We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff”
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bruce Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here as part of a quiet weekend away. We found the staff (particularly the manager) very friendly and the room was very clean and spacious. The TV was a bit small but we were there to enjoy the local area, not watch tv. Very comfy bed.

We ate one night in the restaurant which was nice and good value for money. The steak I had was particularly good. Its not often I go to a restaurant and get a steak cooked exactly the way I want it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Bruce Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

There was 5 of us, had 1 double room and 3 twin rooms, very clean and plenty of room. We had an evening meal, which was very nice. I did ask the waiter for the garlic mushrooms recipe, but he wouldent part with it, lol. The staff were very friendly, they went out of there way to help us. Just wish we could have stayed longer than one night. Well we would definetely recommend this hotel. Thanks to all at the Bruce for making our short stay a welcome one. The Whiteford family from Cambridgeshire.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagzCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This is a lovely little hotel but you do need to remember this is a 3 star hotel, charging 3 star prices. I thought the public areas and restaurant were perfect adequate. We had dinner in the restaurant but sadly we were the only ones. The food was perfectly average and very reasonably priced. I couldnt fault the staff. They were all really friendly, helpful and courteous. Its just such a shame that there was hardly anyone in the bar or restaurant. Our bedroom was ok but I had to keep reminding myself it was only a 3 star. It wasnt really our taste, quite tatty around the edges and fairly outdated, however our bed was clean and comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The views over the hills were prettuy impressive too. There is plenty of parking around the back of the hotel with a small lawn/beer garden.
Yes I would stay here again as its affordable and you get what you pay for. I could also say I have stayed at worse yet paid more so their tiny bit outdated bedrooms hasnt put me off.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Littlemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The staff at this hotel are brilliant. Very helpful and friendly. Our stay was marred by some wet weather which joined us through a leak in the hotel roof.

The hotel rooms while very clean could do with a little upgrade and fresh coat of paint. Apart from this a good hotel and good VFM.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petrichor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. The location of the hotel is ideal for accessing Newton Stewart and the back has some country views. I had an evening meal which was ok and breakfast was also of a similar standard. The most disappointing factor was the quality of the rooms, which are in desperate need of modernisation. The furniture in my room looked like it had not been replaced for a very long time and it needed redecorating. I would probably not stay at this hotel again, although it was reasonably priced and offers fairly good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank green_lady888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Our rambling group spent an excellent weekend here. We were made very welcomeand allocated our rooms.Mine had lovely view over the Galloway hills. It was a bit "tired" but clean and comfortable with everything necessary. The service for meals was very efficiently carried out by friendly staff, and the food was well cooked and presented, with a good choice and plenty of it! The packed lunches were also excellent, in fact, too much!! The terms negotiated were very favourable giving extremely good value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend it to other groups and would return myself. Sheila.

Room Tip: Ask for view of hills
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rambler1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We stayed at the Bruce in March 2011. As a riposte to the review dated 22nd January 2011, we found all the staff to be friendly and helpful, including the manager who was so roundly attacked in that review. The room was comfortable, and had an excellent view. We booked for the night, including breakfast and dinner, and it was an extremely good value package. The menu was varied, and the food good, with very reasonably priced wine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
358 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
431 reviews
1.2 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stables Guest House
Stables Guest House
#1 of 17 in Newton Stewart
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Address: 88 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range: £59 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing