We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What great wee place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grannies kitchen - CLOSED

Grannies kitchen
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Newton Stewart
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What great wee place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The wife and I have been to most cafes and restaurants in the Shire, and this place is a good as the best wee have been to.
The boss and his wife, or the boss and her husband, are nice friendly folks, and the place is spotlessly clean.
We had our usual soup, a roll, and a tea and a white coffee.
The home made soup was lovely, the rolls fresh and soft, and the tea and coffee came in pots, neither of which we could finish.
The price was average, and great value.
Only one comment which applies to almost every cafe and restauarant in the Machars, the soup is kept in one of those electric urns, and I had to ask for mine to be zapped in the microwave as I want my soup piping hot. That was done on request.
The owners are appealing to the older generation with HIgh Teas and Afternoon Teas, and they said the younger generation were starting to appreciate the old style teas, and why wouldn't they with home baked cakes and pastries, and freshly made sandwiches.
Lovely wee place all round.
Don't miss it if you are passing through.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Brilliant wee place to come for a cuppa tea and a roll. Definatly worth a drop in. Just need a better variety of food! :-) 4/5

Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Super breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Great service and a hearty breakfast too. Lovely to have a big pot of tea & coffee, lots of toast, all included in the breakfast price.
We will definitely return when visiting the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Glossybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fab food, fab location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We ate here 3 times in a week hilts visiting family. It's a small, quaint, cosy and very friendly little restaurant. Run by husband and wife, the wife is the amazing chef. As soon as you walk in you are met with a cosy warm welcome. The restaurant is very clean, the homemade cakes on display are mouth watering. The menu is surprisingly extensive and unbelievable good value. The portions are on the large side, there is no scrimping here. The chef comes up from the kitchen and helps to serve, she is very talented providing home cooking at its best. It was a nice touch to see the chefs this is very rare. We asked the wife if she knew why our Yorkshire puddings we have been making would not rise. Chef advised that we should be using 2 eggs, not the 1 and she was spot on so grateful to chef for that tip, the proof is in the pudding!! This is a great location next to the river and the bridge with amazing views and walks. I would advise anyone visiting Newtion ?Stewart to give Grannies Kitchen a try, you will enjoy the food and guaranteed to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Popped into Grannies Kitchen for a breakfast and quite simply the service and standards of food was outstanding! A warm welcome and a fine scottish full breakfast and tea all at a very reasonable price. The restaurant was bright and well maintained and the bathroom was found to be exceptionally clean! Will visit again......a credit to the town!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grannies kitchen also viewed

Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing