We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely pet friendly cottage with good counntry...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Barbara and sister Doris.RIP
A sizable Rainbow Trout from our Loch.
Downstream of our river (the Penkiln)
View towards Knockman Wood from our Loch
View towards the Merrick and Cairnsmore Hills  at the Farm.
Fully fitted shower room.
Bunk room.
Our extensive lounge.
Kitchen.
Double Room.
Near bye Mossyard Beach.
Near bye Port Patrick.
A wild Goat at the Goatpark.
Big George saying hello to guests through  our cat flap at the Farmhouse.
A Deer Stag at the Deer range.
One of our many Barn Owl chicks!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beekeeper...
West Wales
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely pet friendly cottage with good counntry walk at the door”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Friendly welcome from the owners and tea & biscuits awaited us on arrival after long journey thanks. Modern cottage inside and the garden area was well fenced making it pet friendly on the outside. On the outskirts of the village with easy access to the shops in Newton Stewart and lovely country walks from the cottage. We had a lovely long weekend stay thanks. Will definitely book this property if available on another visit to family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: One of the best properties we have stayed in with our two dogs, and secure garden
Liked least: no bad points really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a lovely place”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Mark and Dianne gave us a warm welcome with home made jam, oatcakes and shortbread. The cottage is beautiful and clean and we loved to sit outside in the evening watching the bats flying around. Great walks nearby and Newton Stewart has lots of shops and pubs, the Creebridge House hotel is especially nice with great food and Frances, the manager (and the owners' daughter) really looked after us.
A truly lovely holiday. Duncan and Janet

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Dear Guest's . Thank you for your great review of our Holiday cottage at Kirkland Farm . We always appreciate people taking the time out to post these reviews . Hope to see you both again soon .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Clean and cosy.”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This house is well located for beautiful countryside, clean and cosy. Welcoming and pleasant. Everything we needed it to be. Many thanks.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Dear Guest's . Many thanks for you kindly review of our cottage, at Kirkland Farm.We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to everything but a quiet location.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Dear Guest's . Thank you for posting your review . We are glad you had such a good time , and hopefully you will be able to stay a little longer on your next visit . There are a lot more places for you to visit . Hope to see you both again soon in the very near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Daveee93
1 review
“Great property and great service”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I recently stayed at Penkiln Cottage with two friends and we all had a great stay. The property it's self is spacious and has all the amenities needed; there is also plenty to do near to the property with a fishing lake on the farm and Galloway Forrest down the road. Mark and Diane went above and beyond in terms of service, trying to help out when our car broke down and the home made jam is delicious! We are already planning our next stay and would 100% recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Dear Guest's . Thanks for your review of our cottage at Kirkland Farm. Sorry I could not fix your car , but we are always happy to help if we can . Hope to see you all in the near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colletteh...
1 review
“gorgeous, comfortable, spotless cottage ideal location”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Penkiln Cottage for 5 nights with my husband and our 9 and 11 year old kids, plus our family dog Spot. We had a very warm welcome and Mark and Diane are just lovely. We were shown around the cottage and the farm and felt very relaxed and welcomed. The cottage is superb. Spotless, everything you could think of needing, comfortable beds, lovely enclosed garden (great for a dog) and safe for children to play in too. The surrounding farm and views are lovely. We especially enjoyed the walk through the field of sheep and around the fishing loch. We took the longer walk along and through Knockmann wood too which is well worth the effort. Mossyard bay beach is a 20min drive and stunning. Remember £2 for parking all day. It is perfect for the kids as it is sandy and pretty safe. My eldest loved rock climbing there. Creetown is near and on a rainy afternoon we visited the Gem Museum. Great value for money and the kids (and us) loved it! The kids really enjoyed feeding Barbara the pig some leftovers on the farm.
All in all an excellent holiday in a lovely location and excellent accomodation! Oh and thanks for the jam and extras and milk. Wonderful! xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Dear Guest . Many thanks for your lovely review . We are very pleased you all had a great time here with us at Kirkland Farm .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and comfortable in peaceful location.
Liked least: Leaving at end of break
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Dear Guest . Many thanks for your review. We are glad you had a relaxing time here with us at Kirkland Farm, and we hope to see you again soon .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing