We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Stewart
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balloch O' Dee Campsite
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Third time I've stayed here and this time stayed in the bothy.

As usual was made very welcome and was given a quick tour as to where everything is. Toilets and showers are very clean.

The bothy is very well furnished and has everything needed for a relaxing time.

Really enjoy coming here and will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 68 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

On arriving at Balloch O'Dee for the first time, admittedly in glorious Autumn sunshine, our two children said "Wow! This is definitely the best campsite in the world". We had to agree. James greeted us warmly with the words "there are no rules here" and even offered our six year old daughter a trot round the field on one of the horses. This site has everything you could wish for. Magnificent sweeping views of the Galloway countryside, lovely candlelit facilities made homely with free "posh" toiletries (unheard in campsites) and the opportunity to have your own fire right outside your tent. We were lucky enough to be at one of Hazel and James' "special music weekends" and were treated to campfire food round a roaring fire with music provided by James' eclectic selection (Ivor Cutler included!) plus the wonderful John and Kate singing/guitar duo. My nine year old son (Ukulele beginner!) will remember this weekend for ever and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights having only intended to stay for 3.
It has a real wild camping vibe without the need to "rough it".
Built in bbqs and camp fires are littered around the place. Chickens run free and the owners dogs are lovely (1 adopted us!)
Fantastic bike rides nearby
All together a fantastic family orientated environment. We intend to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank towse1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed for six nights from 1st July 2013. James and Hazel are excellent hosts, offering any help you needed. The facilities are excellent, the best campsite shower I have ever had. At night the toilets and washing up area is lit by candles and smells amazing because of the inscence and oils which makes it a welcome refuge if its raining. Eggs are provided free from the hens which have full roam of the farm.

The campsite itself offers beautiful views and plenty of room.. so different from camping in the Lake District where your neighbour is so close you can hear them snoring!

If your into mountain biking like us Kirroughtree is just down the road. The 31km black and red route is the best trail centre biking that we have ever done and we have ridden a lot of trail centres. Give Dalbeattie a miss if you are thinking anout it. It doesn't compare!

Hazel has ten ponies on the farm and let me have a ride out one day. It was nice to have a good canter down the track to the forest.

If you are more into glamping there is the bothy or soul pad. We had a night in the bothy because our tent drowned on night 2. It's beautifully decorated and has a wood burning stove which we were able to dry all of our stuff out in front of and cook dinner on. We were sad to leave and can't wait until we can return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mtbkeirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newton Stewart hotels
7.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
152 reviews
8.4 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
202 reviews
7.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
287 reviews
7.7 mi away
Conifers Leisure Park
Conifers Leisure Park
#1 of 11 in Newton Stewart
312 reviews
7 mi away
Stables Guest House
Stables Guest House
#1 of 17 in Newton Stewart
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balloch O' Dee Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balloch O' Dee Campsite

Address: Kirkcowan, Newton Stewart DG8 0ET, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Newton Stewart
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balloch O Dee is a beautiful remote Campsite sitting at the base of Cullvenan Fell on the edge of the Galloway National Forrest Park. We also have a number of options for indoor accommodation available. The main camping field has ample space for 50 tents/vans and each pitch has a fire pit so you are welcome to have a campfire whenever you like. The separate Electric Hook-up Field has 10 hookups and again plenty of fire pits. There are lovely on-site showers and toilets with separate washing up areas, fridge freezer, firewood Indoor Accommodation includes - The Ranch House - Sleeps 6/8, ensuite shower and toilet, Kitchen, Log burning Range, 2 floors The Bothy - Sleeps 5/7, Log burning Range, 2 floors The Round House - Log burner, remote, romantic Bluebell - Sleeps 4, Old-fashioned hand built wooden caravan, Gas fire, lovely setting. We have lots of free range Chickens and Ducks and many ponies wandering about the site all very friendly and children can help out with the horses if they would like to. Check out our Music weekend every Septemeber ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balloch O' Dee Campsite Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing