We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff. Rooms need a little modernisation.”
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bruce Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The staff at this hotel are brilliant. Very helpful and friendly. Our stay was marred by some wet weather which joined us through a leak in the hotel roof.

The hotel rooms while very clean could do with a little upgrade and fresh coat of paint. Apart from this a good hotel and good VFM.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petrichor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. The location of the hotel is ideal for accessing Newton Stewart and the back has some country views. I had an evening meal which was ok and breakfast was also of a similar standard. The most disappointing factor was the quality of the rooms, which are in desperate need of modernisation. The furniture in my room looked like it had not been replaced for a very long time and it needed redecorating. I would probably not stay at this hotel again, although it was reasonably priced and offers fairly good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank green_lady888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Our rambling group spent an excellent weekend here. We were made very welcomeand allocated our rooms.Mine had lovely view over the Galloway hills. It was a bit "tired" but clean and comfortable with everything necessary. The service for meals was very efficiently carried out by friendly staff, and the food was well cooked and presented, with a good choice and plenty of it! The packed lunches were also excellent, in fact, too much!! The terms negotiated were very favourable giving extremely good value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend it to other groups and would return myself. Sheila.

Room Tip: Ask for view of hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rambler1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We stayed at the Bruce in March 2011. As a riposte to the review dated 22nd January 2011, we found all the staff to be friendly and helpful, including the manager who was so roundly attacked in that review. The room was comfortable, and had an excellent view. We booked for the night, including breakfast and dinner, and it was an extremely good value package. The menu was varied, and the food good, with very reasonably priced wine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Stayed here on business and have never met such a rude and arrogant duty manager, not in the usual Hotel sense of aloofness but simply a man who is not fit to work in the service industry. It's a shame as the young, well presented staff who are keen but needing a little direction and training will not learn from this man who strutted around the bar at dinner time time dressed in faded jeans and dated polo shirt looking like an extra from Dirty Dancing needing a good wash. Beer was cold, staff were friendly but if this place is to survive, especially during difficult times then management need to have a hard look at this.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank comfybedplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

When I was booking my holiday to this area I found it difficult to find many hotels. When I arrived I discovered why - there aren't many! This area is sparsely populated and inexplicably not particularly popular with holidaymakers. The Bruce Hotel is ideally located to explore the Galloway Forest Park which is spectacularly beautiful and provided us with some walking that rivalled the best of the Lake District.

The only significant negative here hit us as soon as we walked into the room - it had been smoked in. It wasn't bad enough to ask for a move but it was noticeable. Other than that the hotel did all we needed or expected over 3 nights. The bar and restaurant are pretty much all one unit with facilities to eat from the same menu in each, The bar was well-stocked but could do with a local ale on draught rather than just bottled. The food was fairly basic and predictable with no surprises. It was cooked to order, good quality and the range of dishes was adequate. There is no lounge as such but the bar was comfortable and served the purpose - I had to sit down there to access the (free) wireless internet as the signal was absent from our room. Breakfast was limited in range but cooked to order - something I really appreciate in a hotel. We never saw a breakfast menu - they would cook whatever I asked for within reason. The staff were noticably good - friendly, not too intrusive but we were never ignored, and always relaxed and informal.

So a pleasant stay in a lovely area with no bells and whistles but everything you need for a relaxed informal holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilTheDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

stayed here and had a steak for £18.00 it was like a bit of leather. the room was a step back in time. think 60's. not shabby chic, just shabby. anyhoo plenty of other places to stay round newton so i shall stay somewhere else in future.

note to chef - do catering a favour.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank griffineater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
360 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
435 reviews
1.2 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
195 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ellangowan Hotel
The Ellangowan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Creetown
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Address: 88 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range: £59 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing