My wife elected to have the “Flat Iron Rump Steak - medium cooked” and I favoured the Sirloin Steak - medium to rare, both with Bonnie Prince Charlie Sauce, onion rings, tomato, mushrooms and chips.

My steak was cooked to perfection, and I thoroughly enjoyed my meal. Unfortunately my wife’s experience was not so positive, her steak was a bit tough and she did not enjoy her steak as much as I did. Fortunately the steaks were of a decent size and I shared some of mine steak with her, which she did enjoy.

On the whole we did enjoy our visit, the décor, the burning wood stove, the genial barman and to a degree the meal combined to give us a lovely relaxing lunchtime.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOGgy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kirroughtree House Hotel
Kirroughtree House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
16.2 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creebridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creebridge House Hotel

Property: Creebridge House Hotel
Address: Minnigaff | Dumfries & Galloway, Newton Stewart DG8 6NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Creebridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creebridge House Hotel is a traditional Scottish country house hotel, with 18 ensuite bedrooms, which preserves the peace and tranquility of rural life in elegant surroundings.Your hosts, Stephen, Sarah, Rory,Campbell and the rest of the team look forward to offering you a warm welcome and comfortable stay. The hotel acquired it's name from the nearby River Cree and is situated in 3 acres of garden and woodland, in the village of Minnigaff, at the edge of Kirroughtree forest. The busy market town of Newton Stewart is a mere 2 minutes walk across the Cree Bridge, where you will find a Cinema, Museum, Tourist Information, Leisure Centre with swimming pool, and a range of supermarkets, shops and services. The Hotel has a Scottish Tourist Board 3-star rating, 3 AA stars and one AA Rosette for food. There is central heating throughout, with roaring log fires in all the public rooms in winter and plenty of hot water on tap. The hotel's location makes it central for a wide variety of activities, from walking & cycling through the nearby Galloway Forest Park, to golf and fishing so close you can walk to the nearest hotspots. In fact the first tee at Newton Stewart Golf Club is just 400 yards away. Approximately 30 minutes drive west on the A75 will take you to Cairnryan with it's ferry links to Belfast in Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Creebridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creebridge Hotel Newton Stewart
Creebridge House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing