We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch”

The Belted Galloway Viisitor Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Belted Galloway Visitor Centre offers Newton Stewart and area a facility for both visitors and locals. Situated in the main town car park directly behind the main street, the facility has its own 12 space car park, full disabled access with toilets and it is all on one level. The facility is privately owned and receives no public money so has to operate at a profit, despite this we offer free information and stage community events on an ongoing basis. In addition to Tourist Information the facility also provides heritage, historical and community information by wall boards, video and our "tartan history" on the roof and walls.
Scotland/Portugal
Level Contributor
225 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Light and airy, with quite a good menu for lunch. Right by the car park on one side and the shopping street on the other, so it is very convenient.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gavScotland_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great coffee! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We had been touring in the area and ended up in Newton Stewart. A nice enough wee place. Came across the Belted Galloway. We had lunch earlier but a nice coffee was needed. Two were swiftly ordered and arrived with a wee cube of fudge. Coffee was excellent. Service very good too. Coffee was £1.80 a cup which is great compared to some of the high street chains. Food menu looked well priced. Centre has a small gift shop too. Would return.

Helpful?
Thank dmax66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A dog-friendly cafe well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We called in for a coffee once we had checked that my dog would be welcome (she was) - a lovely interior, great coffee and excellent service. And my dog was looked after too, with a treat or two! Would happily go back another time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caluna-gl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stranraer
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place we will definitely return to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were delighted with the Belted Galloway,we lunched there 3 times in our weeks holiday! The food was excellent and displayed so attractively in dishes on our plate.the price was excellent,2 main lunches for £11 from12 pm ! We also ordered sandwiches and home made cakes for our tea later so we didn't have to cook! The people there were very friendly and very helpful.when we are in NewtonStewart again we definitely will be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
263 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“You can tell when people take pride in what they do.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A cracking place for lunch with a good menu. We had a variety of sandwiches, a burger and scone with tea in a very clean eating place. It is obviously one of those places where they clearly take pride in their establishment. The food was very good and the service friendly (served by a man in a kilt on the day we were there) with a total bill of £21.50. Just be aware that they take cash only, no cards. There is parking right outside the door in a free car park.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Belted Galloway Viisitor Centre also viewed

Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Belted Galloway Viisitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing