We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee hideaway !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Stewart
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glentrool Camping and Caravan Site
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was looking to get away for the weekend, and wanted somewhere quiet - away from the hustle & bustle. I also wanted to do some walking, so somewhere that accepted dogs was a must.

I contacted Glentrool Holiday Park online fairly late on, got a response first thing in the morning - I'd asked if they had any late availability and if they could do me a weekend deal - they were happy to oblige.

I stayed in one of the static caravans, even though it was just myself and the dog I was given a family sized unit - pretty modern, all of the facilities I could have asked for, and very comfortable furnishings. Everything was spotlessly clean and in it's place.

The campsite pitches looked comfortable and pleasant enough, and the caravan/motorhome pitches seemed of a good size too.

There are only a couple of small negatives I'd like to throw out there... one, as it's a rural/forest location, there's a lot of midges - we all know the Scottish midge is a creature to be feared, so I was surprised to find that there were no fly-screens on the windows.

Also, this last weekend we were in the middle of a heatwave, so as there is no air-con (we very rarely need it in Scotland), the windows had to be opened - which of course allowed the midges in - they were a bit of a pain later in the evening. I might suggest either bringing a portable fan with you to cool things down a bit, or one of those plug-in bug-zappers, and some citronella candles :D

As for the location... perfect, for me anyway. I wanted a quiet & out of the way location, and that's exactly what I got. Plenty of opportunites for walking in the area nearby, and also further afield, the road is quiet so you can choose to walk, cycle, or drive to Loch Trool and the visitor centre nearby (currently under renovation). Be warned though, it's RURAL here - there's no internet/WiFi, and you'll be lucky to get a mobile (cell) signal, at all - I was without service for the whole weekend...

The pub down the road is pretty good too, popped in for a wee pint after a long day out walking.

So, to sum up - if you're looking for a quiet, clean, hideaway with plenty to do in the great outdoors, and great customer service - this will be ideal. If you're looking for someone with lots of bars and restaurants nearby, and to be on Facebook, Twitter, or otherwise 'connected' 24x7... go elsewhere.

Thanks for a pleasant weekend :-)

Room Tip: Ask the helpful staff when booking !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

The owner does not allow cars into the tent area of the campsite, this cuts down on noisy of people continuously opening and shouting car doors and the risk of vehicle accidents.

Also encourages people to walk or cycle within the campsite.

It's a good site, the only draw back is the tiny shop, the bread the owners stocks is white. Most people prefer would granary.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael-prescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I can only but recommend this small park to all who read this. We have been going to Glentrool for aboot eight years now and on each and every visit we unwind and enjoy the local surroundings. The park is quiet and a boon frae birdwatchers as you are near to the Wood of Cree reserve and right on the doorstep of the wonderful and stunning Glentrool part of the Galloway forest. With Newton Stewart a few miles down the road you have shopping facilities and some good eateries. But as the last reviewer said the House o Hill is not to be forgotten.
The park itself has a small shop and a children's play area and Chris and Mick, the owner's are most welcoming and try to deal with all your needs. I can also recommend the Bladnoch Inn and the Gatehouse of Fleet mill with its excellent café and bookshop. Wigtown is a must for all the reader's out there as it is coined as Scotland's booktown. Portpatrick is a gem as is Glenwhan gardens all within reach of this welcoming park.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed for a weekend here as a couple. The caravan was spotless and it had everything you could need even sky tv. Chris made us feel very welcome and gave us information on where to go etc. There is, 300 yards to the left, an absolutely gorgeous restaurant called The House o’ the Hill. Do visit as you will not be disappointed. I know that its well known for dark skies but my tip would be to take a torch! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Glentrool and are booking to go back for a week in September.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Léopoldine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newton Stewart hotels
8.2 mi away
Conifers Leisure Park
Conifers Leisure Park
#1 of 11 in Newton Stewart
302 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
147 reviews
9.2 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
284 reviews
8.1 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
368 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Bladnoch Inn
The Bladnoch Inn
#13 of 17 in Newton Stewart
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glentrool Camping and Caravan Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glentrool Camping and Caravan Site

Address: Bargrennan, Newton Stewart DG8 6RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Newton Stewart
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet camp site set within the Galloway Forest and UK's first Dark Sky Park. This is the perfect location to experience all this fabulous location has to offer, including hillwalking, hiking, 7stanes bike trails, stargazing and much much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glentrool Camping And Caravan Site Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing