We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonnie Galloway's hidden gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Stewart
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glentrool Camping and Caravan Site
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We’ve been using this site for many years as we like the tranquillity and beauty of the surroundings. We were a bit apprehensive when Chris told us she’d decided to retire, however the new owners, Fran and Jen, are following the same friendly approach as those who went before them. They’re nice people as well.

Our static caravan was clean and well equipped with a welcoming bottle of white wine cooled in the fridge together with some chocolate. A nice touch.

This is a hill walking area which, in our view, transcends other parts of the British Isles with the view from the top of Merrick (now referred to as “Mighty Merrick” by the Tourist Board spin doctors) well worth the effort. We only saw six people last week whilst walking from Loch Trool to Merrick outwards via the Gairland Burn and Loch Enoch and returning via Benyellary. Mobile phone signals are pretty much non-existent up in the hills so it’s a very good idea to follow the Galloway Mountain Rescue advice of letting a responsible person know your route and approximate timings especially if you’re going off the main tourist trails. Fran and Jen will be happy to be your “responsible person” in this respect and offer advice using their local knowledge should you want it. This is the kind of thing which makes this place so welcoming.

As an added bonus there’s real ale and good food just down the road at the House o’Hill so you can relax and let someone else do the cooking after you return from a good day’s solid walking. Best book to be on the safe side though.

We’ll be back……

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank The_Socialist_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

If I'm entirely honest I'm generally quite hard to please, but only because I know what I like, and certainly what I don't like. I don't like anti-social and inconsiderate rabble, excessive noise, intrusion into my 'personal' space or mini sports complexes on caravan parks. I like peace and quiet, attractive scenery and opportunities to take part in walking, hillwalking, mountain biking, road cycling on peaceful roads, photography and canoeing.

So how does Glentrool Holiday Park stack up against my admittedly high expectations for a break away from home?

The park has benefitted from new ownership early 2014 and opened with a noticeable renewed sense of purpose in April 2014. The site is now owned by two extremely hard working young women who have already made huge alterations to the holiday experience for visitors.

Visitors are met with a very warm welcome. The site caters for a small number of tents and a small number of tourers. I spoke to the new owners over a glass of wine one sunny evening and learned that they have reduced the number of touring pitches to ensure each visitor gets more space. Consequently each pitch has an incredible amount of room and all caravan pitches are hard standing.

A large and well maintained grassy area leads towards a very picturesque pond where lilly pads dot the surface and tall read beds occasionally part as ducks merge for a dabble in the waters. I thought this was a wonderful feature and a couple of the caravan pitches and most of the tent pitches look directly on to the pond for a fantastic view whenever you are back at your base. Importantly the pitches do not impede on the general view or ambiance of the pond.

The site also features a small number of static caravans which are available for rent. This area is also quiet and kept very clean with a good standard of caravans throughout. The statics are in a separate area from the tourers and tents.

Brand new modernised toilet and shower facilities have been introduced and are kept absolutely spotless. Other essential facilities are all present and correct and are gradually being modernised by the new owners. A small convenience shop ensures your emergency supplies of milk, bread and other foodstuffs are catered for and they stock a small assortment of essential camping equipment and local OS/Explorer maps.

The site is blissfully tranquil and you ware woken each morning to birdsong. A rare treat indeed.

The site is a mere stone-throw from the idyllic Galloway Forest Park at Glentrool which provides ample opportunities for serious mountain bikers wishing to tackle the 7-stanes route or road cyclists looking for countless miles of quiet roads with stunning views. The park is great for gentle forest walks or more challenging hillwalking where there are opportunities to spot wildlife for those who care to look. Photographers will be kept busy with vistas of the Galloway hills, valleys, waterfalls and babbling brooks and those into canoeing will be spoiled by the fantastic and historic Loch Trool which can be accessed free of charge.

I should also make mention of the site being in the heart of one of the rare 'dark-sky' areas which will be a blessing to any star-gazers who wish to take advantage of the crisp night skies.

All in all I found this site to be everything I was looking for, and from what the new owners were telling me, they are only at the beginning of their business plan for the park which will see improvements being rolled out over a period of time but never at the cost of peacefulness.

I'll be going back for another stay sometime soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SS666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a fab weekend away at this wonderful site beautiful setting well looked after clean site so near to a few trail centres for good biking will be back soon fab pub just a few minutes walk and could take our dog with us

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A lovely little site, stayed in a caravan which was spotlessly clean,beds made up, and very friendly welcome on arrival. This would be an ideal base for anyone visiting the beautiful countryside in the area

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic long weekend break at this site and can honestly say that it has been a magnificent experience. The weather was beautiful which obviously helped but I want to put a few words on here to encourage others to stay, therefore increasing the chance it will be there for us in the future!
From the moment we arrived ( two hours early ) we felt genuinely welcome and I had a pleasant chat with Fran ( one of the co-owners ) about the local area and amenities.
We were shown to our accommodation through well maintained grounds to an immaculate static caravan complete with milk in the fridge and a chocolate bunny on the table ( it was easter ) Ideal after a long drive.
From that point on a fantastic weekend was had, the peace and quiet was absolute and the dark skies designation is entirely appropriate. Shooting stars, nebluae and satellites in abundance!
Thanks again to Fran and Jen, keep up the good work and see you again.
Ben and Jenny

Room Tip: No doubt in my mind that all vans/sites will be of impeccable cleanliness and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ben l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here in our motorhome in April. The site has all new facilities and motorhome service area. Excellent for walking, biking, easy access to the forest and a good pub just down the road.
Nicely laid out for 12 motorhomes/caravans. Separate area for tents. Dogs accepted and very helpful owners.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Since my last visit tae this Caravan park I would like tae add that there have been new owners (Fran and Jen) and a new website, www.glentroolholidaypark.co.uk
Just reiterating that this place is a gem and if you want tae get away frae it all you can be assured that you will have peace and tranquillity in bucketfuls. Not only is the site well maintained but the owners are so helpful and assuring. Those of us who are respectors of nature will nae be disappointed as the place is teeming with birds and you are on the doorstep of the National park and many hidden secret places. You can hire a holiday home or bring your tourer or camp right next tae a wonderful pool or they have some excellent holiday homes frae sale. I cannot recommend this wonderful venue enough and all I can add is go visit and enjoi!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newton Stewart hotels
8.2 mi away
Conifers Leisure Park
Conifers Leisure Park
#1 of 11 in Newton Stewart
302 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
148 reviews
9.2 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
373 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
286 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Bladnoch Inn
The Bladnoch Inn
#13 of 17 in Newton Stewart
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glentrool Camping and Caravan Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glentrool Camping and Caravan Site

Address: Bargrennan, Newton Stewart DG8 6RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Newton Stewart
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet camp site set within the Galloway Forest and UK's first Dark Sky Park. This is the perfect location to experience all this fabulous location has to offer, including hillwalking, hiking, 7stanes bike trails, stargazing and much much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glentrool Camping And Caravan Site Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing