We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect home from home stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Patsiipom
Brompton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect home from home stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is the second time we have stayed at Penkiln Cottage and once again it was immaculate, modern and very comfortable. We were greeted with some fresh bake scones and homemade Rhubarb and Ginger Jam. The weather was mixed with plenty of sunshine at the beginning of the week and it was bleak and damp later but we went out every day and thoroughly enjoyed exploring the beautiful countryside. Thank you to Mark and Diane for giving us a wonderful base for our holiday. We will be back

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness and comfort
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Dear Guest's .
Many thank's for your great review of our cottage at Kirkland Farm. We are always happy to respond to our guest reviews , especially when people have returned to stay with us for a second time .We very much appreciate your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annietheb...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“brillant holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

the cottage was lovely and cosy it was like home from home mark and Dianne were very nice and left a few things for us when we came like homemade scones and jams nothing would off been to much bother for them if you asked for help..the area around was cottage was lovely scenery. plenty of places to visit like cream of Galloway and portpatrick and other places.. you can go for lovely walks all around and if you want to hire bikes the owner of the bike shop at the top of the town near Sainsbury is very helpful. also plenty of choice for places to eat like the brigend pantry and the café on the main road at the same end of town as Sainsbury. will definetly be looking for another time to go back our kids are aged 12 and 14yrs and they loved it thanks mark and Dianne for a lovely place to stay

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of the holiday
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Dear Guest's .
We are glad to hear you have had a great time here with us at Kirkland Farm , and we are always happy to help and tell our guest's of the many places for them to visit . Everyone always enjoys their visit to Portpatrick , and the many other places within easy reach of our location . As always we very much appreciate the time people take in writing their reviews. We hope to welcome you all back in the near future.
Kind Regards Mark and Diane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tattooedj...
South Coast UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxed home from home.”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We picked Kirkland Farm at Newton Stewart for 2 weeks because of its rural location and the large size of Penkiln Cottage. We were not disappointed. The Cottage was lovely, very well equipped and exceedingly comfortable! We were not blessed with the best weather, but it didnt stop us from exploring all the local towns and villages.
We ranged in age from forty something to 9 years. Quite a trick keeping everyone entertained, but Mark and Diane were always able to make a suggestion of somewhere to visit that would keep all of us happy. Their knowledge of the local area was brilliant.
At last count we had seen wild deer, owls, frogs, pheasant, buzzards, rabbits, hares and goats. Not to mention the cows, sheep and chickens on the farm. We also loved Barbara the pig - my kids would have quite happily put her in the car to take back home with us! Dorothy the cat, and Big George and Belle. We did a lot of walking, though nothing too vigorous as one of the party was disabled. We made several visits to Kirkudbright, Wigtown and Clatteringshaws Loch.
All in all it was great value for money. There were some small takeaways in town if you needed them, or you could cook in the cottage - which we did on several occasions. There are also some lovely restaurants nearby. Most meals were very good value and all were very tasty.
All in all I can recommend this cottage for couples of any age of families. Yes - even my 17 year old enjoyed herself. Once she managed to seperate herself from the internet, she explored the area and even spoke to the locals who were all really friendly.
Thanks Mark & Diane for a great relaxing family holiday!!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and its setting
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Dear Guest's.
What a lovely review , we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Kirkland Farm. People don't realise how many places there are to see near to us, and are constantly amazed at our beautiful rural setting , but still being near to all the amenities that people want when they go on holiday . Many thank's, and we would love to welcome you all back in the near future .
Kind Regards Mark and Diane . Dorothy, George, Bell and Barbara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamra M
2 reviews
“Beautiful setting, homey comfort, delightful hosts”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Penkiln cottage is a wonderful place to stay if you are in this part of Scotland. The Cottage itself is spacious and clean. It's located on a lovely farm with outstanding views of the surrounding meadows and mountains. Mark and Diane are excellent hosts, informative and available but certainly not intrusive. Mark introduced us to his hen and his pig Barbara, who we had the pleasure of feeding our food scraps. Barbara is very talkative and shows her appreciation. Newton Stewart is a cute little town, has everything you need and not touristy. The farm itself has options for scenic walks plus there is so much to see and do in the surrounding area, we could only scratch the surface. Great for cycling and birdwatching. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Penkiln and definitely will come back if the opportunity presents itself.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Dear Guest's .
Glad to hear you had a lovely time here with us at Kirkland Farm. People are always surprised that there are so many places to visit near to us at the Farm, and we try and guide people to as many of them as we can . Hope you have had a nice time with the rest of your vacation , and we would love to welcome you back sometime in the future . If you need any help with your family tree , we would be happy to help you out . Many thank's and kind regards Mark and Diane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful place for a rest”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Having our own business it is very difficult to get away so when the opportunity came to get away , straight onto google for places to stay that would also take dogs. Penkiln cottage appeared in the search and looked ideal so we booked. This hidden gem was amazing, a warm and friendly greeting from Mark on our arrival, milk in the fridge and a little goodie basket on the kitchen table. The views are fantastic , the location remote yet 5 minutes drive in to town with it's abundance of shops and eateries. This place has everything you will even need for a self catering holiday and all to a very high standard. Thank you once again Diane and Mark for a great stay.
Alan, Pauline and the dogs from Kendal.

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Dear Guest's .
Many thank's for your review on our cottage at Kirkland Farm. We always appreciate people taking the time to write a review , and we are always very happy to welcome people who chose to spend the holiday time here with us .
Hope to see you both again sometime in the near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian G
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage in a central location”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just back from a great week staying at Penkiln. Newton Stewart is central to a number of interesting towns and villages that are great to explore, even with wee ones! The cottage is very well equipped, spotlessly clean and the owners give great tips on places to visit. Definitely recommend this cottage and Newton Stewart for a trip.

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Dear Guest's
Many thank's for your review on our cottage at Kirkland Farm. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write your review , and It dose make it much easier for other potential guest's to decide to book their holiday with us . Many thank's once again , and we would be delighted to welcome you all back for another stay with us , in the very near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I say hidden as it is up, down and along a road that leads to one of the best located holiday homes I've been to. My family and I (including the dog) have just spent a lovely relaxing week at Penkiln Cottage. Our stay was boosted by lots of blue sky days, but the cottage and its surrounding would stand up to rain, snow or any weather that comes during a stay.
Mark and Dianne make you very welcome and the cottage has everything you need and more. It is a perfect location to base a stay, whether it be for a stroll down to the town or a day out in the many stunning places Dumfries and Galloway has to offer. One week is not long enough and we are already looking forward to another visit.
Don't forget to save the food scraps for the pig.

Date of stay: June 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Dear Guest's .
What a lovely review you have posted for us at Kirkland Farm . We can't thank you enough for taking the time to post your comments , and we are glad you had such a lovely time at Penkiln cottage . People really do take a great deal of notice of these reviews , and it really dose help new holiday makers decide on whether to book or not . Once again many thank's for your kind words , and we hope to see you all again in the very near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.