We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and we will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bruce Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We loved it and we will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had a first class weekend at The Bruce.The staff were excellent and looked after all of us, 13 adults and 5 children, really well! Food was plentiful and tasty. Making a return journey in mid-August

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    110
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
56
75
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oy-Mittelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here as part of a quiet weekend away. We found the staff (particularly the manager) very friendly and the room was very clean and spacious. The TV was a bit small but we were there to enjoy the local area, not watch tv. Very comfy bed.

We ate one night in the restaurant which was nice and good value for money. The steak I had was particularly good. Its not often I go to a restaurant and get a steak cooked exactly the way I want it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

There was 5 of us, had 1 double room and 3 twin rooms, very clean and plenty of room. We had an evening meal, which was very nice. I did ask the waiter for the garlic mushrooms recipe, but he wouldent part with it, lol. The staff were very friendly, they went out of there way to help us. Just wish we could have stayed longer than one night. Well we would definetely recommend this hotel. Thanks to all at the Bruce for making our short stay a welcome one. The Whiteford family from Cambridgeshire.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagzCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

This is a lovely little hotel but you do need to remember this is a 3 star hotel, charging 3 star prices. I thought the public areas and restaurant were perfect adequate. We had dinner in the restaurant but sadly we were the only ones. The food was perfectly average and very reasonably priced. I couldnt fault the staff. They were all really friendly, helpful and courteous. Its just such a shame that there was hardly anyone in the bar or restaurant. Our bedroom was ok but I had to keep reminding myself it was only a 3 star. It wasnt really our taste, quite tatty around the edges and fairly outdated, however our bed was clean and comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The views over the hills were prettuy impressive too. There is plenty of parking around the back of the hotel with a small lawn/beer garden.
Yes I would stay here again as its affordable and you get what you pay for. I could also say I have stayed at worse yet paid more so their tiny bit outdated bedrooms hasnt put me off.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Littlemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

The staff at this hotel are brilliant. Very helpful and friendly. Our stay was marred by some wet weather which joined us through a leak in the hotel roof.

The hotel rooms while very clean could do with a little upgrade and fresh coat of paint. Apart from this a good hotel and good VFM.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrichor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. The location of the hotel is ideal for accessing Newton Stewart and the back has some country views. I had an evening meal which was ok and breakfast was also of a similar standard. The most disappointing factor was the quality of the rooms, which are in desperate need of modernisation. The furniture in my room looked like it had not been replaced for a very long time and it needed redecorating. I would probably not stay at this hotel again, although it was reasonably priced and offers fairly good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank green_lady888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Our rambling group spent an excellent weekend here. We were made very welcomeand allocated our rooms.Mine had lovely view over the Galloway hills. It was a bit "tired" but clean and comfortable with everything necessary. The service for meals was very efficiently carried out by friendly staff, and the food was well cooked and presented, with a good choice and plenty of it! The packed lunches were also excellent, in fact, too much!! The terms negotiated were very favourable giving extremely good value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend it to other groups and would return myself. Sheila.

Room Tip: Ask for view of hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rambler1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.5 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
12.9 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Property: Bruce Hotel
Address: 88 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing