We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service - take care with the windows”
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bruce Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was a return visit and all the good points remain: friendly staff, very clean, plentiful breakfast. On the Saturday night there was a lively 70th birthday party, but no noise permeated up to the second floor.
Only complaint were the windows; difficult to open and in the case of the bathroom window impossible to fully close. However I was more concerned with the bedroom window which was very low and out of which was a big drop. The window had no safety features and the pivot window could be opened fully, which I felt would be dangerous if there were children in the room or indeed an adult after a few drinks! This window was also difficult to close as one of the catches was broken.

Room Tip: No lift, views from the rear fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Bruce Hotel in Newton Stewart was a value for money stay in the Scottish Borders. The room was a good size (the bathroom was huge!) and cleaned every day. The position of the room was facing the main street so you sometimes got to hear some of the traffic noise. All the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. If you are parking your car, breathe in - the car park is through an arch, at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdmcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed here overnight on a trip around Galloway. Had a very good sized double room with comfortable beds. Food was very good indeed including the full breakfast in the morning. Good value for money and would return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseeker227135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

A group of us stayed for the Newton Stewart Walkfest and were very well taken care of by the attentive staff. The housekeeping staff were especially helpful in dealing with all our wet walking gear, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the service in the dining room was efficient and nothing was too much trouble. We dined in the hotel often and we all enjoyed the meals--- no mean feat there being 13 of us. A cosy, comfortable hotel....the Heather Belles

Room Tip: We had room 19 ,very roomy with a couch and good view of the hills...nice and quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Super staff, great food..... all at a good price in a central location for exploring Galloway, Scotland
All staff were very pleasant and helpful, and Robert was exemplary in his desire to provide excellent service.
A very good short break.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Very welcoming and well organised. Attentive staff who make your stay a pleasure. A popular hotel that has a bit of life about it.
most impressed by the customer service, from everyone from the housekeepers to the bar, reception and waiting/kitchen team. I wouldn't hesitate to come back. Particularly recommend staying on a Thursday night as the pub quiz is great fun.

Scott Drysdale
Cubic

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I ran a short course in the hotel and stayed there for a week and the staff were fantastic. They went above and beyond to support both myself and those on the course. The food was lovely and I had a comfy room. I was given an extra heater as I am a cold tattie. I was most impressed by the customer service, from everyone from the housekeepers to the bar, reception and waiting/kitchen team. I wouldn't hesitate to come back. Particularly recommend staying on a Thursday night as the pub quiz is great fun.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
368 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Blackhorse Hotel
Blackhorse Hotel
#7 of 17 in Newton Stewart
80 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ellangowan Hotel
The Ellangowan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Creetown
47 reviews
0.9 mi away
Conifers Leisure Park
Conifers Leisure Park
#1 of 11 in Newton Stewart
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Address: 88 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range: £63 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing